We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot Wait to Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #146 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Maui, HI
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Cannot Wait to Return”
Reviewed June 6, 2009

I stayed here at the end of May in one of the standard queen rooms on the 11th floor. Everything was perfect for me during my stay - from the friendly reception staff to the concierge guys who always left their station to hail me a cab to the gorgeous model guy who brought me my in-room complimentary breakfast. I loved the room - stunning views of the river (i could see Liberty Statue clearly) and lower Manhattan clearly visible through the floor-ceiling windows, nice comfy bed low to the floor with plenty of pillows, convenient plug outlets for my laptop and cell. The complimentary toiletries (Kiss My Face brand) were ample sized, larger than norm - face cream was 2oz.. Love, loved the deep tub. After my 13 hr flight, it was a treat to fill it and soak, with and be able to enjoy the sunset - clear view through the bedroom. I did not experience any air conditioning problems mentioned in some of the reviews here - my room maintained perfect ambient temps for me. I was neither hot nor cold. The hotel is in a great neighbourhood with lots of boutiques and restaurants. My room was directly above the Brass Monkey - their patio was packed till 3am. I felt safe walking around at night. The minibar was stocked with lots of different options for alcohol & non-alcoholic drinks (bottles were not "mini" sized either) and snacks. The prices were really reasonable and it wasn't one of those cheesy spring-loaded fridges either.

I can see that this hotel is good for singles or young/hip couples. Not kid friendly rooms or for those who don't like the modern look and decor. I wish they had low flow toilets - that was the one unit that was not modern. The bathroom should have had a waste bin and it would have been nice to have a robe.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrtMrtni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,807 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,439
    755
    340
    141
    132
See reviews for
177
1,233
230
641
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (654)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
kowloon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2009

I complained to the staff that I could not sleep at night because of the noise that going on outside. They did not do anything about it. I found that very rude but the hotel itself was very nice. Hope you get better staff.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank dj25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2009

We spent two nights at The Standard after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. It was a great hotel; very trendy both inside and out but not at all intimidating. So different from a chain hotel in midtown. The staff also looked the part; they were helpful especially at check in - giving us a south facing room (which are a higher rate than what we had paid). The room (queen standard) was cool. A little on the small side (not much room to have two suitcases open) but the floor to ceiling views were fantastic. Clearly a lot of thought has gone into the design of the rooms. The bathroom was quite unique with a great two person bath and the views are still visible from the bath. The mini bar has a great selection and is really reasonably priced as is the room service menu. And a really comfy bed but our only problem was that the sheets were not fresh on our first night. It is a great location to explore the meatpacking district, the village and chelsea.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cf2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2009

My partner and I stayed 3 nights at THE STANDARD. We really enjoyed our tastefully decorated room with a fantastic view over the meatpacking district, Hudson River and the Empire State Building in sight. The concierge and the staff in general were very friendly and helpful. The complimentary breakfeast delivered each morning to our room was delicious. The location of the hotel is just perfect. There are plenty of restaurants, bars and clubs in this neighbourhood. We would return to this hotel anytime. It offers good value for an expensive city like New York.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HildegardBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2009

The standard at this hotel is really low! very small bedrooms, beds and bathrooms... it seems to be on a boat. it is absolutely overrated, especially for the real pour service it is offered. Don't try to wait for room service... they will simply ignore you.
Bad experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pancrazio81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, Managing Director at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, May 27, 2009
Dear Pancrazio81-
I am disappointed to hear of your experience. While we certainly do not have New York City’s largest rooms, most guests are pleasantly surprised by our spacious rooms with their open layout and their value. While we certainly had a break-down in your room service order, I would assure you our service is generally very timely and gracious. I would be happy to discuss your experience further so we can improve our service should you like to contact me directly.
Sincerely, Ian Nicholson, Managing Director, The Standard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2009

First the positives: Great location if you like youthful nightlife and/or excellent resaurants. Wonderful high-end boutiques and great window shopping. Friendly service. Gorgeous looking people everywhere. Very fair price, at least at the moment.

The negatives: Really uncomfortable rooms. Engineers there pointed out some flaws in the ventilation that were impossible to correct because the architect won out over the engineers. We had to change rooms. Bathroom design is more annoying than "cool". The furniture in the rooms is very uncomfortable but very "modern". The staff seemingly has no training in the hotel industry. Extremely pleasant but clueless. The doormen will actually open the door for you about 20% of the time. They are otherwise discussing their next picture-shoot.

I really wanted to like this place because it's new I love the area. If you are twenty-something I am sure you will love it. But if you are looking for a 4-star hotel and are over 30, you will be gravely disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Robwash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

My partner and I live in NYC but decided to stay for a night here to celebrate a birthday and get out of our usual neighborhood.

Put simply we had a wonderful stay at The Standard. We stayed in a West-facing "Standard Suite" on a high floor. Glass walls from floor to ceiling on three sides, including the bathroom. The view is simply unforgettable and the suite design and layout was gorgeous. A big two-person bathtub, a comfortable (if squeaky) king sized bed. A two-head rain shower in the bathroom. Because of the very modern design, yes, some water does get around the bathroom etc but who cares?

The AC does work with a min temp of 60F. With all shades drawn it does get a lot of sunlight so that may account for why a previous reviewer found it warm.

Room service was delicious. Homemade ice cream, a tasty cheeseburger, complimentary breakfast. It was not overpriced by room service standards, either.

There appears to be several bars downstairs but the hotel did not seem noisy at night. The room was very quiet.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miw2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#207 of 467 in New York City
1,787 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,518 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#100 of 467 in New York City
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#153 of 467 in New York City
639 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#174 of 467 in New York City
683 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#118 of 467 in New York City
959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#114 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
#179 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing