We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for the Price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Weatherly, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel for the Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

The rooms were very clean and roomy. The hotel is located very close to Madison Square Garden and the fashion district. The staff was able to make good recommendations for other restaurants and stores in the area to eat and shop in. Nice restaurant and bar downstairs and friendly staff!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Lisa B. we thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in NYC, and for taking the time to write such a positive review on TripAdvisor! It's great to know that you enjoyed the restaurant and bar, and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    731
    354
    152
    87
See reviews for
473
460
176
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. excellent location, staff and value.
staff 10/10
location 10/10
room 8/10 (on the small side - standard room)
bed comfort 10/10
restaurant/bar 7/10 (restricted hours)
overall value 10/10
I totally recommend this property, especially to younger trendy people who want to be going out in the chelsea or greenwich village area.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hero360travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
We think you are great, travelduesouth, for posting a 5 star review of our hotel. We appreciate your recommendation, and are happy you found us to be a good value with an excellent staff! That means the world to all of us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
225 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was our first time at this hotel, but we have stayed in the chelsea area every time we come to NYC. You can't beat the location or the price. You are a block away from the subway and a few blocks away from Time Square. The rooms are small, but as other people have mentioned you are not in NYC to hang in your room! Our room was clean and quiet. Beds were comfy and the bathroom for NYC standards was a step up from some of the other chain hotels in the area. The staff could not have been nicer. Breakfast is not included, but there is a coffee maker in your room and there is free coffee in the restaurant with to go cups. Plenty of places a block away for food. I used the small gym every morning and it was clean. My only complaint was that the TVs didn't work on the equipment and I even told someone. No big deal. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bikingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
bikingmom, we appreciate your 4 star review, your love of Chelsea, and the fact that you chose to stay with us! Thank you for your positive comments regarding our staff, gym and beds. We can't wait to welcome you back to the Big Apple!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

The room was very small we stayed in a king suite . We often stay in Double tree time square the price is not much more the rooms are very spacious and the room comes with refrigerator large bathroom.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Christy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Christy M., thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to NYC, and for being loyal to DoubleTree. We're sorry to hear that our suites were not all that you hoped. We do have them scheduled for renovations and upgrades this Summer. We hope you will try out Penthouse rooms with private balconies on your next visit. These include a refrigerator.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port of Spain, Port-of-Spain, Trinidad and Tobago
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for three nights. The location is great. The room/bathroom was very small but adequate. The business center is also very good and is opened all day. Staff was very friendly and helpful. I love that we were greeted with a warm cookie :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TriniGirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
TriniGirl01, thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in New York City, and for your 5 star review! We hope the warm cookie, and service helped to combat the winter cold, and are very happy to know that you had a good visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed 3 nights and booked through a third party. The location is good but the room was the smallest we have stayed in during our visits to NY. The bathroom also was tiny and there is no vanity space at all! The heater was so noisy that we had to turn it off and froze at night time. There are no additional quilts or blankets available in the room. The internet also is terrible. It cuts out and you cannot work due to the poor connection.
We found the staff pleasant but would be unlikely to recommend this hotel due to the room and bath size & internet.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lizbomben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Lizbomben, we apologize for the issues you had with heating and internet on your recent stay, and that the room size was not as you expected. We use your comments to make sure our future guests do not have the same issues, and will certainly address the heating and internet service. We hope you will give us another chance on your next visit to New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night for a romantic getaway. The hotel is on the very fringe of Chelsea but we found it's location very convenient to explore the up and coming neighborhood of NoMad. The room was comfortable and clean. Best part was warm cookies on check-in on a cold and wintery NYC day. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The elevators were a bit slow.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teradactyltravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, January 28, 2014
Thank you, teradactyltravels, for an entertaining screenname, and 4 star review of our hotel. We are honored that you chose to stay with us for your romantic, if freezing, getaway, and to know that you enjoyed the warm cookie on check-in, convenient location, clean rooms, and friendly, helpful staff. We hope to see you on your next special occasion in NYC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,934 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#323 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing