We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hip by the High Line” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Standard, High Line

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #152 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
109 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Hip by the High Line”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spent Christmas in NYC at the Standard High Line in the meatpacking district. We've been to NYC a few times, but this was our first time staying in this area - it was right up our alley - in general a quieter spot in the city, on top of the High Line, a block from the L subway line, and plenty to see and do nearby.

The hotel itself was good, but not great. We got a deal on Jetsetter, and upon arriving early in the morning, were able to get in to our room before noon. Unfortunately they forgot to bring our luggage up 'within 5 minutes' as promised, but an hour later when we reminded them, it came right away. There's free wifi, the room was a good size for New York, and the giant tub was a bonus. Note that it's very easy to see in the rooms from outside, so use the blackout shade when you need privacy, and hopefully you're not shy in your room because there's a window between the shower and bedroom area. The bed was huge and comfy, and the fully equipped gym is open 24/7 and has a great view. The hotel is a noisy place - there was construction right next door which included jackhammering early in the morning, and being on the 15th floor, even though we were assured it was a 'quieter' floor, we were able to hear the party-thumping bass from the top floor on the Saturday night of our stay, and the doors are pretty thin, too. So just a warning if noise is an issue for you. Service was fine for us, but not above and beyond as I was expecting in a boutique hotel of this sort. There's no coffee/tea in your room, and the price of a coffee in the lobby is kinda silly ($4 for a regular coffee!), but Chelsea Market is nearby for some good grub.

We really liked the area overall, and the hotel was nice, but a few small things and basic service improvements could change it in to great hotel.

Room Tip: I think below the 10th floor would be good so you don't hear the top floor night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank d_p_richards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,380
    733
    328
    134
    131
See reviews for
166
1,181
225
623
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (638)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

This is a fun hotel, in a great location. The rooms have floor-to-ceiling windows with super views. There are several restaurants & bars on premise - street-level as well as on the rooftop. One important thing to note is that the bathroom bath/shower is fully exposed to the room - there is only a glass wall between the bed/living area and the bathroom - great for a bath with nighttime city views, but no privacy whatsoever if you need it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holmdel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The Standard Hotel is a wonderful place for a romantic weekend in the city. The rooms have floor to ceiling windows which afford a great view of the city. Up on top of the Hotel is the private bar which has amazing panoramic views, elegant architectural details, fireplaces, live music and an incredible wait staff. The bed in our room was like floating on air and the pillows were straight from heaven. We had intended to go ice skating at the hotel rink located right in front of the hotel, but mother nature warmed up the city and the ice melted sadly. We had brunch at the hotel and it was delicious, also good waitstaff. We had two rooms this trip, one for us and one for our children. We all had a wonderful time in the city. The staff at the front desk was very helpful and gave us directions which thankfully did not get us lost. We had a lovely walk on the highline, walked through Chelsea Markets which is lots of fun and then we finished off with a visit to Pink Berry! I would definately stay at this hotel again and highly reccomend it to one and all. This hotel is catering to people who love good service and consistent quality. We had checked out at noon and then asked the hotel to store our bags while we went to the theater. When we were returning to the hotel, we called ahead and the bellman met us at our car, with our bags and helped us load up for the trip home. Perfect timing and a great trip. 5 Stars!!!

Room Tip: request a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank silverbayloyalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

We love the Standard Grill and had eaten there a few times but the hotel was a disappointment. We weren't that high up but even so it was impossible to avoid the music from the nightclub which kept us awake. Stood on a pin left on the floor of the room. For the price it would have been nice to have a bed you could get in and out of both sides of. Views and location terrific, and the Grill is great for both dinner and breakfast, but you can eat there and stay elsewhere

Room Tip: Views are good high up but the music will keep you awake
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NushNushandBooBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

So stayed while our place was being renovated, room was tight but otherwise real nice and there were some great food choices in hotel, even stopped by boomboom room! The beer garden was also fun and the food there was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JLSNYC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Standard does almost everything well. It's hip, interesting walkable neighborhood and clean comfortable rooms. They had two major flaws with food and beverage.

First they rent out parts of the hotel for private events, not a big deal except due to that we had to walk outside to access the hotel restaurant. It was about 20 degrees and I was not happy that I had to go back to my room to get a jacket and walk around the block outside the hotel to the hotel restaurant to accommodate extra revenue for the hotel. Not cool!

Second issue; In the early morning it's almost impossible to get a coffee. I left for work and was told in the lobby that if I wanted coffee to order room service. BTW it was a 30+ minute wait for room service. Needless to say I could not wait. Several other business people were struggling with the same problem.

While the lack of morning coffee is not a deal killer it's kind of a joke....

Regardless I would recommend staying here, the value is great, the people are pretty and the area has amazing restaurants in walking distance. No place is perfect and for the price/location I can work around their gaps....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank International-Dov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Stayed at the Standard High Line for one night on a recent business trip. Located in the meat-packing district on the western side of lower Manhattan. Reception staff were friendly and helpful. Beautiful view of the Hudson from my room - the huge windows are fantastic Bed is a sort of Scandanavian style, low-to-the-ground bed....very comfortable. There is a popular nightclub on the top floor which seems to get busy......but didn't bother me at all. Adjacent to the High Line park - very convenient. I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZurichDiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#201 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,708 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#98 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,419 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#185 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#107 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#118 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#136 Business Hotel in New York City
#181 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Sabre Hospitality Solutions so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing