We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #360 of 470 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Very nice hotel. Clean rooms, good staff and nice price. Rooms are a little small, but big enough and two complementary waters. Would be five dots, but location is a little on the scruffy side of Midtown. Still well worth staying here if you have business in Midtown. We were supposed to be at Gem Soho, but they overbooked and sent us here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PFSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear PFswan,
On behalf of The Gem Midtown West let me thank you for your most recent stay with us. We are pleased you found our accommodation to your liking. Next time you are in the city please be sure to reserve your reservation with us, in appreciation for your review and comments please use LGEMR on your next return visit. Again thank you for your review and your stay.

Asst General Manager
James L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 599 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

Spent a weekend here while in NYC for the Armory Show. The hotel is located in strange location, nothing else really 'touristy' around it, in fact, nothing really of interest around it, in fact it's close to where some big tunnel/freeway dumps into the city (not sure which one). But it is close to Penn Station, close as in easily walk able.

It's a relatively small property, there are several floors but only a few rooms on each floor and the rooms and the hallways are small. Given the compact space it was really pretty quiet and the room was simply and comfortably furnished. Tight for 2 people but we we there for the art, not to spend time in the room. Really liked the bathroom, it was remodeled, very unique, functional and stylish.

There's a cafe nearby that gives Gem guests a 10% discount, it's a great local place, also has a happy hour in the afternoon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MspTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear Msp Tripper,
Thank you for staying with us during your most recent stay. We may not be in the heart of Times Square but we are just walking distance away, and to most of our guest its just enough away to be quitter and more relaxing. There are some places near us that are touristy like taking a walk on the Highline. A newly renovated stretch of old train tracks from the early 1900’s was converted into a beautiful walking path with gardens and places to sit and relax. We are also just 3 blocks away from the west side walkway where the Intrepid aircraft carrier is located which now has on display one of the space shuttles, and blocks away from Chelsea Piers. We are next to the Lincoln tunnel which gives our driving in guest easy access to and from the hotel whether their coming in or going out of the city. Next time you are back please speak to any one of the front desk agents about other restaurants we are affiliated with that offer discounts on meals and drinks. Again thanks for staying with us and taking the time to give us your review


Asst General Manager
James L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I gave a glowing review to the GEM SoHo when I stayed there in fall of 2012, so I was looking forward to checking out the GEM Midtown for a three-day weekend in July. The Midtown is less expensive than either of the other two GEM hotels in Manhattan. I'm sure this reflects the location. Slogging there from Penn Station on a nearly 100-degree day, I didn't appreciate its distance from the relative civilization of 8th Avenue, beyond the chasm of part of the maze of roadways leading into and out of the Lincoln Tunnel, on a block that seems to be in no-man's-land. That distance, and the time it takes to cross that multi-lane chasm, put this GEM at a disadvantage. But during more normal weather, it wouldn't be an issue -- in a short time you're on Eighth with a virtually limitless choice of dining options -- and if you go the other way through the up-and-coming area of Hell's Kitchen, you get to the riverfront. The GEM provides a clean, comfortable, and quiet room and bath, with helpful staff, and that's really all you need when you're staying in Manhattan. The staff really went out of their way to help out in the heat - free bottled water in the room, and ice water with lemon in the lobby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCFlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Dear DC Flack,
Thank you for staying with us during your most recent stay. We are sorry that the roads leading into the tunnel were a bit confusing for you when you arrived at the hotel. We suggest to most of our guest that they either use 35th or 37th streets to 10ave then to 36th st to avoid those roads.
Next time you’re here with us please stop by our front desk and ask about some deals we have for free drinks and appetizers and certain restaurants. Again thanks for taking the time for your review, we look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Asst General Manager
James L

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights while attending a conference at Javits Center. It's handy for that -- very few other hotels anywhere nearby, but it is also near enough to restaurants, coffee shops etc. so you are not totally isolated. Staff were super helpful and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElLimerino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel was everything we needed. Yes, the rooms are small but we were there to see NYC not to hang in our room. Nicely decorated, modern room with a Kings size bed!

The hotel is outside of the tourist zone and thank god. We saw so much more by wandering around, and its a 10 min walk to the subway from The Gem.

Would stay here again in a heart beat. The staff were nice and always said Hi when we came and went.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheyenne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised with the overall accommodations at this hotel. Now granted there are not many extras or inclusions(no room service or onsite restaurant, fitness center, swimming pool or anything else) but you do receive a nicely decorated clean room with some friendly hotel staff in a generally safe area of the city. The room was a decent size considering it's still located in the middle of Manhattan. In the main area, there was a new Toshiba flat screen LCD television which provided a few basic channels. There was a also a nice desk with combination coffee maker and beside this was a wardrobe cabinet which contained a full sized iron plus a room safe with digital lock and some extra toilet tissue rolls in a lower drawer. The bed was always very well made with about 6 or 7 pillows including a decorative red accent one which was useful to prop yourself up at a comfortable angle to read, use a tablet or watch TV. In the bathroom, was a clean full bath with shower, the new rounded style shower rod to give you more room and a hairdryer mounted to the wall. There was also dispensers filled with both body wash and shampoo mounted inside the shower below the shower head at a reasonable height. All of these were upscale name brands including a small glycerine soap, lotion and mouth wash. There was also several glass tumblers and ceramic coffee mugs available along with the usual ice bucket below. There were several selections of Wolfgang Puck coffee and a natural loose leaf tea.

My particular room's view up on the eighth floor was nothing to be excited over and the lack of an in-room refrigerator or microwave was a bit disappointing. Also in our room the MP3 iHome clock radio and alarm was not functioning other than as a simple clock with the current date. To be fair I did not report this to the front desk or housekeeping since I was accustomed to use my Android smartphone for alarms and listening to my own music collection. I also was never able to make any calls from the room to outside numbers but always reached the front desk within 2 or 3 rings.

For the price and it's somewhat industrial location I would gladly recommend if you are looking to stay out of the major tourist sections but still be within a relatively good distance walking to almost anywhere including over to Times Square and many restaurants just a block or two away on 9th Avenue and 35th & 34th Streets. Keep in mind I did not drive and there is no parking available directly at this location so that could be a real problem for some.

Room Tip: The higher floors towards the rear(mine was Room # 804) are much quieter but you may be disappointed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jekking00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This was a nice, very small hotel. Given the location close to the Javitts center and Lincoln Tunnel, it was surprisingly quiet. The staff were helpful and kind. The rooms are small, as is the case with many hotels in NYC at this price. It was a good value.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank CheerfulTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hudson River Hotel
Hudson River Hotel
#390 of 470 in New York City
697 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#203 of 470 in New York City
826 reviews
Midtown
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Midtown West
Four Points by Sheraton Manhatta...
#283 of 470 in New York City
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#426 of 470 in New York City
827 reviews
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#230 of 470 in New York City
5,016 reviews
Midtown
Travel Inn Hotel New York
Travel Inn Hotel New York
#340 of 470 in New York City
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Business Hotel in New York City
#204 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $97 - $352 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Standing on 36th St. as the gateway to the vibrant and eclectic West Side, 36 Hudson Hotel is just steps away from a rich mosaic of culture, fine dining, shopping, and nightlife. Whether conducting business Midtown, exploring the rich urban cultural, taking in the exciting Chelsea art scene, or mining the boutiques in Soho for a hidden treasure, there's no better location to begin your journey. Midtown never fails to dazzle even the most seasoned tourist with its plethora of urban monuments - Rockefeller Center, Times Square and the Empire State Building to name a few. The sites to see go on and on and they're all so close to our Hudson Yards New York hotel. Bask in the wonder of it all. Catch a show. Experience world-class dining. Then retreat to your urban oasis - 36 Hudson Hotel New York where you'll getaway and rejuvenate in a chic, intimate setting perfect for couples. Enjoy stunning accommodations at our Manhattan boutique hotel, friendly service, and accessibility to all the top picks in dining, shopping, entertainment and more. Choose a vacation package from 36 Hudson Hotel when seeking Midtown Manhattan hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing