We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Views, location, style and comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #156 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

The location of the hotel above the high line trail, and in the meatpacking district was great. Lots of shopping and eating opportunities were available and we found we liked the neighborhood better than Soho. We stayed on the 7th floor in a Deluxe Queen ADA room with a view that faced the Hudson River, the Brass Monkey rooftop and the new Whitney, which is under construction. The room itself was comfortable. The ADA designation means that there is no bathtub, only a shower and the bathroom is large enough for a wheelchair to maneuver and has grab bars. The shower has one very dim light, so it might be difficult to see in there at night. Both the shower and bathroom are finished with shiny black-glazed tile.When you come into the room, the bathroom is on the left and shower on the right. The floor to ceiling windows are directly ahead with the bed area to the left and seating area and closet to the right. The seating area has a small sofa, table and leather swivel chair, a hanging fixture over the table and a magazine rack. The closet is behind a curtain and has two small cubbies a safe, a hanging rod with shelf above.The bed area has nightstands on either side of the bed and has a clock radio with iPod connector (old style). There are dimmable lights above the headboard and switch and dimmer for the room lights. The bath products in the room are pleasant, with a small glycerine soap bar, small pot of honey-scented body lotion, a packet of cotton balls/swabs and ear plugs. I brought my own ear plugs which blocked sound better than the ones provided. The shower has shampoo, conditioner and shower gel in pumps attached to the wall. The products had a nice Aveda-like scent but are not Aveda. The bed seemed spongy upon sitting on it, but for sleeping, it was very comfortable. Except for some loud-talkers in the hallway and the noise from the brass monkey, there wasn't much noise beyond the background din of the city. I use the earplugs to block out my partner's snoring!
There is a mini bar in a fridge for beverages and a cabinet above for snacks. I couldn't find the price list anywhere in the room. There are wine glasses, an ice bucket, a wine opener in the room. There was a candle in the room but wasn't sure if this was a mini bar item or part of the amenities.
The TV planted in the floor may have been a cool design idea (and perhaps helps with sound) but it interferes with getting out of one side of the bed and with the view.
The heating/cooling worked well and didn't give us any problems.
Facilities:
The gym on the 17th floor is decent and has great views. There are about 6-8 cardio machines and maybe 2-4 weight machines. There are also some free weights. Not a lot of room for floor work, though.
The open air rooftop bar and lounge is fun for a late afternoon/early evening drink. The upholstered furniture had nasty stains on it, so we stuck to the webbed chairs.
The boom boom room has some marvelous views of the city and cozy spots to sit by a fireplace. If you want a drink here, you'll need to get it yourself. The staff only seem interested in serving certain tables.
The plaza bar is good for people watching. Not all the seating has overhead heaters, so pay attention if you are sitting outside and want to be warm.
The Standard Grill front room is a pleasant spot to have breakfast. Service is efficient and friendly. The servers wear funky plaid pants and vests. I suggest the hotel re-work the continental breakfast from the 1 hot (coffee/tea), 1 cold bev (orange/grapefruit juice), choice of pastries and choice of toast to work in some protein and fruit. Who needs pastries AND toast? Plus there are enough pastries in one person's order to feed two people. Continental breakfast was included in our room package,
Getting up to the club late at night is impossible without an invitation or guest list privileges. We didn't inquire with the concierge about getting in ahead of time, so maybe that is how it works.
They separate the guest elevators from the club elevators at night so we didn't experience the mix-up of club-goers and hotel guests I've read on other reviews.

Room Tip: ADA rooms only have a shower in case you want a room with a bathtub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank club241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,492 - 1,498 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Whilst location, design and the restaurants and bars are fantastic, it is once again the superb staff who made the 7 night stay outstanding. Nothing is too difficult for these guys!
Looking forward to my next NYC visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcelo U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We had a Queen size Deluxe Room on the 17th Floor, facing Uptown towards the Empire State Building - what a view - especially so at night from the bedroom seeing the twinkling lights! The service was excellent throughout our stay of 5 days, from booking in to drinking in the 18th floor Bar. The Standard Grill downstairs was one of the best meals - you just have to have the burger and share the huge brownie. A great stay we hope to return.

Room Tip: The higher floors looking uptown would be the best in our view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

No matter what LA folks tell you, this location is the true "standard" for The Standard hotels. It's location in the heart of the Meatpacking District / West Village area along with its classy grill and beer garden make this the top choice for out-of-towners looking to have a few nights out in the city. The hotel clientele is young and international, much the same as the James Hotel. The two clubs at the roof level are both excellent, but for different reasons: The "Boom Boom Room" is great for casual cocktails as the sun sets on the city, and "Le Bain" is fun if you're looking for a late night spot to drink and dance until sunrise. This will always be on the short list of city destinations for a night out or a weekend stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

+ Location, easy to dodge the worst trafic and walk to the best areas of NYC
+ Stylish and modern
+ Biergarten, Standard Grill and the *Living Room*, good food overall.
+ Coctail bar on the roof top
+ Very clean rooms.

- Bad service
- Snotty Employees (Except the waiter Creighton at the Standard Grill who was awsome)
- Bad value for the money compared to other hotels in the area.
- Be sure to pay extra to get a room with a view over the Hudson, cause the noise on the other side of the hotel will keep you up all night.
- The harley bar next to the standard makes A LOT of noise during night time.
- Amenities in the room did not work at all or worked sometimes.
- Very poor wifi internet connection. A skype call is almost impossible to do.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CEDahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Check in was smooth, although my wife felt all the receptionists showed too much cleavage with ill fitting bras. Once in the room the floor to ceiling window provides an undeniably amazing view. We had an Empire State facing window and slept with the curtains open both nights - falling asleep and waking up looking at the skyline was unbelievable.
The concept of the shower having only a clear glass screen into the room was excellent.

We were very disappointed not to be able to experience the bars. Largely due to having other commitments in the evening. But there was no possibility to add on to a late night guest list. My wife works in this industry in the UK and felt it was entirely due to leaving the decision of who enters to the bouncer (one receptionist did admit, the door staff make final decision) We were very embarrassed for some of our friends (also staying at the hotel) as we feel they were discriminated against.

You are definitely paying for the view and the opportunity to make the most of the floor to ceiling windows!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haribo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

I booked my short stay (of one night), for my girlfriends birthday. I knew little about the hotel other then it apparently had amazing views!

Day of checking in: The lobby is tight and during checkin on the weekend it becomes FULL of people trying to get to their rooms or just people trying to get to the club upstairs or use the restrooms (because of the restaurant on the first floor). The woman who checked me in was very nice but must have forgotten to pull her shirt up because her cleavage was spewing out of her bra and shirt. Maybe its a New York thing?... Anyway, after waiting for an elevator to be open, I finally made it to my room. But, not so fast now..... my key didn't work. So I had to go all the way down to the front desk to ask for another. NOT so easy, it took me 20-25 minutes. They only had one set of elevators for drunk party goers and guests!!!!

Room at first glance: OMG the shower is in see through. Maybe it was a little bit of my own fault but I didn't know all the showers where totally exposed. I am a semi private conservative normal person, and i don't want anyone who is staying with me being able to watch me shower... kinda awkward. THANKFULLY i was not traveling with anyone! The room did have a beautiful floor to ceiling window that was probably the length of my arms time two. It was neat and tidy. The bathroom shower had beautiful tiles. Hopefully if I was staying with someone they would be so memorized by it they wouldn't be looking at me trying to shower.

Checking out:
This was a nightmare in a half. I had them valet my car but no one told me they were closing the street down for a parade. So I had to wait hours to get my car, along with a slew of angry travelers. Rightfully so because some were missing flights and what not.

Please if management is reading this, please do not contact me again about my review. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#213 of 469 in New York City
1,836 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#127 of 469 in New York City
3,596 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#84 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#208 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#142 of 469 in New York City
663 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $322 - $616 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing