We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exhibitionist's dream hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #149 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles CA
Level Contributor
178 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 865 helpful votes
“An exhibitionist's dream hotel”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

For our annual late summer NYC visit, we once again split our stay between downtown and mid or uptown hotels--The Standard High Line and the Peninsula this year. Although we walk the High Line during every NYC visit and thus pass under the Standard, this was just our second stay here.

For my first visit, the hotel was just the Standard (since the Standard East Village was not yet opened and would first be called the Cooper Square Hotel), and it was not completely finished--upper floor rooms plus the top floor spaces that would become the Boom Boom Room (later the Top of the Standard) and Le Bain lounges were still under construction. The second phase of the High Line was also unfinished. The fairly large outdoor space in front of the lobby was not as fully realized as it is now. We had a deluxe queen room, I believe, that faced south with West Village, downtown and Hudson River views, and had an enclosed WC and shower drainage issues.

For this visit, I noticed many changes with the Meatpacking District, Chelsea, and the hotel itself. New restaurants, bars, clubs and boutiques have sprung up, although such venerable institutions as Old Homestead Steakhouse and Pastis restaurants remain. The meatpacking warehouse across the street from the hotel, where I distinctly (and fondly) remember having to weave my way around trash bins full of discarded carcasses, is gone. The commercial building north of the hotel on 14th St. is completed, and blocks some northern hotel views. The High Line's second phase has opened, extending the gorgeous elevated park to near Madison Square Garden. An entire new community called Hudson Yards is being developed at this north end, while at the High Line's south terminus, the Whitney Museum is building a branch. The revitalization of Chelsea owes very much to the High Line, including buildings by famous architects Frank Gehry and Jean Nouvel.

The hotel itself has changes as well. The outdoor space fronting the lobby now has 2 dining/drinking areas--one an extension of the Standard Grill (a trellised patio with mature, very realistic-looking but faux vines that went up in a week, according to our waiter), plus the Standard Plaza. There's also the Biergarten directly under the High Line. There is a large sculpture that reminded me of SpongeBob Squarepants. Gone are the yellow metal one-piece tables and benches that generated no income. There is a skating rink here in the winter.

In a hotel such as this where style and image are its lifeblood, I usually resign myself to expect so-so service. We were pleasantly surprised to receive very friendly service from every staffer we encountered, no matter how good-looking they were. And they ALL were, with such stylish uniforms, especially the bellboys with their high-water pants and sockless lace-up shoes.

For this visit we booked a Hudson Studio room, thanks to an online flash sale. I believe these are the largest rooms, aside from the suites, and there is one per floor. All primarily face west (Hudson River and New Jersey), with walls of glass also facing north (Empire State Building, High Line) and south (High Line, Freedom Tower at the 9/11 Memorial, downtown and West Village, Statue of Liberty). These king-bedded rooms have an open floor plan--the bathroom and bedroom/sitting area are demarcated only by carpet vs. tile flooring. Half of the bathtub is in the "bedroom". The stall shower with rain head is akin to standing in an exhibit case in a museum, like a piece of sculpture. Only the WC has a sliding door for privacy, although there are still floor to ceiling windows in there as well. The hotel is infamous for its clear-windowed rooms that can be en exhibitionist's dream--one can brazenly (or mistakenly) "perform" for audiences on the High Line, just like Michael Fassbender's character in the NC-17 film "Shame". This character had trysts in a Hudson Studio just like ours (by the window near the bathtub). And Carey Mulligan's character sang "New York, New York" in the Top of the Standard. Even regular room like on our first visit have peekaboo bathrooms. And since all rooms have only one bed, the hotel is not well suited for young families or business acquaintances, unless you don't mind these folks seeing you bathe or poop. I don't recall seeing any children at the hotel during either stay, which is not a bad thing.

The top (18th) floor has 2 lounges/clubs. The Top of the Standard was closed for remodeling, but is the more formal space. The adjacent Le Bain, meanwhile, sports a large hot tub and has an upstairs rooftop outdoor deck complete with a VIP area, waterbeds and the same views as the Hudson Studios and gym, except higher and grander. We paid a late afternoon visit to the deck and drank in the views with a cocktail and crepe from the cute crepe/gelato stand (both sweet and savory crepes served). In the evenings, these lounges become crowded, velvet rope and doormen affairs, with 2 elevators designated for club use only. Other TA reviews note problems with noise from these clubs, especially on higher floors. Because of this, we asked for a mid to low floor and got the 5th floor. The Hudson Studios are all situated directly under Le Bain, and while I heard some thumping music at times, the room was more quiet than I expected. Even with the long-standing Brass Monkey bar, whose patio backs up against the south side of the Standard, noise was not an issue.

The hotel lack a bit in amenities. There is free WiFi, but no business center. There is a nice fitness center on the 17th floor with fab views as mentioned above, but no spa. I remember for our first visit, the room's many bath products were cleverly packaged in generic (Kiss My Face brand) bottles to match the bath's laboratory-like sink area. For this stay, we noticed markedly less products (only bubble bath and one bar of soap for the sink), with those gym-like refillable pump dispensers in the shower.

The hotel continues to thrive in a forever changing neighbourhood. There is no hotel better located in these parts, and that simple fact warrants return visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pillowsofwanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    750
    338
    139
    132
See reviews for
172
1,220
228
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

It was quite last minute for me and my boyfriend, we booked on the day of and was able to check in early. Like everyone else has said so far.. the view is amazing! love the ceiling to floor windows. The decor is very modern and classy, although the room is small we enjoyed it very much still. I mean, how much room do you need for sleeping a few nights? We had a suite in another hotel in NYC before and we barely used our living room! Service was great and the room was spotlessly clean. The bubble bath is an added bonus! Roof top bar is said to be very pretentious, if you don't enjoy that scene just don't stay there, but defiantly go up and see the view. Oh it's a little far from the closest subway station but there are always cabs waiting outside to take you wherever. Lots of little restaurant and bars around, lots of beautiful people :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandiceJi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The views are great but the tiny rooms are worn, with stains on the furniture and carpet. It's just trying way too hard and there are much better hotels in NYC which are a lot hipper, if that's what you are going for. I can't think of any reason to stay here unless you have to be in this neighborhood, but if you do, stay at the Gansevoort. I don't think it was dirty, but it's clear the room has seen many nights of partying and the amenities are average--I guess you are paying for the view. The hotel staff was lovely though and the beer garden is fun.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJDS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemmondd, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear sdbBoston_MA -

Thanks for the feedback on your stay! I apologize that the guest room was not up to par for your visit. I think the views are complimented by our normally very well designed and maintained guest rooms.

I do agree, the Biergarten is fun and the staff are lovely!

Please come again. We would love to have you with us.

All best,

David Lemmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I proposed to my girlfriend this past Saturday at the hotel and everything worked out great! Tanya at the front desk played along wonderfully with the surprise and the front office manager Paul could not have been more helpful. He made sure all of my concerns were addressed and that everything ran smoothly. The views from the room were breathtaking. Will definitely be back to relive the experience!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A great location and a stunning building. I can forgive the small rooms, because the views were great. So much potential, however I came away disappointed. I stayed here for five nights and yet was unable to access the hotel facilities when I wanted. At $600 a night I think you should be able to have a simple night cap on your way "home" from dinner, yet we were denied that option on two occasions. And I am talking about the downstairs cocktail bar. Forget about getting anywhere near the roof top bar, unless it is 2:30 in the afternoon!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oneteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lemmondd, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear Oneteee,

Thanks for the feedback! I agree, the views from almost anywhere at the Hotel are truly amazing.

So sorry that you were unable to find the perfect venue for a night cap on multiple occasions. We have so many places, finding one should have been a snap. From The Biergarten, to The Grill, The Plaza and the bars on the 18th Floor – our concierge could certainly have helped to find the perfect spot to unwind after a hectic day in the Big Apple.

Please let us know when you will be back in New York and the first drink is on us!

All best,

David Lemmond
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

so, night 2 of a 4 night stay in my fave NYC hotel. all has been good so far, fab room , concierge , kevin, has been fantastic in making various reservations, and dinner at the grille last night was really good. so tonight, the temp drops about ten degrees from a beaut sunny day to a very cool night, with cold weather forecast for next few days. air con in room seems determined to keep pumping out freezing cold air regardless of the temp setting. engineer called to room says - oh yeah, they haven't turned the boiler on yet, won't do so for a few weeks, so no warm air available. suggests turn off a/c and open window. except its saturday night in the meatpacking , noisy as all hell, and there's the annoying irritation of bizarre electro buzz coming from the david blaine / intel pier 54 stupidity which prevents any thought of opening a window. (note to self: boycott intel). so left with small stuffy room with no aircon. not good.
and makes me wonder if hotel guests are indeed what this hotel is all about - 2 of the 4 elevators shut off to hotel guests and preserved for the massive queue of people trying to get to L18 bar. so guest elevator queue is very long. plus there is people trying to jump bar queue by getting in guest elevator, even though they dont go to L18, which is clogging up the guest elevators massively. last time i was here there was a staff member preventing this nonsense by ensuring only hotel guests accessed guest elevators, but i guess that guy got culled, bar must be much more profitable.
note to owner - this is a hotel - hotel guests should be treated as such, not as an annoying after thought to the roof bar clientele. not happy.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterDorrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This is one amazing hotel in every way. The hotel, the rooms, the people and the location are all wow. My wife and I stayed there for our last night in NYC a couple of days ago and we loved every bit of it. There is nothing standard about this hotel or the employees. The guys at the door are great, helpful and so trendy. Our check in was quick and very pleasant. We arrived a bit early in the morning and while our room was not yet ready, they made us feel at home. We were upgraded to a corner room on the 14th floor, room 1411, and when the room was ready and we finally got to use it we discovered the beauty of a corner room. A small room, yet very well utilized. We loved everything about it. The breathtaking view of Manhattan and Brooklyn. The bathroom is a different experience all together. This is one hotel anyone visiting NYC should consider staying in.

Room Tip: Try to stay in a corner room on an upper floor for a spectacular view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abukarimwahazem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#211 of 468 in New York City
1,767 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#116 of 468 in New York City
3,492 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#112 of 468 in New York City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#161 of 468 in New York City
633 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
675 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 468 in New York City
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing