We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip & Happening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #158 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2013

The Standard is a very cool and hip place with great location right on the high line walking gardens. Rooms were very nice and clean and the views out over the City were amazing. The neighborhood has lots going on too, from trendy stores to fine dining. The hotel restaurant on top floor is more like a nightclub, but lots of fun. Definitely a happening place to stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,880)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,609 - 1,615 of 2,880 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

My partner and I decided that we needed a weekend getaway, and since we live in one of the most exciting cities in the world, we decide to stay local. After much checking, we decided to go to the Standard High Line. To be honest, we chose it more because it sits above the High Line Park, than for its reputation as a hip hotel. We booked a one-night, two-days stay, and took the subway to get there. Now, maybe because we are not that "hip" we walked to the address, looking for a sign with the hotel's name, we didn't see any. We saw this revolving door at this building on Washington and West 13th Streets and went in, again, no signs. So we asked one of the persons at this small reception area, where was the Standard High Line hotel, and in his snobbiest voice told us "you are standing in it", well then...We checked-in. We had asked for, and received, one of the higher-up floors. We were very impressed by the decor, it was very modern, and urban. The elevator ride was an event in itself, as they have two screens showing a wild show and music. Our room left us amazed. It was elegant and well-arranged,. The layout was interesting to say the least, with a transparent shower room between the lavatory and the bed, a sitting area, and floor-to-ceiling windows that gave us a phenomenal view of the city's skyline. We went to the top floor to check out the penthouse discotheque and found it very lively. The restaurants were OK. The only complaint that we had was that we found no toiletries supply, you know the soap, etc, but after we called, they brought them. The other matter was that we had to request non-feathers pillows, due to allergies, as when we booked, there was no place to put that request in. We told the hotel concierge that maybe they should correct that. Overall we liked the hotel. Also, we had the most amazing views of the city and the area. The concierge also was great offering advice on what to do, where to eat & what to see in the area. The only thing -- it's not cheap, even with a discount, we paid quite a bit. But we felt that this is the kind of place that you treat yourself to, even if it's just a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YoSoyMeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

In the heart of the meat packing district makes it an easy to get to hotel for those travelling up 95 thru the Holland Tunnel. The hotel is built over the Highline; 30 blocks of gardens built over railroad tracks. The hotel has no garage but they will take it "somewhere" and it comes back just fine. The entrance, a little difficult to spot, is located beyond the yellow seating area adjacent to two cafes. Coffee for two was $12 including tip which is a real bargain for New York. The rooms are small but very efficient and quite comfortable. Everyone from the front desk to bellman to wait staff is very friendly. There is nothing stuffy about the place. All staff wears normal New York street clothes and are identified solely by their badges and earphones. The hotel is located near great shopping and night spots. One of the most pleasant hotel stays we have had.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank restonlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This is my first time visiting NYC, and we decided to stay in the Meat Packing District. And my boyfriend recommended me to check on The Standard hotel on the Internet. And I fell in love with it immediately. So we decided to stay 9 nights there.
The hotel really nice located, with the High Line cross over it. The people who works there are mostly young people, never seen any mature employee there. But they are really friendly and ready to assist in any occasion.
The room is much smaller than I expected, but anyway in the pictures they always look bigger.
They have a really hip club on the top of the hotel, so you will always see people dressing fancy going up and down in the elevator. ;-)
So overall, I had a great time staying at The Standard. Thank you for the hospitality.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BerryErwanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We spent four days at the Standard. It was an excellent location, with tonnes of great shopping and restaurants in close proximity. Beneath the hotel they have converted an old, disused elevated rail track into a park, so you can walk for a couple of kilometres from the hotel and enjoy some beautiful gardens and interesting sights above ground. There are also excellent bike lanes throughout the city. You can borrow a bike from the hotel at no cost and bike down town beside the river, which is packed with beautiful parks and recreational areas.

The hotel rooms are compact, but with everything you need, including a great little bath tub!

Service was very friendly. The highlight of the hotel is the very trendy "Boom Boom Room" at the top of the hotel. With amazing views, decked out on very retro style, this bar has a very cool, loungey feel. No sneakers allowed! It closes to everyone except members after 10.30. There is another (very loud) bar at the other end of the top floor, so don't get the two confused. Make sure you book if you want to sit at a table (you use be seated by the staff to be served at the tables). It's very expensive though, and I wasn't very impressed with the quality of the cocktails, so a good spot to go and enjoy a drink and some views before your big night out, but I wouldn't stay all night.

Also, be warned, if party noises keep you up all night, don't get a room too high up. From 5 floors down I could hear the music thumping until well into the early hours on the weekend.

Room Tip: The view from up high is amazing, but be warned, if party noises keep you up all night, don't ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KMorrk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Standard High Line is a very nice hotel. The location is great if you are looking for a hotel located within a close distance of all of the hot night spots.

The hotel room size is very small. I stayed in Superior King Room with one of my friends and there was not too much space for anything. There is no storage space for clothing, except for the very small open closet they provide. The shower is see through and visible from the bedroom.

I stayed here for four nights with one of my girlfriends and what made the stay really nice was the employee that works outside, Joel. He was so nice in helping us figure out where we should go, providing directions, taking our suitcases up, getting us ice when we first checked in.

Overall the hotel was okay. The only way I would stay here again is if Joel was still working here, he made the experience very nice for us. This was very nice, since it was my first time travelling to New York. He provided the best customer service, that I've ever received from staying at a hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanpreet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spend a weekend at the standard, we had a room on the 16th floor, and the view alone is worth the price. I loved the bathroom with the see-through shower, although I must admit is probably not for everyone. The location is great, you can take walks along the highline and enjoy a lot of evening activities.
I loved the design of the room, although having stayed at other hotels in NY, I must admit is not my favorite, also even though the hotel is pretty cool, it can sometimes feel a little stuffy compared to other places with similar ambiance and people.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cyngtz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#212 of 469 in New York City
1,835 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#125 of 469 in New York City
3,594 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#85 of 469 in New York City
644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#191 of 469 in New York City
707 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#140 of 469 in New York City
662 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#109 of 469 in New York City
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#176 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $328 - $623 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing