We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay, a part from front desk service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Standard, High Line
Ranked #149 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“Great stay, a part from front desk service”
Reviewed March 22, 2011

My husband and I just stayed for three nights at The Standard, NY, and overall enjoyed it. Great decor, nice room (w. amazing views) and great food and service at the hotel's restaurants. There was only one 'but' and that was the poor service we received at the front desk, both from the receptionists and the concierge. They all seemed too concerned with appearing cool to be able to offer decent service. In addition, the concierge didn't seem to know the basic ropes of NY tourism, since she (when told we would like to see Ellis Island) told us it would be a 20 minute walk from the hotel to Battery Park (!) and failed to inform us that we could have booked ferry tickets online and have skipped the long lines.
Granted, The Standard's a cool hotel, but a well-meant piece of advice would be to hire more service-minded staff at the front desk - then we would definetely come back.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Maria189541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, March 24, 2011
Dear Maria 189541,

Thank you for your comments, and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! I am also happy that you were able to experience the dining options on our property, which offer a variety of choices and venues.

I am sorry to hear of your comments regarding our Front Desk and Concierge, and please know these have been addressed with our staff members. We highly regard our employee’s willingness to assist with any guest request, and to help them in planning out ideal activities while in NYC. I appreciate you letting me know of your experience, and we are using this to make sure our Front Desk and Concierge staff maintain the high level of guest service we set for ourselves. I hope to welcome you again as our guest, and please do not hesitate to contact me personally regarding any questions or concerns. I am happy to help.

Kind Regards,
Ian Nicholson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,783 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    750
    338
    139
    132
See reviews for
172
1,220
228
637
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

I've stayed at the standard a couple of times and each time has Bren great. Every room has a floor to ceiling window with an amazing view of the Westside highway. The rooms are modern- the shower has glass doors that see into the bedroom- different and interesting. Everyone for the most part are friendly and helpful. The location is in the west village- near the Apple Store, Chelsea Market and other neighboring great restaurants. Lots to do around the neighborhood. Love the hotel and I'd recommend to anyone looking for anyone wanting to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelboobug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2011

We had a wonderful time in your hotel - your stuff is very helpful and sympathic . It is also very stylish the way everyone was dressed!
We liked our room very much - especially the bath was incredible.
We liked everything in your hotel - except that we could never go to the bar in the roofgarden. The first time it was closed "for others", then we could not go up there by elevator - we tried 5 or 6 times and unfortunatly it was always not possible to get there.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mirjam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Finally this place comes to ny. I've lived in ny for the last decade and is happy to have this place here. It's like if LA and NY had a hotel love child this would be it. From the food at standard grill, pool at Le bain, cocktails at boom boom (the best view in the city- and one of the toughest doors, which i love).

This place is a like a new yorkers home away from home. The design and details are inspiring. Check out the video installation in the elevators! They are so clever, even saw an 'overnight emergency pack' complete with condom and stick figure artwork on the packaging.

Andre Belaz is genious!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank city_gial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

Just do it - book this hotel. Had a great weekend in NYC - difficult to get out of the hotel. Nice room, ab fab panoramic view - overlooking Hudson River, MP district, Financial district and all the way down to Statue of Liberty.....high standard all the way through :-)......nice tub and bathroom - even the bed was nice. The MP district - no need to promote that - lots of things to do and see......and if you like wine and dining, going out - funny design and clothing shops - this is the place to stay. Greenwich just a few min walk away too.
So - just do it :-) Worth every penny.
Susanne, Denmark

Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank better40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Easy going atmoshphere, super fun identity, great view and rooms... the best bed and pillows in the world and FREE INTERNET!!!

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank rodogonio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Oregon
Level Contributor
68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

At first I thought I was in a Saturday Night Live skit. The front desk staff's uber-cool attitude was almost comical.... if they weren't so ... so... unwelcoming. Really? Really? In this economy any commercial establishment ... even The Standard... can afford to hire people without an ounce of engagement skills? I don't think so. The nicest person was the man who was out on the sidewalk assisting with taxi's, etc. He was so engaging and sincere it could be possible he didn't work there. But....if you can simply ignore the laughably snobby attitudes of the front desk staff, including the young sad-disengaged lady who worked at the gift shop...and simply head straight to your room - you will be in for the treat of a lifetime. One night I ordered a simple pasta dish and a gin and tonic and it was a four star treat. I do recommend The Standard but not to those who are thin skinned.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank piratejani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iannicholson, General Manager at The Standard, High Line, responded to this review, March 4, 2011
Dear piratejani,

Thank you for your comments, and I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I want to take a moment to address your comments about our Front Desk staff, as we hold these individuals a core part of our team at The Standard. All staff are hired in part on their willingness to assist our guests with any questions or requests, whether these be regarding the venues and assets of our property or in any of the great dining, nightlife or cultural options New York has to offer. I am sorry that your first impression of our Front Desk team is what you mentioned above, and I hope to welcome you back soon to experience the great level of service and assistance our Front Desk aims to offer each of our guests.

Kind Regards,
Ian Nicholson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
West Village
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
#211 of 468 in New York City
1,767 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#116 of 468 in New York City
3,493 reviews
Chelsea
The High Line Hotel
The High Line Hotel
#112 of 468 in New York City
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#161 of 468 in New York City
634 reviews
East Village
The Standard, East Village
The Standard, East Village
#189 of 468 in New York City
675 reviews
Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
Walker Hotel Greenwich Village
#108 of 468 in New York City
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Standard, High Line? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard, High Line

Property: The Standard, High Line
Address: 848 Washington Street, at West 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014-1308 (Formerly The Standard New York)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#180 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard, High Line 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Manhattan's thriving Meatpacking District, the latest in hotelier Andre Balazs' collection of Standard Hotels stands commandingly above The High Line, the former elevated railroad undergoing redevelopment as a public park. 338 guest rooms on 18 floors, The Standard, High Line boasts unparalleled views of the Hudson River and Lower Manhattan, full business amenities, extensive event space and a state of the art fitness facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Standard, High Line reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard New York Hotel New York City
Standard New York City
The Standard New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing