We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful Service - Okay Room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #317 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed December 3, 2009

When these guys mess up they mess up big. They are not helpful for getting things fixed quickly and rely on you to figure it out yourself. They charged two of my credit cards for full price and wouldn't make any phone calls to get one of the transactions voided out. Last thing you want to have to deal with when traveling for business.

Building is older and elevators are terribly slow. This hotel is nothing special, expensive, and has terrible service. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelVermonter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,784 - 1,790 of 2,047 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2009

Stayed here for our 1yr anniversary. In comparison to other hotels in Manhattan (which are expensive!), it was relatively reasonable, though still expensive YET expected- Hey, its Manhattan! Located a few blocks from the subway, which made it perfect to travel anywhere! We even took the train from the airport, straight to our hotel (via the AirTrain).. A LOT faster and A TON cheaper than taking the cab- so this alone made it worth while!

Staff was helpful, but the hotel is TINY! Looks like they carved it out from a side of a building. Their lobby area is small, so it wasn't too much surprise that our queen bed room was equally as small. Literally, once we opened the door, the restroom was half a foot to the right, about 6-8 steps straight was the bed, and probably a foot and a half between the bed and the TV. The place is so small, they didn't even have room for a regular closet, so they had a separate wooden closet unit in the room. We made do, as we weren't there to stay in the room (even if we wanted to, it was way to small to do the "romantic lounging-in-the-room for a day)..but that made us get out. SO, overall, it was good for the location, clean and safe. BUT, if you're looking for an average size room, or a romantic ambience to your room, OR a place to comfortably lounge in during your stay, THIS IS NOT THE PLACE. But if you're going to be out and about, and just want a place to crash, or having a big room is not a big deal...then you'll be fine here.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MrsSanFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2009

I stayed at this Doubletree hotel several nights in early November, for a combination business / leisure trip. Overall, it was very modern, clean, comfortable and featured all new amenities & digital TV, etc. Our room was on a higher floor, had 2 (comfortable) double beds, was quiet, and had a gorgeous view of the Empire state building. Really nice! It's an easy walk to Macy's and all the shopping, the subway, and Penn station. (So, if you are attending a concert at MSG, it's a great location!) Breakfast was included with my room, and they have a lovely restaurant. Staff was great - incredibly friendly and helpful. Also, I did not experience a problem with the elevator, and from talking to the staff, I understand the weekends (or very busy days), there can be problems with it.......However, my main issue was the very, very tiny room. I have lived in NYC and often stay in the city, but this room was extremely small - even for one person. The bathroom was very tight. I had to keep my cosmetics in the bathtub because there was absolutely no room to keep anything in the bathroom. Believe it or not, there was barely space to keep a toothbrush on the sink, as the shelf around the sink was almost non-existent. The closet was extremely compact, and since I had a different event to attend each night, I could not keep all of my clothes in it. My recommendation? If you are one (maybe two) persons, and don't have a lot of clothes or bags, then you can deal with it. Otherwise, stay at a hotel with a larger sized rooms, like the doubletree in times square that features suites -- or at least try to get a hotel with slightly bigger rooms. I can only hope this hotel will renovate & merge two of their rooms into one. That might solve the size problem!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for one night in early November. The hotel is a very short walk to Penn Station which was very convenient. The hotel is located on a boring sidestreet. It is 5 blocks to Macys and other shops at Herald Square. I enjoyed the fact that it is a newer hotel, clean and was in good repair. Our room was one of the smallest that I have stayed in while in New York City. For a short stay it was fine. We never had to wait very long to use the elevators. Service was friendly. My Mom commented that the bed was one of the most comfortable that she had slept in. We had a room on a higher floor with a decent view. I would stay here again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank george00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2009

This hotel is great deal for the price and location. The rooms are clean, the staff is helpful and Chelsea is a fun area to stay in. The rooms weren't huge but that's a given in NYC. My only complaint were the elevators. They take FOREVER. We were on the 20 something floor and took the stairs a couple times because of the wait. Request a room on a lower floor to avoid that issue. Also, it's a newer hotel and if you take a taxi make sure your driver knows you're going to Chelsea and not Times Square.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLee3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2009

Stayed here for 4 nights in November. Was a bit wary after reading some negative reviews but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. 29th st is not much to look at but once inside the hotel you forget about that. The staff were really helpful and nothing was too much trouble for them. We had a room on the 21st floor with 2 double beds which were extremely comfortable with 4 pillows each, lovely. Bathroom small but spotless with nice fresh towels daily. Hotel is only a short walk to Macys and Times Square, so quite central really. We took a yellow cab to Ground Zero (about 8 dollars) then went shopping in Syms where my son bought a lovely leather coat for $149 which was a great bargain as they had the same one in Century 21. which is also nearby. for $390. Would return to this hotel again !

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2009

not the biggest or most luxurious but room was good sized, very clean and very comfortable brand new beds. staff was very pleasant and helpful. could use another elevator as there are only two that serve quite a number of floors. good location - close to macy's, empire state building, madison sq garden, city hall and 15 minute walk to times square. close to lots of good asian restaurants. really good value for money.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1freqtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#204 of 469 in New York City
2,055 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#184 of 469 in New York City
3,468 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#165 of 469 in New York City
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#316 of 469 in New York City
190 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#259 of 469 in New York City
2,044 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#111 of 469 in New York City
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Family Hotel in New York City
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#211 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $164 - $493 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing