We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New place, great experience at The Standard NYC!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #160 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 23, 2010

I recently stayed at the Standard New York on what is probably my 12th visit to NYC for business and pleasure. I've typically stayed North of Times Square in a variety of hotels...mammoths to more typical fare. I have never enjoyed a hotel and area of the city more. Now that I've been to New York a few times it is not as important to be 'in the middle of it all'...not the typical touristy version anyway. The Standard offered me a very nicely sized room, comfortable bath, private toilet, awesome shower, great view, friendly staff...all for a rate that I don't expect to be sustained. The location of the hotel was placed squarely in the super cool Meat Packing or MePa district of Chelsea. Easy access to the subway, abundant taxis, and plenty to walk to. I did not travel with my laptop and when I called requesting the location of the hotel's computer, they provided me with a laptop. Awesome!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kbish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,901)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,324 - 2,330 of 2,901 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2010

The Standard Hotel is a modern & unique hotel. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The room was small but comfortable. I didn't like the glass wall between the shower & bed. I prefer privacy when showering. The location of the hotel was convenient to subways and I felt safe in the neighborhood.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scooby17538
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2010

I love this hotel. The guest rooms are by far my favorite in all of NY. The rooms are flooded with natural light, have a comfortable sitting area to eat or work, the most comfortable bed in the world, and a gigantic tub to splash around in. The fitness center has top notch equipment and amazing views. My only complaint it the room service and lack of coffee. There is no in-room coffee maker, the room service coffee never arrives when it is scheduled to, and attempting to get coffee from the restaurant to go in the morning will set you back at least twenty minutes. All in all however, this hotel is fantastic.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wanderlustny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Great hotel. Stayed there for 5 days. The location was suberb. The views, outstanding. Our view looked out into midtown Manhattan with the Empire State from one window and the other view was of the Hudson River. The bathroom was sexy! Peek-a-boo shower! Awesome!! The Standard Grill downstairs was tasty and delicious. The bar at the top of the hotel was pricey for a cocktail, but the view was worth it. The cocktail waitresses were dressed very chic, like they were models. Stay here if you want to see a new side to the city. The subway is a few blocks away. There is plenty of nightlife around you. The High Line walkway rules! The Meatpacking District is where it's at. You're also near the Chelsea market and all of the art galleries. Can't wait to go back to The Standard.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenika91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2010

I love the river views from the bed and the bath!
We live in Manhattan but we've been here 3 times to escape our apartment. We always enjoy getting room service since the food is delicious and the staff is very cool. The rooms are like being in a ship's cabin-very stylish. The beds are really comfortable and it's really quiet if you need to rest. The bar has delicious cocktails and as soon as the pool opens-we'll be back.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MayNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2010

This was such a sexy hotel in the sexy city of NY in the cool and hip neighborhood of the meatpacking district. I love this hotel it is a great location and the rooms are really well done. My only complaint is there is not enough room to store clothes! I love the bistro for breakfast and the rooftop bar has probably one of the most breathtaking views of NY. I have stayed here 2x and would highly recommend it!

Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
Thank g71Switzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2010

We enjoyed our stay. The view of the Skyway and Hudson river was great and the room was very cool, albeit small, but it is NYC so we didn't expect anything bigger. The staff was a bit curt, but again, hip hotel in NYC, so to be expected. The food was outrageously priced, but again, this was not completely unexpected. The room design was lovely, the bathtub large and comfortable, as was the bed. My only complaint would be the time it takes to retrieve your car from the valet parking. 45 minutes is just ridiculous.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelwith3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#224 of 469 in New York City
1,849 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#134 of 469 in New York City
3,623 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#193 of 469 in New York City
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#81 of 469 in New York City
656 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#164 of 469 in New York City
667 reviews
SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
The James New York - SoHo
#184 of 469 in New York City
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $284 - $629 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising above a former elevated train line that has become downtown’s favorite public park, The Standard, High Line is located in New York City’s Meatpacking District. Every one of the 338 rooms features a full wall of floor-to-ceiling windows with sweeping views of Manhattan and/or the mighty Hudson River. The hotel’s inviting and scintillating public spaces include a bustling German beer garden at ground level, the rooftop discothèque Le Bain, the legendary Top of The Standard, and an outdoor public plaza with rotating art installations and a winter ice rink. A neighborhood staple, the award-winning Standard Grill melds a brasserie atmosphere with new American cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing