We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently located, close to food and shopping”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #359 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Conveniently located, close to food and shopping”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed at The GEM Hotel Midtown West for 2 weeks recently. The hotel was in a very convenient location on W 36th St, close to Penn Station and bus services. Macy's and the Herald Square shopping area are less than 15 minutes away on foot. Times Square is one subway stop away or about 15-20 mins on foot. During our trip, we walked to most places as it really is easy to get around Midtown on foot, even more convenient than taking the subway, imo!

There are also numerous dining options in the W 34th-40th St & 8th-10th Ave area ranging from diners, delis, pizzerias, Thai/Japanese cuisine, etc. I recommend Skylight Diner and Tabata Noodle Restaurant!

Part of my trip included attending the New York Comic Con at the Javits Center, a 5-min walk away from the hotel, which was a huge deciding factor in choosing this hotel.

The hotel staff are very friendly and always ready to help. We had a problem with the keycard lock one day, so the concierge arranged for us to be moved to another room. They helped us move our luggage and even refunded 50% of the room charge for the night.

The housekeeping staff also did a very good job of keeping the rooms clean. Although the rooms are small, the king room was comfortable enough for 2 people on a 2-week stay.

Thank you so much for a very comfortable stay! I would definitely consider staying at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desi8517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Desi8517,
Thank you so much for your review and for choosing us. I’m glad to hear that you were able to take in some of the great eateries we have near us. If you happen to be staying with us again for such a long period of time we have a brand new gourmet grocery that just opened up around the corner from us. I am sorry that you had difficulties with your lock but I see my wonderful team was able to assist you. Again thanks for staying with us and for your review.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    237
    115
    24
    45
See reviews for
115
146
49
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is basic and well priced. The rooms are small even by Manhattan standards but are well designed, immaculately clean and mine was quite quiet. The staff at the front desk were efficient and courteous. The location is a bit off the beaten track but of no concern. In fact, everything I needed (Penn Station, Restaurant Row) were in easy walking distance. I definitely intend to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiamiGringo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear MiamiGringo,
Thanks for your review. Next time you’re here be sure to ask anyone at the front desk about some of the new restaurants that have opened in the area and some new bars too. We are a block of the beaten track but that’s what makes it so quiet. When you call in to reserve your room be sure to have us pull up your previous reservation so we may offer to you a returning guest discount. Once again thanks for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a smashing stay. The rooms are small, but they have everything you need and are clean and comfortable. The location is ideal...10 mins walk from Times Square but quiet. Handy petrol station full of yellow cabs round the corner and a lovely little coffee shop. The staff were helpful and friendly but we didn't speak much to them since we had no problems!! Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllieA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Allie_11,
Thank you for finding our Gem. We appreciate the time you took out of your day for your review as well. I’m happy to hear that you found the coffee shop and gas station. Did you happen to see that inside the gas station was a Dunkin Doughnuts? Come out to stay with us during Spring and summer and there is a bike rental spot just a block away from us to grab a bike and see our great city from a different perspective. Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Nebraska
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Like most New York hotel rooms, the room was not very big. However, it was a nice room, air worked well and shower was hot. It is just a couple of blocks from the Javits Center where our work convention was and just a couple blocks away from the subway to get around Manhattan. Easy walk to Time Square as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jkkp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear JKKP78,
Thank you for choosing us on your most recent stay to NYC. Yes we are very close to the Javitz Center, just a block away. We are also just 4 blocks away from Penn Station and the NYC train stations. If you happen to drive in next time when you stay with us be sure to use the garage located across the street from The Gem Midtown during your stay and be sure to have us validate the ticket so you may receive the discounted parking. Thanks again for staying with us and for your review. We hope to see you in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed as a female traveler on my own and was certainly taken care of. Everything I needed they could help me with and the service was absolutely excellent. I needed a cab on my morning of checkout to JFK and the man at reception got me one for exactly when I needed it and also carried all my bags out for me. While the room was quite small it was extremely clean and with modern furbishings and I was provided with 2 large bottles of water - complimentary. Well located with cabs always around and close enough to walk to a few subway stations. Overall I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexvmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The gem is a small hotel in the middle of chelsea. Small rooms for american standards but this is new york so the standards are more like tokyo or hong kong.
However the gem does not have any cable. But with the quality of tv these days it is no great lost.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at The GEM Hotel Midtown West during New York Fashion Week for the second time. The hotel is perfectly sized, modest but not quaint.The lobby is small but well thought-out, with a charming outdoor entrance featuring a rock garden, seating and sculptures.

The staff is friendly. We never arrived or departed without a smile and a hello, and often a polite note: "Please let me know if I can do anything for you during your stay.". I fell in girl-crush love with their day-time attendant who had the cutest ombre bob and a genuine smile. She really made our stay better! The other attendants were just as outstanding, and the Manager Lawrence is extremely accommodating, despite his busy schedule.

Our room has been to scale for NYC both times. It is infinitely more enjoyable than the first hotel we stayed in during New York Fashion - much larger, with a better staff. We had enough room for both of us to spread out without feeling cramped. A wardrobe made it easy to unpack my clothing and hide my suitcases on top, meaning more surface area for us to enjoy our room. After a night out, our friend crashed with us comfortably and the hotel staff did not fuss.

The bathrooms were clean with robes provided (another first for NYC for us!). While the hotel works hard to sustain its resources, water included, they happily replaced our towels daily. Mouthwash and lotion (my favorite hotel body lotion!) is provided for convenience, as well as shower gel and shampoo.

Our view was a combination of the river (just a sliver!), lovely green rooftops and the interesting buildings around us.

While the hotel is not situated on a busy street, it's just one block away from shopping, great ethnic food and public transportation. More importantly though, this hotel is perfectly centrally located! You're blocks away from Times Square for the touristy types, and close to everything for the business travelers.

I strongly suggest this hotel for families, business travelers and groups of friends.

I will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad room just yet! Our room was on a higher floor this time and seemed slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissOhioVintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#375 of 467 in New York City
680 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#334 of 467 in New York City
63 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#414 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#194 of 467 in New York City
790 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#390 of 467 in New York City
6,311 reviews
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#388 of 467 in New York City
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Property: 36 Hudson Hotel
Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Business Hotel in New York City
#205 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#228 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on 36th St. as the gateway to the vibrant and eclectic West Side, 36 Hudson Hotel is just steps away from a rich mosaic of culture, fine dining, shopping, and nightlife. Whether conducting business Midtown, exploring the rich urban cultural, taking in the exciting Chelsea art scene, or mining the boutiques in Soho for a hidden treasure, there's no better location to begin your journey. Midtown never fails to dazzle even the most seasoned tourist with its plethora of urban monuments - Rockefeller Center, Times Square and the Empire State Building to name a few. The sites to see go on and on and they're all so close to our Hudson Yards New York hotel. Bask in the wonder of it all. Catch a show. Experience world-class dining. Then retreat to your urban oasis - 36 Hudson Hotel New York where you'll getaway and rejuvenate in a chic, intimate setting perfect for couples. Enjoy stunning accommodations at our Manhattan boutique hotel, friendly service, and accessibility to all the top picks in dining, shopping, entertainment and more. Choose a vacation package from 36 Hudson Hotel when seeking Midtown Manhattan hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing