We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great getaway weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #316 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great getaway weekend!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2011

From the moment we were greeted by the Doorman to check out, entire Staff was very friendly and helpful. Rooms clean and sleep program is excellent. Rooms a bit smaller then usual, but its New York. Breakfast Buffet, good quality and always kept replenished. It was nice the friendly servers kept coffee cups filled, unusual for a buffet.
Great Location! Will be my Hotel of choice for New York.
I didn't receive my cookie, but I won't stay away because of such a minor detail. And free Wi-Fi would always be welcome.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimyDavid_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    550
    743
    361
    156
    88
See reviews for
481
468
179
438
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2011

I stayed for 2 weeks whilst working in the city. The rooms, bathrooms, facilities and cleanliness are all what you would wish to have - top notch. The aspect that really differentiates this hotel is the helpful and friendly staff - priceless. Amazingly located for Penn Station, Madison Square Gardens etc.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VeeVee007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2011

This Doubletree has a very small, cramped reception which is awkward during winter when everyone has luggage and tons of coats, hats, gloves etc. The hallways are narrow and rooms small. Having said that, it was all we needed as we only use a hotel to sleep and shower. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We could not get hot water in one of our rooms. Staff worked hard to fix it and the manager apologized and gave us a gift which was very kind.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tradge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2011

Thank you Judy at the front desk for making arrangements to have room all ready for check -in early morning.
Doubletree was extreamly clean and the rooms were fairly larger than other Hilton properties around the area. All staff i can encouter with were extreamly helpful and courtious. Again, Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ohwell2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2011

If your familiar with the city just a little then you will appreciate this hotel. The hotel is clean, comfortable and the room is fine. High def TV and comfortable bed. The staff was good but the location is wonderful if you use the subways and buses. Right between 6th ave & 7th ave its ideal for buses, & a few short blocks to herald Square where the majority of the subways run. Theres also subways on 23rd st too . You can walk to Macys, Penn station, Herald Square, empire state etc You can move around fast from this spot. Great bargain( January) too ill definitely come back .

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeonRFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2011

The room was modern and clean, but I literally have a closet in my home larger than this room. My reservation was not correct (I'm a Gold VIP and requested a non-smoking room, they had me in a smoking room).

I called room service for dinner at 10:45 (room services "closes" at 11pm). They told me - in a demeaning tone - that the kitchen was already closed and then put me on perma-hold.

I would not stay here again at any price.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick97401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

Some hotels are a little shabby or past their best, but still manage to provide a 5* experience due to the efforts and attitude of their staff. Unfortunately the Doubletree Chelsea suffers the opposite problem. The hotel and rooms are recently refurbished to a high standard, but the attitude of staff make staying difficult and uncomfortable.

To start with the positives, the hotel is well located, just round the corner from Madison Square Gardens and Macy's. The rooms are a decent size, recently refurbished and clean, although I practically choked on air freshener when I first walked in. The 200 or so rooms are only served by two lifts, but the wait isn't too protracted. The staff are (for the most part) friendly and can handle most requests.

However it is the unprofessionalism and lack of forethought that make staying at this hotel a struggle. When we arrived, our room not ready, and reception couldn't even tell us when it would be. Not what you need after a transatlantic flight. The staff were unable to manage my reservation properly, because I'd booked two consecutive nights separately, and made me check in again all over again the next day. To exacerbate this, they didn't think to update our key cards, leaving us locked out of our room. Finally there was a very noisy, industrial-sized ice machine next to our room, which stopped my girlfriend from sleeping. She asked repeatedly for it to be turned off, which never happened, until I found a simple switch and did it myself.

In summary the staff can be friendly and the hotel is nice, but this is not a relaxing, carefree place to stay, because you have to do all the work yourself. If you’re going to stay somewhere in this price bracket, go to a hotel where they really look after you, you’re not short of options in NYC!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MitchLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#165 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,270 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#123 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#197 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing