We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Mid-town Biz Trips”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #323 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Tampa, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for Mid-town Biz Trips”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

I go to NYC one week each month for work. I've tried a lot of different hotels, and this one is the best. It's quiet, safe, near a subway stop, close to my office, excellent room service, nice breakfast, gracious and helpful staff. I've never had less than a great experience here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Claire B, it is gratifying to know that you chose our hotel out of the many in New York City for your regular business trips. For us, this means we are doing our job in making you feel welcome, and that we are anticipating your needs! We are glad we get to welcome you back soon, and regularly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    758
    375
    160
    95
See reviews for
493
481
184
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary Alberta Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location,nice property and the staff were awesome. Close to attractions subway ect.I would recommend this property to all. Nice, clean beds were very comfy. There's lots of places to eat close by. i would for sure stay here again on my next visit to NY

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siljeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
We appreciate your TripAdvisor review of our hotel, and our staff thanks you very much for your awesome comments! We are always happy to know that guests appreciate the convenience of our location, and the comfort of our Sweet Dreams beds. There is so much to see in New York City, we hope we will see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua Kona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great location, customer service, everything I can think of but the rooms were a little small. Had a great experience here with my two daughters for a girls week in NYC. Felt very safe in this location and had a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Konagecko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Konagecko, it's a long trip from Kona, so we are happy to hear you and your daughters felt safe staying with us, and that you had a great experience! We hope another week in New York is in your future and that you will stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

The location is great on 29st near 6th ave. And the staff is great. Those are the only positive things I can say about this Double Tree hilton. The rooms are the size of a small box. The rug was stained. the elevators are tied up with hotels guests and service staff because there is no other service elevator. For $400 per night, there's many other NY hotels better to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor and Hilton. We appreciate your honest input and apologize the comfort of your stay was disrupted by our full house and the condition of your carpet. We are replacing all of the carpets and wallpaper in our guest rooms in January, as we are constantly striving to improve our product. We do our best to maintain the quality in the meantime, to ensure every guest feels valued and welcomed. We hope you will return to stay with us so we may better demonstrate our commitment to quality and to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

The wifi is spotty so its difficult to work in your room, the valet car service i found unreliable since they lost my car and had to search for over an hour to find it, the in-room amenities such as the irons are inconsistent and the time it takes to bring one to the room is too long. while the staff was friendly and said they would take care of things right away i never received any follow-up and had to call the corporate office to find relief after a few days. If you are on a schedule I suggest looking elsewhere at one of the other more business friendly hotels in NYC.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emo114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing this quick feedback on your recent stay with us via TripAdvisor. We appreciate your honest input and apologize for our missteps in service and amenities. We will use your comments to improve our guests' experience, and hope you will return to stay with us the next time you are in town so we may better demonstrate our commitment to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francestown, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I was looking for a reasonably priced hotel in the Chelsea area, and this hotel was a pleasant surprise. Very clean, nice rooms, great bar, and delicious breakfast. No complaints! I even had a view of the Empire State. Short walk to Penn Station, a great find.

Room Tip: Higher floors on North side have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hunterpm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
We are so happy to know that you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel during your stay with us, and that you enjoyed the view of the Empire State Building, our bar and our delicious DoubleTree breakfast! We hope to have more pleasant surprises for you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
242 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

When we arrived at the hotel, my impressions were coloured by some negative reviews on Tripadvisor, I was inclined to agree to an extent. The room was cramped to say the least and the general feeling was of a room in need of a refresh, especially the carpet which had seen better days, with various cigarette burns etc. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. All the facilities that you might expect within the room were there, but it was so cramped.
The Hotel is nothing if not buzzy, with constant comings and goings, it has a great many rooms in its 27 floors Approx 6-8 per floor I'd guess. It has a small footprint, so the public spaces are somewhat compromised. So that is the negative stuff. The thing that i've overlooked thus far is the human side. All the staff, that we came into contact with, without exception were most friendly, courteous, professional. We went from harbouring negative feelings to being totally bowled over by the staff. We spent 10 days here, the staff made it memorable.The beds were very comfy too! If I'm honest, I probably wouldn't go there again for ten days, I'd want a more commodious room and better public space, but were I passing through for a couple or so days, I'd be very happy to visit - because of the staff, it seems a happy ship.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paraffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Paraffle, we are very happy to know that our staff made the difference for you on your recent visit. We will be replacing the wall paper and carpets in all of our guest rooms in January, several floors at a time, so hope that you will return to see the improvements we have made. We are constantly improving our product and look to reviews like yours for ideas on what will make the most difference for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#216 of 468 in New York City
1,989 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#175 of 468 in New York City
3,346 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#120 of 468 in New York City
814 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 468 in New York City
1,846 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, HotelPower, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing