We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #359 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Nice hotel and friendly, service minded staff. Booked a room for four, but it was a bit small, and felt a bit crowded. Got stuck in the elevator, but we got great help from the front desk. Also, the lock to our room stopped working, but we got checked into a new room while it was being fixed. Thanks for the stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank marihareid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear marihareid,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yards during your visit to NYC. I like to apologies again for the small hipcups in your experience while at the GEM. And glad that the associates were able to correct those issues for you quickly. Your comments and review are greatly recieved and thank you for taking the time. We hope to see you again soon.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 599 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2014

After terrible customer service at another hotel, it was a treat to be welcomed by Ashish at the front desk. The hotel was quiet, clean, and comfortable. The wifi did not seem to be working correctly. Overall, we enjoyed our one night here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeTravel2Learn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2014

Dear WeTravel2Learn,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the GEM Hotel Hudson Yards. Am sorry to hear of your experience at a previous hotel. And happy that Ashish was able to provide you with a more positive stay experience. Ashish has been with the GEM Hotel for 5 year now and is a model for our other associates in true guest service. I am delighted that your stay meet all of your expectations and we all hope to see you again soon. Your review and comments meant a great deal to all of us at the GEM and Ashish.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2014

The room was good and most importantly, it was very clean. Had a little problem with the wifi but overall, it was a pleasant experience and definitely a hotel to book as it's in a good location. Walking distance to the subway and Times Square!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amelia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Amelia B,
We are delighted that you stay and experience at the GEM meet all of your expectations. We hope to see you soon again and we will be making some small additions that I think you will enjoy. Most of all we all like to thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel during your visit to NYC. You comments and review are also greatly appreciated, our committment to our guests is what we strive for.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

Easy 10-15 minutes walking from Penn Station/Amtrak and to Broadway Theaters and Times Square, as well as to Chelsea movie theaters and restaurants. Very clean and quiet; in a residential neighborhood. Friendly, accommodating staff.

Room Tip: For NYC, I always ask for a quiet inside room, as I prefer quiet to any street noise, no matter how...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcookva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear pcookva,

Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel during your trip to NYC. We hope that you experienced everything New York City has to offer. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2014

While it may seem like the hotel is off the beaten path, it really isn't. The hotel is situated less than half a mile from Penn Station which makes it an easy walk to trains and the subway system. Times Square and the theater district are also in easy walking distance. The king size bed fills most of the room, but what are you really doing at the hotel besides sleeping? We lucked out with a room on the first floor that actually had a little terrace where we could sit outside which was nice. Bathroom and fixtures were all new. DirectTV and free internet were very nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful at all hours of the day. They let us leave our luggage at the hotel after we checked out so that we could spend our last day in the city unencumbered by suitcases.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Jeffrey H,
Thank you for taking the time from your busy schedule to write this review. We strive to make every guest experience a special one. And I am happy that we, were able to make that lasting impression upon you. We all would like to thank you as well for having chosen the GEM, we are small and off the beated path. But this allows us all to provide that 100% focus to each individual guest.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The name states it all...The Gem! Perfect location for Javits Center events.The staff and management is considerate to every detail. The rooms are small but lovely. My stay was excellent! Will book again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Danielle L,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel during your trip to NYC. Our staff strives to be that GEM, the needle in the hay stack. We all are just estactic that we were able to be that needle for you when traveling back to NYC. We are making some small additions and hope that on your return trip you get to see what we have done. Thank you again! See you soon..
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The staff was very engaging and helpful. From the front desk to the cleaning staff, everyone was willing to assist. There was a problem with sump pumps in the basement, but was taken care of quickly and efficiently.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Mark H,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, we are excited that you had a fantastic stay while in NYC. I hope that you were not effected with the mechanical issue we experienced, if so please accept my deepest apology. Your review and comments mean a great deal to all of us and we continue to strive to be better. We hope that you next return is a better or greater then your first.
Sincerely,
GEM Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#390 of 470 in New York City
697 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#191 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#293 of 470 in New York City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#427 of 470 in New York City
825 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#232 of 470 in New York City
5,012 reviews
Midtown
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Travel Inn Hotel New York
#339 of 470 in New York City
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $99 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on 36th St. as the gateway to the vibrant and eclectic West Side, 36 Hudson Hotel is just steps away from a rich mosaic of culture, fine dining, shopping, and nightlife. Whether conducting business Midtown, exploring the rich urban cultural, taking in the exciting Chelsea art scene, or mining the boutiques in Soho for a hidden treasure, there's no better location to begin your journey. Midtown never fails to dazzle even the most seasoned tourist with its plethora of urban monuments - Rockefeller Center, Times Square and the Empire State Building to name a few. The sites to see go on and on and they're all so close to our Hudson Yards New York hotel. Bask in the wonder of it all. Catch a show. Experience world-class dining. Then retreat to your urban oasis - 36 Hudson Hotel New York where you'll getaway and rejuvenate in a chic, intimate setting perfect for couples. Enjoy stunning accommodations at our Manhattan boutique hotel, friendly service, and accessibility to all the top picks in dining, shopping, entertainment and more. Choose a vacation package from 36 Hudson Hotel when seeking Midtown Manhattan hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing