We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
36 Hudson Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$389
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$165
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$235
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$308
$203
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$283
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
170
251
120
25
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
251
120
25
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjavits centerpenn stationmidtown westlincoln tunnelnew yorktimes squarerooms are smallminute walkstay there againmadison square gardenbed was comfortableplace to sleeparound the cornerclean hotelconvenient locationnycseabus
Filter
Updating list...
370 - 375 of 612 reviews
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Excellent customer service, excellent housekeeping! We truly love this hotel and will only stay here when we come to NYC!!! It is in a great location, with close access to the Westside Highway and Times Square.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Marcia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Marcia M,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your recent trip to NYC. We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay. Your review and comments of the hotel allows us to gauge of level of service and commitment to each of our guest. We like to thank you as well for taking the time to post your review, please mention LGEMR on your return trip to NYC and the GEM.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Nice Hotel, with a fresh style.
The building is located in a good position, 5 minutes far from the closest subway station and about 15 minutes far from the Empire State Building.
Reasonable price for NY. Friendly staff.
I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank fabri984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear fabri984,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West during you recent trip to New York City.
We are excited that your stay was everything you hoped for when making your decision. The Gem is ideally located to everything you wanted in a NYC experience. In appreciation for posting your review, please mention LGEMR on your return trip.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

You wouldn't know when seeing the building (hotel) that they would have some of the nicest rooms, though they are a little small I have stayed in in NYC. The beds, we had 2 dbls, were comfortable. There was a nice flatscreen tv. The bathroom was wonderful and very modern. I would stay there again just for the bathroom. The front desk person was very helpful and let us store our bags upon check-out to do some more sightseeing until we were ready to leave the city. Thay also had free wi-fi! Our overall expierience was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hainesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear JEFF H ,
Thank you for choosing to stay at the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your most recent trip to New York City. We are thrilled that you had a fantastic time. In appreciation for taking the time to write and post your comments on Tripadvisor, please mention LGEMR during your next return trip.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I had a great stay at The Gem Midtown. All the staff members were very accommodating, full of information and fun. My family took over the hotel for a wedding over the weekend and we all had a fabulous time! Thank you!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Roxannemfg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Roxannemfg,
Thank you so much for staying at the GEM Hotel, we are excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. Congratulations to the Bride and Groom! We hope too have you all come back again. In appreciation for taking the time to post your lovely comments and review please mention LGEMR for your return trip. Thank you again.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

As a business traveler on a budget, I've become accustomed to the older, darker hotels of Manhattan. The GEM was a refreshing break from that with a decent sized room by NYC standards (still tiny anywhere else) that was clean. I unplugged the refrigerator because it was noisy and ironed my clothes on the bed b/c there was no ironing board. And big hint: don't wait until the last minute to ask how to turn on the shower. Overall, the hotel is newer, and smaller so the single elevator is there quickly (again, another pleasant feature). And the location is in great proximity to the Javits Convention Center and only several blocks from Penn Station. Definitely staying again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2013

Dear Jim V,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West. We are excited that the hotel meet your expectation. Your review and comments mean the world to us. We are going to take a look into the fridges and resolve the humming noise. Your review allows us to gauge our service and commitment we have for each of our guest. In appreciation please mention LGEMR during your next return trip.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews