We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Refreshingly updated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of 36 Hudson Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
36 Hudson Hotel
Ranked #323 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Refreshingly updated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

As a business traveler on a budget, I've become accustomed to the older, darker hotels of Manhattan. The GEM was a refreshing break from that with a decent sized room by NYC standards (still tiny anywhere else) that was clean. I unplugged the refrigerator because it was noisy and ironed my clothes on the bed b/c there was no ironing board. And big hint: don't wait until the last minute to ask how to turn on the shower. Overall, the hotel is newer, and smaller so the single elevator is there quickly (again, another pleasant feature). And the location is in great proximity to the Javits Convention Center and only several blocks from Penn Station. Definitely staying again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jim V,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West. We are excited that the hotel meet your expectation. Your review and comments mean the world to us. We are going to take a look into the fridges and resolve the humming noise. Your review allows us to gauge our service and commitment we have for each of our guest. In appreciation please mention LGEMR during your next return trip.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    221
    105
    19
    42
See reviews for
111
134
44
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Menomonee Falls, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed at this small hotel as we were exhibting at the Jacob Javits center for a trade show. It was convenient to walk to so we chose this location. I have to say I was overwhelmed with the smell of mustyness when I walked in the room and immediately opened the window to let some fresh air in. It was pretty bad--- when I went into the little bathroom- it was worse. I realized when I took my first shower that it was mainly the shower curtain that was causing the odor and there wasn't any way to get away from it. The beds were find- maid service did a nice job during my 5 day stay. I did have to wash all the clothing I brought with when I got home-even the things I did not wear as they had that odor on them...............other than that it was fine and the people at the front desk were very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Coronagirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Coronagirl8,
Thank you for choosing the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your trip to New York City. We excited that the hotel meet your expectation. I wanted to reassure you that the musty smell from the shower curtains are being addressed. We are also looking into adding a newer bathroom fan to exhaust the humid air. We hope that on your return visit that you will notice these changes and know that your VOICE matters to us. Please mention LGEMR on your return trip.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed at The Gem Midtown for 3 nights, I have been to NYC 10-12 times over the past 4 years and this was the smallest room yet but despite the size it worked. Storage is at a minimal, there is a tiny wardrobe available with two small drawers. The room was clean and the bathroom was a food size. My view consisted of the top of building next door and the sides of others, on the bright side...complete privacy! The location was within walking distance to TS and Chelsea area as well as the convention center if you are attending an event. My only caution is I would not recommend it for a single female if you will be out in the evening and don't want to take a cab every night. Heading in to midtown or TS, walk down a few streets or up a few as it is difficult to walk east on W 36.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruisedirector55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear flapenny,
Thank you for staying at the GEM Hotel Midtown West, we are delighted that you and your sister enjoyed your stay. The GEM is hidden away but when found is a jewel ideally located to everything but without the normal congestion of NYC to deal with. Highline Park, Hell's Kitchen and Chelsea all at your feet. Your review and comments mean a world to us and we thank you for taking the time to post them. Please mention LGEMR if you or your sister decided to return for another girls night on the town.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

My sister booked this hotel for a family girls' trip. We were close enough to walk to Times Square, Penn Station, Macy's, Empire State Building. Close to a major intersection which made it easy to grab a cab if needed. Nothing fancy, but met my two main requirements - clean and comfortable beds. Yes, the rooms are small, but most NYC hotel rooms are. This hotel also has those elusive (in NYC) twin double bed rooms. It was surprisingly quiet for the location. There are plenty of excellent restaurants within walking distance, the staff is friendly and knowledgeable. We found (most) staff members to be very helpful and accommodating - of course, it helps if you come across as appreciative. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flapenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

incredibly quite hotel very close to time square (5 min walking)
Low cost (I booked 6 months in advance) , closer to the date was no so cheap
Friendly stuff All was really ok for what we paid,
But very very small room and very loud heating system
vary limited coffee in the room (1 pack per day ...)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amk_ch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear amk_ch,
Thank you so much for having chosen the GEM Hotel Midtown West during your recent trip to NYC. We hope that your experience with us was everything you hoped. Your review and comments about your stay allows us to gauge our level of service commitment to all of our guest. In appreciation for taking the time to post your review, please mention LGEMR for your next return trip.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Two credit cards charged!!! We were lied too & our money was tied up on 2 different accounts. We tried to get this resolved however the GM was RUDE!!! and told us he would not give us a refund. We will NEVER stay at this Hotel Again and will tell all our friends about this Terrible experience!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank DaShAnWal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear DaShAnWal,
We want to apologies again and hope that you received our email regarding the resolution to your stay.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Great location when you need to go to Jacob Javit Center and a short walk to Macy's and Time square. Small room but clean. Would recommend for traveller going to a convention but not centrally located.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at 36 Hudson Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Julie F,
Were so delighted that you had a fantastic stay and hope that all of your expectation were met. The GEM Hotel is ideally located for many different travelers whether its for convention or just tourist attraction. Thank you for taking the time to post this review of your stay and hope that you will consider stay with us again in the future, please mention LGEMR.
Sincerely,
Lawrence Hou
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Quality Inn Midtown West
Quality Inn Midtown West
#336 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 629 reviews
Midtown
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
Magnuson Convention Center Hotel
#375 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 683 reviews
Midtown
Hudson Hotel New York
Hudson Hotel New York
#360 of 475 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 4,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Washington Jefferson Hotel
Washington Jefferson Hotel
#244 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Midtown
Comfort Inn Times Square South
Comfort Inn Times Square South
#251 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
Midtown
Seton Hotel
Seton Hotel
#190 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 36 Hudson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 36 Hudson Hotel

Property: 36 Hudson Hotel
Address: 449 W 36th St, 36th Street between 9th & 10th Avenues, New York City, NY 10018-6303 (Formerly The GEM Hotel Hudson Yards, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Hell's Kitchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#200 Business Hotel in New York City
#209 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — 36 Hudson Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
36 Hudson Hotel is located in the heart of Midtown Manhattan and perfect boutique hotel for business travellers and tourists. Many of New York's most popular attractions are within walking distance and you will explore memorable experiences in Time Square, Empire State Building, The Rockefeller Center, MOMA and Central Park etc. 36 Hudson Hotel is an perfect travel destination to make your journey enjoyable and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your 36 Hudson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gem Hotel-Midtown West Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing