We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #359 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Granby, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just perfect! The best hotel i had in New York!!! Everything was very very Nice. I went there with 25 students and it was a very good experience. Good breakfasts. Good staff. Good beds. Very clean. Good prices.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladivaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    237
    115
    24
    45
See reviews for
115
146
49
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
watertown ct
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

We chose the Gem Hotel Hudson yards for its close proximity to the Javits Center and the International Beauty Show. Boy did we score! Its literally two blocks away. When you walk out of the hotel, the cabs are all over to take you anywhere. The rooms are a little smaller resembling a small studio. There is a large window and plenty of sunshine. The rooms are SPOTLESS. The beds are comfortable with nice linens. The hotel rooms themselves appear to be remodeled. Good sized TV. There are in room safes for valuables if needed. The only thing I wasn't used to, was no in room fridge, but the staff was accommodating. We were in room 801 which was nice, quiet and right next to the elevator which I was worried would be noisy....but it wasn't at all. Parking is convenient as well. There is a good sized secured lot across the street on the corner that has a discounted rate per 24hours if you stay at the hotel. There is a breakfast place a few blocks away...and plenty of coffee shops within walking distance. The staff was very attentive.

Room Tip: room 801 was nice. cant comment on the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miaerrn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Clean rooms, friendly staff, good location, absolutely wonderful experience. It is located in a very safe area of Manhattan, a few blocks away from shopping centers, and a variety of nice restaurants just on 8th and 9th Ave. I strongly recommend this hotel for any occasion. I will surely stay there again next time I go to NYC. Thanks very much to the management and staff! Warmest, Vanya

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanya_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here 18-23rd of Feb having travelled from England. All members of staff were extremely welcoming, polite and helpful. Room was clean and modern- huge bed, flat screen hd tv, and neat bathroom. iPhone dock was an added bonus! Stored luggage post checkout for us. 10 minute walk from Times Square and a little less for Madison Square Garden. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Really, really friendly and helpful staff. We arrived much earlier than check in time, after a long flight, and they were able to get us into a room early. Then they were very helpful with questions about local destinations and events.

Our room was quite small, but not by NY standards. Flat screen, nice linens and towels, fancy alarm clock. Everything was quite clean.

We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josh l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear nkb1008,

Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard during your most recent trip to NYC. We are delighted that you had a great experience and expectations were meet. Your review and comments is greatly appreciated by our associates to continue to inspire them to continue our service commitment. Please mention LGEMR on your next return trip, we hope to see you soon again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This hotel was very good. Not going to knock your socks off, but absolutely nothing worthy of complaint.

Although some might find the location not ideal, it is particularly great if you are coming in to New York on the bus, as it is right near the Megabus and Bolt Bus stops. For our stay we actually spent a fair amount of time in Chelsea and Hell's Kitchen, which was easily within walking distance. When we stay in NYC we usually spend $20 in metro tickets, but this time managed to spend $0.

The price was very good for staying in Manhattan. The staff was very friendly and accommodating of a late 2pm checkout, although it appears they did not tell the staff as they came at the normal time (but were apologetic and happy to move on). They also tagged and held our bags for the day after we checked out.

The rooms are small as you would expect. They are nicely furnished. This hotel would get 5 stars except the rooms were just a bit old. Not dingy, but not as kept up as would warrant a full 5 stars.

One just very odd thing: we were on the second floor and one of the rooms' door was decorated with tons of pictures like one would expect in a dorm.

All in all, I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Erik T,

Than you for staying at the GEM Hotel this past weekend, we were delighted to have you. I like to think of the GEM Hudson Yard as the hidden GEM of all. Affordable, close to all attraction, and quietly tucked away from the normal NYC atmosphere. We look forward to your next getaway and please mention LGEMR when making your next reservation.

Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCEAN PINES, USA
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

The room very small. I paid $20.00 extra for a top floor and a patio. I got bottom floor and the patio was a alley not happy at all. Had a friend coming from Ca. first time on the east coast and she wanted to go to New York , this is way the top floor and patio would be nice for a good view, boy was i wrong being put on the ground floor was terrible. Will never stay here again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DAVID G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear DAVID G,
I am terrible sorry to hear that the GEM Hotel Hudson Yard did not meet your expectation. I like to remedy your bad experience and hope that you will contact me at the hotel or via email at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Lawrence Hou
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#375 of 467 in New York City
680 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#334 of 467 in New York City
66 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#414 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 467 in New York City
6,311 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Property: 36 Hudson Hotel
Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on 36th St. as the gateway to the vibrant and eclectic West Side, 36 Hudson Hotel is just steps away from a rich mosaic of culture, fine dining, shopping, and nightlife. Whether conducting business Midtown, exploring the rich urban cultural, taking in the exciting Chelsea art scene, or mining the boutiques in Soho for a hidden treasure, there's no better location to begin your journey. Midtown never fails to dazzle even the most seasoned tourist with its plethora of urban monuments - Rockefeller Center, Times Square and the Empire State Building to name a few. The sites to see go on and on and they're all so close to our Hudson Yards New York hotel. Bask in the wonder of it all. Catch a show. Experience world-class dining. Then retreat to your urban oasis - 36 Hudson Hotel New York where you'll getaway and rejuvenate in a chic, intimate setting perfect for couples. Enjoy stunning accommodations at our Manhattan boutique hotel, friendly service, and accessibility to all the top picks in dining, shopping, entertainment and more. Choose a vacation package from 36 Hudson Hotel when seeking Midtown Manhattan hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing