We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Lebanon, United States
1 review
“Great Deal!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for a weekend and was able to get to everything we needed in a minimal amount of time. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. We felt like we definitely got our money's worth. The concierge was helpful and there was always a bellman available to help with the luggage. Many great restaurants within walking distance and only a few blocks from the grayline bus pick up which I highly recommend also.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Darryl N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Darryl N, please accept our appreciation to you for writing such a positive review on TripAdvisor. Our hard working staff is very happy to know that you enjoyed the clean, comfortable room, and Bell and Concierge service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    768
    380
    164
    96
See reviews for
514
494
186
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
durham, nc
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Well, do you want to stay in walking distance of the Empire State building? In a great place that totally understand customer service? This is your place, at a reasonable price, with plenty of great places to eat around. I stayed there twice, the lobby is odd, I give this to you, but the staff makes the difference, throughout your stay: helpful, friendly, personable and know how to make a wrong into a right. During my first stay my room wasn't ready by check in time (3 PM), so we got free breakfast for 4 days, free drink at the bar for 4 days and appetizers for 2 to wait. Next time... unannounced, free fresh fruits in the room. Dinner at the restaurant in unimaginative and expensive, but just ask the staff and they will direct you to jewels in the neighborhood. North of Chelsea and not too far from everything by foot or through the subway.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herve_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to New York City, Herve_8, and for writing about your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad we could make a wrong into a right so that you could enjoy your stay! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2013

This hotel is located in a wonderful part of NYC and close to everything. We never had to get a taxi the entire time we were there. The staff is great, the hotel is very nice, and the rooms were bigger than most in NYC.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Charlee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Charlie H, thank you so much for your great review and positive comments. We love hearing that guests enjoy our location, and while a taxi ride in New York City is unlike a taxi ride any where else, we are happy to know that you did not need a cab to navigate the city while you stayed with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Despite my antipathy for Hilton properties, this hotel was a good choice for several days of calls in Manhattan. Room was small, but clean and in good order. Desk was efficient, bell staff diligent and on the ball. Restaurant was small, but adequate. Breakfast buffet better than most at such hotels. Room could be noisy from street noise and neighbors, so take your earplugs.

Room Tip: I suspect that rooms that do not overlook the street are quieter. NYC is a noisy place, nearly aroun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you so much for giving Hiltons, and particularly our property, a chance on your visit to New York City. We are so happy you chose us, and that we were able to provide a great base for you to work from in the city. We will make sure our Bell Staff knows that you appreciated their diligence, and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I paid extra for four people to stay in our room. We were always having to ask for more towels. Also, we never had coffee filters replinished in our room. Had to go to cafe each and every morning to get some and they still charged me. My granddaughter accidentally spilled coffee on the sheets and it was very noticeable but the sheets were never changed. I was told that since I was a gold member they were going to give me 5000 points for my trouble but to date that has not happened.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank cjeffers32017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Please accept our apologies on behalf of the entire team for us not meeting your expectations. We will share your comments with our Housekeeping staff and work to make sure that this does not happen again. If you would like to share specific information on what happened, please contact me directly at the hotel. Also know that points, once credited to the account, typically take 7 to 10 business days to be reflected in the balance. We hope you will give us another chance to show you the excellent service we typically provide and to prove to you that this is not indicative of the quality service we provide on a daily basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I looked for the right hotel for a long time, because i didn't have a big budget(barely had a small one), but wanted our first trip to NYC with our kids to be perfect. we're home now and all i can think about is how perfect our trip turned out. in no small part to this hotel. the rooms are NYC sized, but didn't feel too cramped. everything in the hotel was clean and in great shape. above all the service was incredible. every single employee was helpful and went out of their way to make our stay great. of course, we were in NYC and didn't spend a lot of time in our room, but it truly was one of the best hotel experiences i've ever had.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garp1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words and we are so glad to know that we could help to make your visit to New York City with your kids a perfect one! We also appreciate that you found the hotel to be clean and in good shape! We hope to see you and your family again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We booked this hotel mainly based on location and price. The hotel is a short walk from Penn Station and is a good central location for walking around to some of the main attractions. We walked to the Empire State building as well as Times Square. The rooms are on the small side but I didn't go to NYC to sit in a hotel room. The hotel is clean and the staff were very friendly. The biggest issue with this hotel is the small elevators that you may have to wait a long time for during morning and afternoon peak times. We were on the 4th floor, so I walked it a few times. Overall, this is a nice hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on the lower floors so you can walk down the stairs instead of waiting for the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you so much, crutch222, for taking time to review our hotel after your visit. Our entire team will be happy to know that you found them to be very friendly, and that you enjoyed the location!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#209 of 467 in New York City
2,021 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#178 of 467 in New York City
3,403 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
842 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#58 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing