We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #158 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We booked this hotel on a friend's recommendation for a five night stay in NYC. It is right on the edge of the peninsula, so has great (in fact, stunning) views over the Hudson in one direction and midtown Manhattan in the other.

We were on the 14th foor in a superior king room with direct views to the Empire State Building - it was a sight you would just not tire of seeing. The room was well configured to make use of the space, and had a separate seating area which was nice for a longer stay. There was not much in the way of storage space but this didn't bother us (we could hang up the odd item of clothing that really needed it; we tend not to fully unpack when we travel anyway). The bed was big and very confortable. The bathroom was also generous but I can imagine some people would be put off the glass wall between the bath/shower and bedroom which meant you could still enjoy the view whilst you were in the bathroom (the toilet itself was behind a door mind you - that might have been one step too far!).

The location of the hotel was great for us, a few blocks from 14th Street subway which gave us great (quick and easy) transport links but away from the main tourist areas which might have become overwhelming if you didn't have a hotel elsewhere to escape from it all. It is also on the edge of the Village which was my favourite area to just wander around - that felt like real New York to me.

The only downside we found was the fact that in the evening the lift (elevator) area is reconfigured to allow two of the four of the lifts to service the queue for the nightclub and bar at the top of the hotel, whilst the other two were left for hotel guests returning in the evening. The lifts themselves are quite large, so apart from the one night when the lifts appeared to stop recognising the guests' room keys to allow them to access the bedroom floors we did not have to queue. It was only that the reconfiguration was confusuing to guests who were not expecting it and every night there were, without fail, a handful of people who were trying to get to the bar / club through the hotel itself and being redirected to the queue outside and in the process clogging up the narrow corridor to the lifts.

This is though a minor point and I would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,483 - 1,489 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed December 7, 2013

Lobby, lounge and club are fantastic to watch people, fashion is king in this upscale and trendy place, Definitely a pretty person place fashion is important for the right look here, although I found every other guest very friendly
I had room service breakfast with a NY strip steak and egg whites. My steak was marinated perfectly roasted potatoes were firm and seasoned quality the of food outstanding
My bed was awesome with a square very firm relaxing mattress
My room faced the empire state building with an amazing views from the 12th floor
Top-of-the-line hotel gym with new weights, machines, cardio equipment with stunning views from the workout room across the Hdson river to NJ and lower Manahttan
Very friendly professional staff
Amenities in the room were upscale, the bathroom was glass enclosed with a very deep soaking tub
The glass and the mirrors make the room a lot larger than it is in contribute to that hip chic boutique feel
Two things keep this from being a 5 star rating, first I could not get the TV to work. Secondly I found the elevators with smudges on shiney surfaces and not up to par with the rest of the property, and there were cleaning supplies left in the rest rooms by the gym

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbmuscle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

very good location, lovely food in the restaurant downstairs, a fantastic view on the hudson, friendly staff, the rooms were clean. I loved the mini bar.
missed visiting the roof top bar. a lot of great restaurants just outside the hotel

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 13mdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

It's sexy and slick and happenning. The elevator ride in itself is a trip (Trippy video art by Marco Brambilla) The neighborhood is full of hip bars and restaurants and fashion boutiques. For short term stays I absolutely love this hotel. The views are spectacular, I prefer the "City View" from 15th floor and up. Room service is excellent & the Minibar/cabinet is packed to the wazoo.

Room Tip: Choose a room with City view (Empire State Building). Request as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Uberfluss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded December 5, 2013

Angelos H,

Glad to hear your enjoyed your trip…and the trippy Marco Brambilla video. We are very proud of the art and vibe created at the hotel…thanks for appreciating it. Hope to see you back again soon!

Cheers
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Was upgraded to a deluxe queen room which had good views but the room was small even by NY standards. Service at the desk and the off lobby bar was generally good however it really depended who was on duty. Liked the free WiFi, good location and housekeeping standards. Noisy door banging disturbs overnight use the ear plugs provided!

Room Tip: Get a King size room as a minimum
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zzzizzzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

The upside: Great location, cool views, especially from cocktail bar

The Downside: trying to sleep with noise from niteclub which as a resident I think you should NOT have to queue up in the freezing cold for, nor should you be asked for I.D. when clearly over 25 and resident in the hotel. We weren't asked for I.D. anywhere else in NY.

Thanksgiving dinner in hotel's restaurant was disappointing - sloppy looking, overlooked turkey and watery mashed potato you wouldn't give a dog.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mindfulmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2013

Location is fantastic. Views are spectacular, particularly from the rooftop bar which is must. You see the new World Trade Tower and the river. It has a cool vibe. There is also a closed in bar on top which is really elegant. The rooms are lacking and do not quite fit the price, interiors seem rathe dated in spots but the hotel is purposefully quirky. Try to get a room with towards the end of the building but the river to get a great view.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank BJAJDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan A, Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this reviewResponded December 2, 2013

Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Standard, High Line. So glad to hear you enjoyed the neighborhood and our spectacular views! We appreciate your feedback on the guestroom design...quirky and cool are definitely part of our personality at The Standard. We’ve noted your profile that you’d like to be at the end of the building with a river view. Hope to see you back again soon!

Cheers,
Evan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#211 of 469 in New York City
1,835 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#126 of 469 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#84 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#206 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
662 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $321 - $619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing