We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Spectacular room for a great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #308 of 475 Hotels in New York City
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spectacular room for a great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

At first I had booked my stay at another local hotel, and arriving to my room at the end of two corridors from the shining, I come to find stains all over and a stale cigarette aroma in the air. With the view of the building opposite to us, the sun could never get close to lighting things up. The first thing I proceeded to do was hop onto TripAdvisor, as this felt just like their commercials. A quick booking for the following evening, and one uncomfortable night later, I was downstairs, checking out early. A quick trip to the DoubleTree Chelsea, and I knew I was in good hands. After taking my baggage for me for a few hours, I was able to check in and go truly unwind. After taking the elevator to the top floor and going into one of the two rooms for the whole floor, I was in paradise. 15foot ceilings, with windows to match, a fluffy king sized bed, two separate air conditioners, this was a palace for the price in NYC. I turned over for the grand finale and stepped out onto the massive deck, admiring the view of the Empire State and the GE, while it lasts, on the horizon. With the amenities I come to expect from a Hilton partner, I enjoyed every bit of my stay. The staff was excellent and the room was clean and well appointed. The only gripe I have is that my stay only lasted the one night. However, I can surely say, this is where I will stay the next time I'm in Manhattan. And all for $60 less than my previous room!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maxwell B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    653
    303
    131
    75
See reviews for
408
407
162
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The Hotel is situated in the heart of Manhattan.......The hotel property is excellent and service is beyond excellence. Well spread breakfast and rooms are very clean and smell nice. The Internet works well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Anshul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This hotel has over 25 floors. Why on earth does it only have 2 very small elevators? And no service elevator for the housekeeping staff for their huge carts? After a long day of travel to NYC, we waited for over 15 minutes after check-in for the elevator to our room on 23rd floor.

As for the room, it is comfortable and somewhat clean. No small refrigerator. Ask for a high floor...we could barely hear street noise.

The hotel is close to rapid transit and other conveniences, like popular coffee shops...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank RV1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I booked this hotel as it was advertised that the hotel was totally renovated in 2013. My three friends and I arrived to find stacks of garbage bags on the street just outside of the entry way. The lobby was very small and the furniture was filthy. The rooms were tiny (even by NY standards). The shower pull bar had rust running down the side of the shower. The carpet was stained and had trash on it from a previous visitor. We took the paper top off the glasses to find lip marks and smudge marks all over the glasses. While we were out touring the city we received a notice that the hot water was out and they were repairing it. That was the final straw. We checked out the next day and went to the Waldorf Astoria for the remainder of our visit. BTW, the price of the Waldorf was only slightly higher than this Doubletree, but it was an immaculate, wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Madlyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Madlyn D, we apologize for your experience while staying at our hotel and have reviewed the Housekeeping and Maintenence issues you had with our team. Since the beginning of 2013 our owners have invested more than $750,000 in the hotel to replace guest room carpet and wall vinyl; corridor carpet and wall vinyl, and artwork; window treatments; lobby furniture; and desk chairs and lamps. We want to make sure that this shows so we task our Housekeeping and Engineering departments to provide a high quality and on behalf of our entire team, we are sorry this was not the case during your stay. We hope you will give us a chance to show you the high quality of service most of our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

this is a very good hotel. Rooms were clean . The staff were the most pleasant people . They were always smiling and kind. I will always stay here when in NYC. The parking was close and very affordable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
187 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This location is great. Very close to the subway to get you wherever you want to go and within walking distance of Macy's, MSG, Empire State Bldg, and lots of other stuff. We love checking in to warm cookies and the water with fresh fruit in the lobby is nice. Our room was surprisingly roomy for NYC and had a king bed. The room was very nice, very clean, the bed was so comfy, and they had the AC going so the temperature was perfect. Front desk staff very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again. I also thought the rate was very reasonable and very competitive.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

The hotel is on one of the least interesting streets in NYC, perched on the far north side of Chelsea--closer to herald Square than Chelsea proper. Room was small--but this is NYC. Price was rational, wifi good-- easy walking up or downtown. The hotel bar is nondescript, but staff friendly and helpful. I was there for business with a couple of play days thrown in and it was fine for my purposes. Key feature--good price and clean room. Doesn't really stand out for anything other than the value.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#225 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#151 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,966 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#127 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#166 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,617 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Manhattan East
Hilton Manhattan East
#285 of 475 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 2,067 reviews
Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York ...
#150 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing