We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, small but lovely rooms”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #359 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We had a smashing stay. The rooms are small, but they have everything you need and are clean and comfortable. The location is ideal...10 mins walk from Times Square but quiet. Handy petrol station full of yellow cabs round the corner and a lovely little coffee shop. The staff were helpful and friendly but we didn't speak much to them since we had no problems!! Will stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AllieA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear Allie_11,
Thank you for finding our Gem. We appreciate the time you took out of your day for your review as well. I’m happy to hear that you found the coffee shop and gas station. Did you happen to see that inside the gas station was a Dunkin Doughnuts? Come out to stay with us during Spring and summer and there is a bike rental spot just a block away from us to grab a bike and see our great city from a different perspective. Thanks again for staying with us. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 591 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2013

Like most New York hotel rooms, the room was not very big. However, it was a nice room, air worked well and shower was hot. It is just a couple of blocks from the Javits Center where our work convention was and just a couple blocks away from the subway to get around Manhattan. Easy walk to Time Square as well.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jkkp78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear JKKP78,
Thank you for choosing us on your most recent stay to NYC. Yes we are very close to the Javitz Center, just a block away. We are also just 4 blocks away from Penn Station and the NYC train stations. If you happen to drive in next time when you stay with us be sure to use the garage located across the street from The Gem Midtown during your stay and be sure to have us validate the ticket so you may receive the discounted parking. Thanks again for staying with us and for your review. We hope to see you in the future.

Warmest Regards
James L
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed as a female traveler on my own and was certainly taken care of. Everything I needed they could help me with and the service was absolutely excellent. I needed a cab on my morning of checkout to JFK and the man at reception got me one for exactly when I needed it and also carried all my bags out for me. While the room was quite small it was extremely clean and with modern furbishings and I was provided with 2 large bottles of water - complimentary. Well located with cabs always around and close enough to walk to a few subway stations. Overall I would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexvmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

The gem is a small hotel in the middle of chelsea. Small rooms for american standards but this is new york so the standards are more like tokyo or hong kong.
However the gem does not have any cable. But with the quality of tv these days it is no great lost.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I recently stayed at The GEM Hotel Midtown West during New York Fashion Week for the second time. The hotel is perfectly sized, modest but not quaint.The lobby is small but well thought-out, with a charming outdoor entrance featuring a rock garden, seating and sculptures.

The staff is friendly. We never arrived or departed without a smile and a hello, and often a polite note: "Please let me know if I can do anything for you during your stay.". I fell in girl-crush love with their day-time attendant who had the cutest ombre bob and a genuine smile. She really made our stay better! The other attendants were just as outstanding, and the Manager Lawrence is extremely accommodating, despite his busy schedule.

Our room has been to scale for NYC both times. It is infinitely more enjoyable than the first hotel we stayed in during New York Fashion - much larger, with a better staff. We had enough room for both of us to spread out without feeling cramped. A wardrobe made it easy to unpack my clothing and hide my suitcases on top, meaning more surface area for us to enjoy our room. After a night out, our friend crashed with us comfortably and the hotel staff did not fuss.

The bathrooms were clean with robes provided (another first for NYC for us!). While the hotel works hard to sustain its resources, water included, they happily replaced our towels daily. Mouthwash and lotion (my favorite hotel body lotion!) is provided for convenience, as well as shower gel and shampoo.

Our view was a combination of the river (just a sliver!), lovely green rooftops and the interesting buildings around us.

While the hotel is not situated on a busy street, it's just one block away from shopping, great ethnic food and public transportation. More importantly though, this hotel is perfectly centrally located! You're blocks away from Times Square for the touristy types, and close to everything for the business travelers.

I strongly suggest this hotel for families, business travelers and groups of friends.

I will stay here again and again.

Room Tip: I haven't had a bad room just yet! Our room was on a higher floor this time and seemed slightly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissOhioVintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The room is small but it's clean with everything you need as a business traveler. One of the best values in this area of Manhattan. Avoid the x01 rooms, as they are right next to the elevator and you will hear the elevator door open every time it stops on your floor. The Cafe Grind - just up the street - is a great place for coffee (like a Starbuck's). The Gem participates in the Choice Hotels program.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanpalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I had mistakingly made my reservation for the previous day and when I arrived the following day the best they could give me is a $200.00 room and they kept the $250 from the previous night. The least they could have done was give me a phone call and asked if I was staying or not. Plus Choice privileges wouldn't even give me the points for the stay even though I paid for it. They said it was a no show but I paid for the room so why shouldn't I get the points??? Very petty of them.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ssurita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear ssurita ,
I want to extend my sincere apologies in regards to your reservation with us at The GEM Hotel Midtown West. I like to try and make up to you, if you would kindly please forward me your Choice Privilege number I will go ahead and reward you those points for the reservation. You can forward me your number at midtown.gm@thegemhotel.com. If you should have any question for me, please feel free to contact me.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#379 of 469 in New York City
687 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#290 of 469 in New York City
85 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#422 of 469 in New York City
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#189 of 469 in New York City
810 reviews
Midtown
The Out NYC
The Out NYC
#270 of 469 in New York City
1,391 reviews
Midtown
Cassa Hotel Times Square
Cassa Hotel Times Square
#122 of 469 in New York City
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#227 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $151 - $380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on 36th St. as the gateway to the vibrant and eclectic West Side, 36 Hudson Hotel is just steps away from a rich mosaic of culture, fine dining, shopping, and nightlife. Whether conducting business Midtown, exploring the rich urban cultural, taking in the exciting Chelsea art scene, or mining the boutiques in Soho for a hidden treasure, there's no better location to begin your journey. Midtown never fails to dazzle even the most seasoned tourist with its plethora of urban monuments - Rockefeller Center, Times Square and the Empire State Building to name a few. The sites to see go on and on and they're all so close to our Hudson Yards New York hotel. Bask in the wonder of it all. Catch a show. Experience world-class dining. Then retreat to your urban oasis - 36 Hudson Hotel New York where you'll getaway and rejuvenate in a chic, intimate setting perfect for couples. Enjoy stunning accommodations at our Manhattan boutique hotel, friendly service, and accessibility to all the top picks in dining, shopping, entertainment and more. Choose a vacation package from 36 Hudson Hotel when seeking Midtown Manhattan hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing