We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
Hotel Edison Times Square(New York City)
$184
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$389
$314
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$178
$134
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$165
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Crowne Plaza Times Square Manhattan(New York City)(Great Value!)
$235
$219
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Park Central Hotel New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$187
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness center
Millennium Broadway New York Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$354
$203
Official Site
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$283
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,184)
Filter reviews
2,184 results
Traveler rating
631
837
412
188
116
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
631
837
412
188
116
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspenn stationdouble treenew yorkwarm cookiesthe empire state buildingmadison square gardenrooms are smalltimes squarefront desk staffconvenient locationfew blocksnyc hotelshigh floortwo double bedsupon checkaround the cornerstreet noise
Filter
Updating list...
1,280 - 1,285 of 2,184 reviews
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Well what can I say from the moment we arrived the staff couldn't of done anything more for us they were outstanding and are a credit to the hotel...we were lucky enough to get upgraded to a penthouse suite and wow the room was gorgeous and really spacious. The bed was really comfortable as well, and to top it off the views from the balcony of empire state building were breathtaking.

After reading reviews before we arrived a lot was mentioned about how slow the lifts were...yes at busy times during the day you might have to wait or make a few stops on your way down but I would say top floor to bottom floor takes no more than a minute.

Finally the location situated on 29th st this is great central location for sightseeing from. As mentioned the Empire state building is only a short walk, as is Madison square garden, 5th Ave and Penn St subway station. Times Square and Rockefeller Center are about a 15 minute walk and Central park 30 minute and we found it nice to walk rather than take the subway especially as the weather was nice.

Would just like to thank Peter and his staff for a great stay we will never forget thank you.
We will definitely be back and would fully recommend to people.

Room Tip: Would fully recommend a view room to take in the views of the Empire state building.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steelersmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Steelersmith, thank you so much for your 5 star review, and your kind words regarding our location and especially, our staff! It is very much appreciated and we are very glad to know that you enjoyed our location and walking around NYC. It is a great city for walking and it sounds like you and your family took full advantage of that fact! We hope you will come back soon and enjoy the new carpet and wallpaper in all of our rooms, and upgraded internet access!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2013

Reserved this hotel as I needed a good location and for a fair price. NY hotels can be v expensive so $1200 for 4 nights was as much as I wanted to pay. Location was excellent. The foyer and hotel itself however were tired, cramped and pokey. The 2 lifts for the 28 floors were inadequate and we had to wait up to 15 minutes each time we needed the lift. Often hotel employees were using it for moving bedding towels etc. The hotel staff were v friendly and the nightly warm cookie was a nice touch. Wouldn't stay again but the location was excellent.

Room Tip: New York Double tree Chelsea hotel great location but size and quality of room let it down
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We thank you for staying with us, and are sorry that our hotel was not to your liking. The staff does appreciate knowing that you enjoyed the cookie, our friendly service and location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Great check in. Pleasant staff. Free cookies :-)
Room small but very clean and very comfortable.
Had view of the Empire State Building.
Good location - although (as a tourist) would probably stay at or closer to Times Square next visit.
No problems with this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikeyinmayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Mikeyinmayo, we are so glad that you enjoyed our clean and comfortable rooms, view of the Empire State Building, and had a great experience with our staff. We hope we can make your next stay an even better one!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I know that everything is NYC is way over priced...so I will not speak into that specifically...

The ROOMS are very small. There is no way to get a role away in a room with two doubles. Luggage for there barley fits in the room. The bathrooms are so small that you cannot put your toilet kit on the counter. Exhaust fan was weak and did not clear the bathroom of funk. The lobby is dinky too. Not a place of elegance, but adequately functional. On our arrival, the front desk was slow. On check-out, very quick and friendly.

UPSIDES :
It appeared to be clean and met my bedding/towel expectations of a Doubletree. The location was outstanding close to Penn Station AND 28th stations for 1,2 and N, R. Its a brisk walk from Time Square. Even though our room faced the street, it was very QUIET. I'd stay here again. Not plush...just good ole business hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are close to elevators, but that didn't seem to be a factor for noise.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahmiJoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

We are very happy to know that you would consider staying with us again, Tahmi Joh, and that you enjoyed the bedding, quietness and location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This hotel has poor internet service...other folks I know have told me that they had similar experience with not being able to get on internet at this hotel...Also the fitness center is in need of repair...tv's on the treadmills do not work...if that is the case post signs but fix the damn things if you want to be rated a 4 star hotel....service personnel are very nice but they work in a place that clearly is negligent about upkeep of key needs for business travelers

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank bbetten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

bbetten, we are sorry that we were unable to meet all of your needs as a traveler, and use comments such as yours to improve our services. We have addressed the issues you mentioned, and hope that you will allow our personnel to provide you friendly service again on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews