We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with bad attitude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #145 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A hotel with bad attitude”
Reviewed September 19, 2010

The Standard Hotel has a great location while staying in NY, but its young staff have a poor and arrogant attitude towards its hotel guests. Rooms are small and silly designed with noisy water pipe,.

The service level is below standard, slow and painful. This place is more a trendy hangout than a hotel. This hotels is waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Orauberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, September 21, 2010
Dear traveler1968_10,
Thank you for your feedback on The Standard, New York. I am disappointed to hear you did not find our staff to be welcoming and enjoyable. We have worked hard to cultivate a team of diverse, fun, and gracious people and your experience was certainly not indicative of that we aim to provide. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,410
    746
    333
    138
    132
See reviews for
170
1,213
227
631
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Are you looking for a Hotel in the middle of the meatpacking District, in one of the coolest area in town? This is the place you want to stay.
Amazing views from the windows, great restaurants downstairs, rooftop bar amazing!
There is really not that much to say about this hotel, PERFECT.
Rooms are not that big, but that is normal in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

It's hard not to like the Standard: perfect location, spectacular views, great service and its position as this year's hotel of the century. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, and yet the place has some real flaws that look like judicious cost cutting currently disguised by the hotel's cool factor. The rooms seem large on first look (and with that view and that light!), but then reality sets in. There is almost no space to hang anything and no space for a suitcase; the miniscule rooms at Hudson are more functional. The room decor is reminiscent of a 1970s rec room. The bathroom appears to have been designed by IKEA before it became cool. The hallways are lit by naked flurorescent tubes, but the yellow tint masks the institutional feel.

The bottom line: pack lightly and enjoy the view.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russellhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

The views were stunning, we could see the statue of liberty from our bedroom. The bedroom was very comfortable, with a kingsize bed, separate seating area with table, perfect for our breakfast tray! An intimate room with an open shower, definitely for couples.
The bar on the 18th floor is amazing and the drinks are priced to pay for the views. Sundowners are worth it though. Check out the sights from the loo. The Standard Grill on the ground floor was great for breakfast, and lunch. The staff were all friendly and the area was great for hanging out or getting to other areas easily.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyA09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

I usually stay at the Ganesvoort, but I thought I'd give the Standard a try. The basic hotel room was small, and the shower had no door. The closet was also small. As opposed to a few other reviews, I found the staff to be friendly enough. The floor below the top floor lounge was noisy. The bass of the speakers reverberated through the ceiling. This wouldnt have been so bad, but they dont even let you in to the bar! (They say guests are allowed in before 9 pm, but who the hell wants to go to a bar in the Meatpacking District before 9 pm?? What a joke.)
Another thing that's odd: the hotel straddles the High Line, but it has no access to the High Line. You have to walk south a few blocks to get to it. Odd.
There's nothing wrong with the hotel itself, really. But at the Ganesvoort they let you up to their popular bar and pool if you stay at the hotel. Most hotels try to make their guests feel "exclusive". The Standard manages to do the opposite.
Next time, I'll probably just return to the Ganesvoort....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMaxGross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, September 20, 2010
Dear AMaxGross,

Thank you for your feedback. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our staff. I wanted to apologize for the sound you experienced on the seventeenth floor. We have a high-level team of sound engineers who have come in to ameliorate the sound transmission between floors. We recently re-opened the Top of The Standard for late-night service, and unfortunately some of the acoustic controls we had previously implemented had been overrun. These issues have since been fixed, and I apologize for the inconvenience. We do have access to The Top of The Standard during Sunset Service for hotel guests; during the late-night hours, admission is by invitation only. Additionally, with regards to access to the High Line, while we do not have direct access to the High Line, there are multiple access points within a few block radius.

I am sorry to hear about your stay and do hope to be able to welcome you back at some point in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
120 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

great hotel, expensive if you take the corner room (Fashion Week U$ 600 per night.
Clean room with very good bed and great view over the city. Large windows, make the room feel bigger. Handsome bell-boys. Rather arrogant and slow service. Breakfast at the Standard Grill is really anoying, too many waitiers, but BAD service. Located at MeatPackers district, which is the place to be. I will definately go there again (hope the hotel reads this review!)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hansamsterdam24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The Standard is currently hot - Gossip Girl is filming in the penthouse, and hotel guests can't get in to the rooftop bar after 9.30pm (nor can most of New York). Which is nice to know, but a hassle. Still, the hotel lives up to its reputation - funky retro rooms, a bed (and pillow) you want to take home with you, casually friendly staff and a great view from the top. If you don't mind spending more on pre-dinner drinks than dinner itself...

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank marcyves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,750 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,471 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#182 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#121 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing