We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find in Midtown”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #359 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed January 15, 2014

I spent the evening here for a business meeting and fell in love with the hotel very quickly, a great location near GREAT restaurants and my room was nice and clean and a good size, not a huge room but for NYC I was very happy. I was told at the front desk that the internet at the hotel is a new provider and I was very happy with it, it worked great for my needs, next time I am in Midtown and need a hotel room this will be my first choice.

Room Tip: My room was on the 9th floor and I had no noise issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveltheworldfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Traveltheworldfun,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your most recent visit to NYC. Hope that your business trip was a success. Many people are misled about our location, but we are excited that you were able to find those treasures. Please mention LGEMR on your next return visit.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 596 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

The room was clean, but pretty small. The staff was excellent. Everyone was helpful, attentive and friendly. The hotel was close to everything so I walked most everywhere.
Good location, clean rooms and a great staff. Hard to ask for much more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CHRIS J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear CHRIS J,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your visit to NYC. Am excited that our staff meet all of your needs. I will surely pass along your review and comments to the rest of the GEM staff. We all hope to see you again in the future, if you should please mention LGEMR when making your next reservation. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Found this property online. and was especially impressed with The Gem Hotel properties since it markets itself to the LGBT cost-conscience traveler. The room was clean, the GM and staff were helpful and thoughtful. Without a doubt, I will stay at a Gem Hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear TripAdvisor Member,
Thank you for having chosen the GEM Hotel while in NYC. We are pleased that everything meet to your expectations. To thank you for your wonderful comments please mention LGEMR for your next return visit.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Exceptional Staff. Felt right at home. Room was a great value, clean, a but small, but great.
It was quiet for being in Manhattan. Walking distance to great areas.
Room is a bit small, so not for kids, unless they get their own room!!

Stay at the Gem!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almcvkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear almcvkr,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your most recent visit to NYC. We are excited that you had a fantastic stay and able to find that Home away from Home when traveling. I like to also thank you for taking the time in posting your comments and review, please mention LGEMR on your return visit. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I was in Manhattan for a couple of modeling job, the location was excellent and the staff was very welcoming and helpful. The housekeeping staff were particularly friendly and the rooms showed their attention to detail. Glady in particular was great

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear ERIC N
Thank you for having stayed at the GEM Hotel Midtown West while in NYC. Your review and comments of the hotel mean a lot to us. Glady's has been with the company for 3 years now and she exemplifies the level of commitment and service we strive for In appreciation for taking time to post your review, we hope that you mention LGEMR on your next return visit.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very helpful staff. Location is easy walking to subway and reasonable walk to uptown. Very small room but clean and well appointed - good place to crash but wouldn't want to entertain. Had few minor problems (safe/towel) on check-in, but quickly fixed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CARL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear CARL G,
Thank you for staying the GEM Hotel during your visit to New York City. I see that you experience a few issues during your stay and hope that our response to correct the issues were to your satisfaction. Your comments and review are important to us as we can use them as a gauge in our service and commitment to our guests. We hope to see you again on your return trip back to the GEM, please mention LGEMR when making your future reservation.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I went to the boat show at Javitt's Center and the Gem-Midtown was super close, only two blocks away. It was also very close to Penn Station, Times Square, etc. I had no complaints about the room (it's the normal size for NYC) and the bed/pillows were pretty comfortable. Other reviewers mentioned the water pressure, and yes, I was impressed with the water pressure for a hotel (it was adjustable, too). The staff was also great. I was worried we would be early to check in, so I called ahead and they said we could check in our luggage beforehand. And most importantly, you cannot beat the price! I think I found my go-to hotel for the city!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Corinna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 18, 2014

Dear Corinna L,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West during the NYC Boat Show. We are glad that your stay was everything you expected and more. We are extremely close to everything NYC has to offer all within a hop, skip and jump away. In appreciation for taking the time to post your comments and review, please mention LGEMR on your next return visit. We hope to you again soon.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#389 of 469 in New York City
694 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#186 of 469 in New York City
819 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#260 of 469 in New York City
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Newton
Hotel Newton
#322 of 469 in New York City
1,580 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#266 of 469 in New York City
599 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#384 of 469 in New York City
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $112 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on 36th St. as the gateway to the vibrant and eclectic West Side, 36 Hudson Hotel is just steps away from a rich mosaic of culture, fine dining, shopping, and nightlife. Whether conducting business Midtown, exploring the rich urban cultural, taking in the exciting Chelsea art scene, or mining the boutiques in Soho for a hidden treasure, there's no better location to begin your journey. Midtown never fails to dazzle even the most seasoned tourist with its plethora of urban monuments - Rockefeller Center, Times Square and the Empire State Building to name a few. The sites to see go on and on and they're all so close to our Hudson Yards New York hotel. Bask in the wonder of it all. Catch a show. Experience world-class dining. Then retreat to your urban oasis - 36 Hudson Hotel New York where you'll getaway and rejuvenate in a chic, intimate setting perfect for couples. Enjoy stunning accommodations at our Manhattan boutique hotel, friendly service, and accessibility to all the top picks in dining, shopping, entertainment and more. Choose a vacation package from 36 Hudson Hotel when seeking Midtown Manhattan hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing