We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most trendy and sexy hotel i've ever stayed at!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #150 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“The most trendy and sexy hotel i've ever stayed at!!!!”
Reviewed April 22, 2010

I went with my boyfriend and the minute we walked in we couldnt stop gushing over the hotel. Everything was perfect!!! I highly Recommend this hotel for couples. Cant wait to go back :)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AwiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    750
    338
    139
    132
See reviews for
172
1,219
228
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Best service of any hotel I'd experienced. Very well-trained staff - attentive, very generous (FREE DRINKS! See below), always a step ahead of you, without being fussy (I despise sycophantic service elsewhere--uncomfortable!). Great location, too.

I couldn't formally check-in as the reservation was under my partner's name -- he was on a later flight, due in about 4 hours. But the lady at the concierge made me feel at home immediately, arranging for the porter to stow my suitcases and loaning me a plug adaptor so I could use my laptop.

She also moved me to the adjacent lounge/café, introduced me to the bubbly young hostess there, who she instructed to make sure my drinks were "on the house". I was blown away by their foresight in this matter; I certainly wouldn't be using their wifi to grumble about the wait on TripAdvisor. I had two of their house cocktails -- a mojito and a kir-like drink. Wanting to reciprocate on their generosity and try the menu -- I'd heard great things about The Standard Grill -- I had their amazing Club Sandwich, which was perfection, arriving with a fresh salad and mini condiment jars.

The standard double room was small, as others have griped, but the fabulous modern furniture, mod/minimal design, and floor-to-ceiling windows made it feel airy.

Those who gripe about room size need to consider the service -- this a great reminder that you pay for the experience, not just square footage (in NYC, at that).

One more note: Breakfast. While not included, the restaurant has a great breakfast menu at very reasonable NYC prices and a great atmosphere; I would much prefer my $10 brioche-french-toast with caramelized bananas, walnuts and maple syrup over a generic spread any time! My partner had a cheese and cured-meats board, and perfectly poached eggs.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jp384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

This hotel is my new favourite hotel in New York City. Situated in West Village with its unique design, all the rooms facing either the harbour or the city with floor-to-ceiling windows resulting in a spectacular view, very trendy people and close to most things in west Midtown and Lower Manhattan.

The room I had was the smallest one, but still not too small. The bed was truly comfortable. Only downside the first day was that the vanity kit and some bathroom items had not been replaced prior my check-in. This was quickly corrected though.

Breakfast is available at a wonderful French style bistro at the hotel. I do recommend a visit to the bistro even if it's only for a cup of coffee.

Hotel highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westampton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2010

If you looked up "cool hotel" in the dictionary, The Standard's picture would be next to the definition. From the doorman to the front desk to the guests, it looks like you've entered a trendy club instead of a hotel. To accentuate that point, when we checked in Friday night, it sounded like we were in the middle of the dance floor. However, when we got to our room, we had the quiet that we wanted. The room looked liked it hopped off the pages of an interior decorating magazine. Coolest part had to be the see-thru shower in the middle of the room (not for the shy). Also had a great view of the Hudson from one window and the Empire State Building from the other. Outside of no real parking around the hotel (Jeep got towed but that's a whole other story), I don't have any complaints and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaybmore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2010

I was able to stay at The Standard in the old Meat Packing District and it was an awesome stay. It was a fantastic location, well within walking distance to some of the best that Chelsea has to offer. Nightlife was a constant buzz at the Biergarten and restaurants. Remarkable views from my room, all the elevator banks, the 18th floor lounge... best of which was actually in the work out room!

Individual room was rather spacious for NYC, and very functional. Full ceiling to wall window allows great views out... and apparently in (check out stories on the net, and management left a note for patrons to be aware). Functional working area. Big King bed. Large flat panel TV with the BEST arts channels (8+?) EVER. Funky video in the elevators gives a Cirque meets Alice in Wonderland feel.

Would definitely return... especially to rent one of those awesome bikes and get around Manhattan up close and personal.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank changrcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Level Contributor
39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I've just returned and missing the bed already! Had heard good reviews but the hotel surpassed them all. From the moment I arrived to when I left at 5.15 am this morning, all the staff were totally professional, courteous and so friendly. I am early 50s and met up with my daughter who is an intern in NY. She wanted me to stay somewhere 'happening' and I was a bit dubious because I like my comfort, sleep, quiet etc. and when I arrived, outside the hotel was buzzing with crowds of young, hip, new yorkers - I thought there goes my restful break!!! But I was wrong. Once in my room (11th floor) I couldn't hear a thing (and rarely heard any other guests either) and I never felt 'out of place' - the staff made everyone feel welcomed. We had a Kingsize room which had a fabulous view of the Empire State Building and the bath was big enough for 2 without touching!!! The location of the Standard is super, within easy walking distance of SoHo, Chelsea and the Meat Packing (or MePa if your hip!!) area has so many really good, reasonable places to eat and drink. I spent a few hours one afternoon just sitting in the sun watching the crowds at Bagatelle (night club in the day!!!) and felt entirely safe, happy and relaxed. So many people just sat chatting to me passing the time of day, it was such a good vibe. We had drinks in the 18th floor bar which has awesome views and although expensive is a must. All in all I would highly recommend this hotel for all travellers as the rooms are expertly designed to give maximum comfort in small spaces. Well worth paying a bit extra to have so many great places on your doorstep.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klynnstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2010

If you are going to NYC and plan on exploring the Meat Packing District, then this is THE place to stay! Right above the High Line and surrounded by great restaurants and shops. Probably not the best place for a family but perfect for a couple. Our room with floor to ceiling windows and covering the entire width of the room had fantastic views over the Hudson, Downtown, Jersey City and the Statue of Liberty.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burlwater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#211 of 468 in New York City
1,765 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#114 of 468 in New York City
3,489 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#116 of 468 in New York City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
670 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#162 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#107 of 468 in New York City
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#117 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelPower, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing