We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need better maintenance”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #359 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed July 19, 2014

I had to lug my luggage in the rain to move from GEM to Quality Inn because they didn't fix the clogged toilet and internet connection problem in my room properly. While the move was a welcomed solution, I wish that the staff in both hotels had communicated better about my situation because I am now charged twice for the same night (by both hotels) for something that is not my fault

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Azie200786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Azie200786,
We like to extend our deepest sincerely apology to you. The issues that you experienced in no way should have happen and we are extremely embrassed by this. I hope that you allow me to make this up to you in the future, please contact me directly at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com. The billing issue you also experienced has been taken care for you. I hope that you give us another opportunity.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 591 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting accommodations in Midtown. The staff were friendly and helpful - from dinner recommendations to help with transport to the airport - and they had a sense of humor, which I appreciate. It was a nice room - spacious and reasonably priced for NYC, and very clean. Easy walk to the High Line park and Times Square, and pretty quiet. I will stay with Gem from now on - no complaints, and lots of positives for this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hi Kathleen M,
We are thrilled that you had a fantastic stay while visiting NYC. All of us at the GEM strive to provide a unique experience for all of our GEM guest and glad that we made a welcoming experience for you. Most of all we like to thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we hope to see you again in the future and please mention LGEMR when making that return trip. Thank you again!
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My 14 yo grandson and I stayed here July 2 - 6, 2014. We wanted something near all the attractions and in our budget. We were delightfully surprised at how clean the hotel was considering the look of the surrounding area. The room was very well kept. We chose to sleep in each morning and our room was cleaned after we left for the day. Walking distance to eateries, attractions and the subway made this a good choice for us. Very comfortable bed! Vending machine and ice were readily available. It was more than we expected and we were very pleased with the staff at the hotel. My grandson forgot his laptop power cord at the hotel. When we arrived at our next destination, we called and verified it was there. The manager is going to return it to us as soon as we send an envelope. Thanks you for a great stay in NY!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skippernina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Hello skippernina,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we are delighted that you and your grandsonenjoyed your stay. The laptop charger is on its way, you should be recieving it very shortly. The hotel is well located between 2 exciting neighborhoods, Chelsea and Hell's Kitchen. Both with tons of fantastic restuarants to eat at. We all like to thank you as well for taking the time to post your review and comments, this will help us to continue to jmprove upon our standards. We look forward to your next trip back, please mention LGEMR.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We chose this hotel as this was the only one in the Manhattan area that offers rooms with two double beds (good for two couples traveling together and willing to share a room). Definitely worth staying here (close to Times Square and attractions), rather than across the river in NJ and then having to spend time traveling into the city, looking for parking, and paying tolls.

Hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Rooms were neat and clean. Our room had a fridge, microwave, iron, and hairdryer. Our room was ready for us when we arrived around noon - 3 hours before the check-in time - which was nice. Hotel staff were responsive to all of our extra requests.

Parking just across the street in the parking lot @ $25 per day (24 hr period). Not bad, but you can't pay for a few extra hours if you need it - have to pay a flat rate of $25 per 24 hr period.

Overall, a good deal and good value. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Roman D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2014

Dear Roman D,
Thank you for staying choosing the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your recent trip to NYC. We are thrilled that the GEM was able to meet your expectations.We hope to see you soon again in the near future. I just wanted to let you know that the GEM Hudson Yard also offers a Free Parking Package, please give us a call directly to inquire. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hotel was clean and had everything that you need for a short break in the city. I would have preferred to stay in the Chelsea version of this hotel as it was near more places to eat and the underground. Where this hotel is there is a McDonald's and a gas station not someplace that I would want to walk around after dark. Also to make you aware the safe is 2 dollars a day and you are charged this on checkout.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kourtney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hello Kourtney W,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard, we are sorry that the GEM Chelsea was not availble for you while in NYC. Though Chelsea is more of a neighborhood hotel the Hudson Yard is unique in its own. There are many different options within walking distance that may have surprised. I hope that you give us another chance to change your mind about the hotel. Please do contact me directly in regards to the safe charge. @ midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We had come from the Chelsea in atlantic city to the gem in NYC and I will say that I was way more impressed with The Gem then the fancy hotel down there. The rooms are super super tiny even just for my husband and I. I'm positive the bathroom was as big as the entire common area. However it's NYC and if your spending much time in your room you are crazy!! Very clean place and the front desk staff was amazing!!! Not to mention it was far enough away from the busy downtown area that you could actually sleep and sit outside and even enjoy yourself. Will for sure be staying here for our future visits

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjayc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Bjayc,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard and hope that NYC was everything you thought it to be. We all like to thank you for taking the time to posting your reveiw and comments. We strive with every guest to make it a personal, memorable experience and we are glad that we were able to do that for you. We hope to see you again and please mention LGEMR on your return trip.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

After touring the city all day and night the hotel suited us perfectly to relax, rest and rejuvenate before hitting the city again. The room's decor was modern and fresh along with being clean and bright. The bathrooms were also clean and a typical size. The rooms are smaller than what most are use to but there were four of us and we had just enough space to move around each other. The hotel is located near the Penn Station which made it an easy arrival from DC by train. NYC attractions are all walking distance from the hotel and with the Penn station near by you are even closer. With a hop, skip and a jump you will get to everything in no time. We did not feel like we were missing out based on our location. The staff were friendly and made our stay even more pleasant. They accommodating and assured us by storing our luggage before we could check in and after we checked out so we did not have to hull our belongings around while waiting for our room and train, respectively, which allowed is to get more of NYC. The stay was perfect for what we needed.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gsudaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Gsudaria,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your most recent trip to NYC. We are all delighted that your stay was comfortable accessible to our great city. We strive with each guest to live up to our name "GEM". A rare find but worth its weight in gold. Thank you for taking the time to post your review, it means a great deal to all of us. Please mention LGEMR on your next trip.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#379 of 469 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#290 of 469 in New York City
85 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#422 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
810 reviews
Midtown
The Out NYC
The Out NYC
#270 of 469 in New York City
1,391 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#122 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $151 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on 36th St. as the gateway to the vibrant and eclectic West Side, 36 Hudson Hotel is just steps away from a rich mosaic of culture, fine dining, shopping, and nightlife. Whether conducting business Midtown, exploring the rich urban cultural, taking in the exciting Chelsea art scene, or mining the boutiques in Soho for a hidden treasure, there's no better location to begin your journey. Midtown never fails to dazzle even the most seasoned tourist with its plethora of urban monuments - Rockefeller Center, Times Square and the Empire State Building to name a few. The sites to see go on and on and they're all so close to our Hudson Yards New York hotel. Bask in the wonder of it all. Catch a show. Experience world-class dining. Then retreat to your urban oasis - 36 Hudson Hotel New York where you'll getaway and rejuvenate in a chic, intimate setting perfect for couples. Enjoy stunning accommodations at our Manhattan boutique hotel, friendly service, and accessibility to all the top picks in dining, shopping, entertainment and more. Choose a vacation package from 36 Hudson Hotel when seeking Midtown Manhattan hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing