We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth, High Line Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #143 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Burley in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Smooth, High Line Experience”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been lucky to stay at The Standard on twice now, on both occasions the hotel has been great. There are a lot of aspects I love about this hotel, the discreet entrance, The Standard Grill, the view over the High Line, the location (Meat Packing) and a gym with a great view of the Empire State building...

The Food here is good, both upstairs in the restaurant (great toilets, trust me) and also downstairs, you can have quick bites to eat, or serious main meals. From the minute you get to the Standard there is just a good vibe, and it makes staying in NYC feel like a fun experience, not too serious whilst also not trying too hard. The rooms are small-ish but by NYC standards you really do get what you pay for and space is not cheap.

The design is 70s, the rooms carry the tone well, and the design works with the space you have. A large bath and shower give you a view out of the room, and onto the Hudson or alternatively give your partner a view of you...

Location is spot on for this hotel, not far to SoHo at all, great shopping, bars, cafes, I love that part of Manhattan (Tribeca, Greenwich, Soho & Little Italy) and always try to stay in and around Meat Packing district on my visits...

If your in two minds whether to stay here, you should, its fun, plenty to do, great area, and it's not Standard. If you're looking for something more traditional in the same area take a look at Soho Grand Hotel, or The Ganservoort.

Grab a drink in the bar opposite The Standard - Hogs & Heifers, pretty famous and worth a look.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a view of the High Line, 100% worth it.. dont go too high so that you're dire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,451
    758
    342
    141
    133
See reviews for
180
1,241
230
644
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (656)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed at the Standard on our wedding day and night last July (July 2012) and it was the perfect place to get ready with my friends and mother, as well as a romantic place to spend our wedding night together, a very memorable occasion, indeed!

We booked a suite and were allowed complimentary early check-in so I could get dressed in my wedding gown. My bridesmaids and I all got dressed there together, did our makeup, and my mother, mother-in-law, aunt, flower girls, and a friend all got ready in our suite together. My friend requested that the room be cleaned again after we had all gotten ready there, and by the time my husband and I returned in the evening post-wedding, it was spotless as if we had never stepped in the room. Also, we took pictures outside near the restaurant and the pictures of me and my friends hailing a cab to the wedding are some of my favorite wedding pictures. Even though the cabs around the hotel were off-duty when we needed one so we could all get to the wedding, the Standard staff made it happen and ensured we all had cabs.

When returning at night post-wedding, the views of the city from our suite were incredible, and the windows are full length; one feels as if you are floating above the city.

Although I am normally wary of taking baths in hotels, the bathtub was spotless and right next to a full-length window. How could we resist?

Even though we live in the city we had wanted to stay in a hotel to commemorate our wedding, and this was the most romantic, perfect place to do so. We've been to the bar and Standard Grill on separate occasions (2013 and 2011, respectively) and enjoyed both of these experiences, as well. We loved our first experience so much, in fact, that my husband surprised me with a belated Valentine's Day stay at the Standard in February 2013. While we did not stay in a suite this time, we had a romantic, wonderful stay in a regular views with sweeping views of the Hudson River. Again, our room was clean, the bathroom polished, and we enjoyed our time, once again, at the Standard.

In all, the Standard offers exceptional customer service, the staff is friendly and accommodating, the rooms are clean, and the hotel offers a memorable experience for its polished style, minimalist decor, and friendly atmosphere located in the heart of the Meatpacking District. I would recommend this hotel if one is going on a business or leisure trip to NYC, but especially if a couple wants a fun, city get-away.

Room Tip: The bathtub in the suites have a full window view and it feels like you are floating above the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moz4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great place, perfect location, wonderful views. Room design is rad, both service and food were brilliants. Breakfast are awesome, we even saw lou reed there. Night club is classic with an incredible panoramic bar

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brasserieisl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Meat Pack district, where the hotel is located, is a great location to stay at. Good spot to start and end your day while in NYC. The hotel was very nice, with an amazing lounge bar at the top, a gym with a view of the Hudson river and nice restaurants on the ground floor.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on floor 15, excellent view over the Manhattan skyline. Higher floors are more c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAGustafsson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Perhaps the only thing discreet about The Standard High Line is its entrance, which is completely devoid of any signage. Newcomers might do well to note the address. Look not for words, but an impossibly bright yellow revolving door - that is the unmistakable indication that you have arrived.
In some ways, the hotel feels like a fantasy: Undulating spongiform textures in the lobby; handsome, friendly and capable staff; stark, semi-industrial design with a 'wink'. Marco Brambilla's video art in the elevators is worth mentioning here: intricate, dizzying apocalyptic moving collages showing something in between religious ecstasy and high camp -- kind of a pop version of Dante's inferno. All of these elements collide to create a surprisingly pleasant atmosphere that is perfect for couples and lovers.

The rooms are fairly generous by New York standards, and what's more they are very functional: mine had a table with seating for 4 in addition to a bed, separate toilet, shower, and very large soaking tub. The shampoo, soap and lotion are high quality and beautifully fragrant, and the minibar is extremely well stocked. Overall, the room design & furnishing feels a bit like you're on board James Bond's yacht off the coast of Monaco, circa 1979 (in a good way.)

Ok but now for the part about modesty: It cannot be overlooked that the walls are nothing but enormous floor-to-ceiling windows on all sides. Yes, they give on to sweeping views of Manhattan, but they also quite plainly put you on display for every tourist walking the High Line. Adding to this feeling of being overexposed is the shower / soaking tub, which sits smack in the middle of the room surrounded by nothing but 3 transparent walls of glass. I mean, I'm sure you love your husband...but do you really want to watch him shower?

Room Tip: The corner rooms offer really spectacular views. Higher floors offer a little more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyer_02111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

just got back from a couple of nights here, and after staying at the standard hotels in l.a. kind of knew what to expect.

super clean, really friendly staff, we had a room on the 9th floor which was very quiet (go for that if you don't want to hear the club upstairs) and views to kill for.

it's in a great area, the grill is brilliant for breakfast to set you up for morning walking round the west village and the bars are neat too. my only slight gripe is that those bars at the hotel get really busy, but in that area of manhattan, there's a wealth of other places i'd rather go for a drink anyway.

go for the view and the bed. did i mention the bed? just plain awesome.

Room Tip: 9th floor was great for peace and quiet, i hear the upper floors got a bit noisier nearer the club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juniorpertwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

So we decided after getting wed on the Hudson to stay in NYC and honeymoon at the Standard. We'd been there for a drink previously and loved the hotel and location. It proved to be an experience to never forget and for all the right reasons. The staff - especially the amazing Amal - could not have done more to make us feel pampered, welcome and special. You'd expect a hotel in this location and with such a contemporary approach to be snobby or pretentious - we almost expected it. But far from it. They are informal yet always professional, always attentive and always finding a way to say 'yes' rather than 'no'. The room was beautiful and had the best view of any we have ever stayed in. And the little extras from Amal throughout - complimentary champagne, checking in FOR us while we were getting wed, allowing our friends to decorate the room with flowers and hearts, and the last day's extended check-out (4 extra hours on the house) was so much appreciated by myself and my wife. Room service was always prompt and polite, the room was spotless, contemporary and very sexy, and we made it home for the week we stayed. We even extended by a day as we didn't want to leave (and they charged our original rate rather than the more expensive one).

The only criticism? Actually not at all connected to the hotel it would appear as it is a separate company that take over the bar operation on the 18th floor of the evening. The front of house in the cocktail bar are everything the hotel is not - arrogant and impolite - but that will never tarr our memory of the Standard. The best designed, best run, best value for money and friendliest, chic-est hotel we have ever experienced. Thank you Amal and the team! You made our wedding and honeymoon so special.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdeCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#205 of 467 in New York City
1,807 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#123 of 467 in New York City
3,542 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#87 of 467 in New York City
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#141 of 467 in New York City
648 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#167 of 467 in New York City
691 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#121 of 467 in New York City
973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#177 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing