We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #323 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic location and service”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Sure, the rooms are small, but it's NYC. Every hotel of this kind has small rooms and small bathrooms. But at least the rooms are super clean and the hotel staff was awesome.

As a HH gold member, I'm used to be treated reasonably well by the hilton staff and this place was no exception. They had a fantastic breakfast (included for me), water and a cookie to welcome us and a wonderfully friendly staff - from the concierge, to the wait staff, front desk and bellman.

Here's an example - we went out to a Broadway show. Coming back to the hotel late (with a thirsty 9 year old), my child tried to get water out of dispenser and clumsily knocked it over -- thankfully it didn't break, but water was everywhere. Instead of getting angry or frustrated, the staff jumped into action, told her not to give it a second thought and found us a few bottles of water to take to our rooms instead (all the while while they cleaned up the mess).

2 blocks from Penn Station. Multiple subway lines within 2 blocks. We were traveling as a family, so we reserved a 1 BR suite, which was great. Gave us a little more space and privacy for the adults.

We will definitely stay here again next time we come to NYC.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JTW69OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you so much, JTW69OR, for being a Gold Member and for choosing to have your family stay with us on your recent visit to New York City. Our TEAM will be gratified to see your positive comments regarding our service, our clean rooms and our location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    563
    758
    375
    160
    95
See reviews for
493
481
184
453
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had a wonderful experience with this hotel for a 2 day and 1 night stay in NYC. The location was great - slightly out of the bustle and noise of times square, but very close to all attractions we wanted to see. Close distance for walking. The staff were friendly and very helpful! The ladies at the front desk immediately offered us complimentary breakfast for the following morning right at check in. The concierge was very helpful in choosing activities and recommending shows to see. The room was a little small, but clean and had everything we needed. At breakfast, the servers were efficient and were very accommodating with allergies and special considerations. Excellent location for getting to subway, bus and train services. The overall cost was a little pricey, but fair for a Saturday night in NYC. Nice for the staff to throw in the breakfast due to the price. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Our thanks to you, Samantha R, for your compliments on our staff and hotel. We are very glad to know that the ladies at our Front Desk and our Concierges were able to make your stay a great experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OC, California
Level Contributor
121 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here as a family of 4 for four nights in advance of setting up our daughter at NYU. Did a pre-paid reservation and paid about $1100 including taxes, so not bad for midtown NY in August.

Room was on the small side with two double beds providing about 18" on either side to the wall, and probably 24" between the beds and the desk. Not a problem for one person, little tight for two, but for four people with bags (including all the luggage with stuff for her dorm) we were cramped. Scuff marks on the ceiling suggest other people found the best place to store their luggage was on top of the armoire. Overall, though it was clean, well maintained and a great value. Staff were courteous and helpful.

The halls were also small with virtually no elevator lobby to speak of on the upper floors. There are about 10 rooms per floor and about 30 floors with two elevators so there are times you may have to wait awhile during peak times of the day.

The lobby is basic, but there is a patio out on 29th that has four tables with umbrellas and seating that make a nice place to wait or have a drink. We didn't try the restaurant.

Location was better than I expected. The (red) 1 line is one block over on 28th and 7th ave and you can get the (yellow) N, Q, R and (orange) B, D, F, M lines a few blocks north at 34th and 6th ave. You can walk as well, of course, but we tended to take the subway to most points north and south.

It is also a relatively short walk to the High Line which is over on 30th just past 10th Ave. Stop for lunch at Uncle Nick's at 29th and 8th ave on the way for some good Greek food.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor on the west side of the hotel overlooking 29th street should have a good vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiloTango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
KiloTango, congratulations to your daughter on her entry to NYU! Thank you for choosing to have your family stay with us while getting her settled. We are especially happy to know that you found your accommodations to be a good value, and our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to your next stay when you are visiting your daughter, and our best wishes to you and your family for a great school year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Enjoyed the warm cookies. Location was great, only 10 minute walk to Time Square. Employees were very friendly. Nice place to stay other than small room. We had 4 people in our room. The room was very tight for 4 people with no luggage storage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Donna T, many thanks to you for your review of our hotel. We are glad to know that you found our staff to be friendly, and the location to be great! We hope you will visit us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights in early July including July 4th. For the price we paid, this was a gem. Location was pretty good- 2 or 3 metro stations were close by and you could easily walk to Times Square and the Empire State. On he very hot and humid days, it was great to get back to the wonderfully cool air conditioning.

The rooms weren't the largest, but hey we're adequate for a family of 4, and if you are staying in your room all day in New York City then why are you there ??

Our kids enjoyed the free cookies that the reception staff gave out when ou asked. It would have been great o have a had a pool, but for the combination of comfort and value, you can't beat is place

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Mark H, we are so glad to know that you and your family enjoyed your July 4th visit, and were happy with the great location and value our hotel represents. We welcome you to enjoy future holidays at DoubleTree Chelsea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I had an issue before coming here and the staff handled it very well, and was very helpful. Also the room was very nice, and a very nice value for the price. Super nice, in a good location, very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank 3ebfan511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Our TEAM will be ecstatic to know that we were able to address any concerns you had prior to your arrival so that you could relax and enjoy your visit to New York City! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My(3) daughters and I were seeking to maximize our 3 day stay in Manhattan by selecting a safe and comfortable hotel for resting after all day sightseeing. The Doubletree was the perfect choice. Walking distance to many attractions and subways. Check in and check out was a breeze. The elevator situation mentioned in other reviews as a problem, were not. Yes, the rooms were a bit small especially for more than two adult people but sufficient enough for sleeping and getting dressed and ready for our activities. Because my daughter works for the Hilton brand, she did note that the cookies weren't warm and some bed pillows were missing. I was not that impressed with the high floor Empire State view room 20thflr. Best views was from top of the rock. I did ask the bartender Sean (the most helpful and friendliest)about the small amount of patrons in the hotel and he stated that business usually picks up a lot more in September, that we had good timing for our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank zannchls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you and your daughters had a great vacation while staying with us, zannchis, and that you found the elevator service to be adequate. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#216 of 468 in New York City
1,989 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#181 of 468 in New York City
3,346 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 468 in New York City
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#118 of 468 in New York City
815 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#157 of 468 in New York City
1,848 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#83 of 468 in New York City
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#200 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, HotelPower, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing