We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #316 of 467 Hotels in New York City
League City, United States
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We used this hotel during a recent vacation stay. The entire hotel staff was very courteous and helpful in every way. We even received some great restaurant recommendations. Only criticism if I had one, would be that the rooms are small. But for the price and the area we stayed at, I would definitely use them again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Victor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Victor R, please know that our entire staff appreciates your positive comments and we look forward to our next opportunity to be helpful to you and your family. We hope it is soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,928 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    750
    368
    159
    91
See reviews for
483
477
182
448
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2013

the hotel is convenient to the New York subway and Penn station. Great restaurants and shopping is within walking distance of 20 minutes. the staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are small but clean and modern,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank John K W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you, John K W, for choosing our hotel for your recent visit to the city. We are very glad to know that you found our location to be convenient, and our Housekeeping staff will be happy to know you appreciated the cleanliness of your room! We hope your next visit to our hotel is very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Location, Location, Location. This Hotel has a very good location in Manhattan, we had a view from our window of the Empire State Building. The room was a little bit small but it had very good furniture and amenities. The restaurant was ok for a quick breakfast. The lobby is small, but the terrace outside of the lobby is very pleasant and nice

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Albert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Albert A, we were very glad to know that you enjoyed the location of the hotel, and the patio in front of the hotel! We hope that means that we will see you and your family on your next visit to the Big Apple.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel appears to be relatively new & in good condition. I had a high-floor room which allowed a view of more than the buildings across the street. Furnishings were comfortable & in good condition - my only real complaint was with the attentiveness of Housekeeping & the Front Desk Staff. I discovered a half-eaten cookie (not mine) under the desk in the AM after my first night, and unfortunately it took my bringing it to the attention of the Front Desk Staff a second time that evening to get it removed & the room 're-cleaned.' The Breakfast in the restaurant was fine - typical for DoubleTree - But the restaurant staff were very helpful. (I had to organize an impromptu meeting with six work colleagues & they were nice enough to block off some tables while I was waiting for them to arrive. I'd call this above-and-beyond at this price-point in NYC.)

Room Tip: Views from high-floor rooms are (as you would expect) much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-Period
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
J-Period, thank you so much for your review of our hotel, and we are very glad to know that our Restaurant Staff went above and beyond for you! We will make sure the Front Desk and Housekeeping Managers are made aware of the issues you encountered, as this is not typical of the service we offer. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I left my coat at this hotel and was told that they'll hold on to it..and now theres no recollection of the coat. According to Max (the person I initially spoke to regarding my coat and the same person who agreed to hold my coat til I returnes back for it) he has no recollection of the coat nor the conversation. I spoke to Ashley the general Manager, and said she will call me back once it was found but never received a call from her. Spoke to the Hotel Guest specialist Harold Wright, his response was; "Hilton Double tree assumes no responsibility for lost items" I stayed there for 2 weeks and the company Im employed by has a cooperate account with them. I will definitely let them know the kind of people they're dealing with and for those who decide to stay there please make sure you check your room before checking out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration this incident has caused you. We understand your confusion and regret the mismanagement of the situation. If we may be of any additional assistance or if you would like to discuss your experience further, please do not hesitate to contact our offices directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

It has been a very long time since I've stayed in New York and forgot how small the rooms are. We were put in a King Room. I don't know if it was an optical illusion because of the size of the rom but the bed looked more like a Queen. The design for this room left something to be desired. There was very little room to maneuver around the bed and because there was no rack for us to put our roll away bag on we had to put it on the floor. Consequently we had to watch that we didn’t trip over it. The bathroom was also small but the room all in all was very clean.
We did have a view of the Empire State Building but it was a little disappointing because it was partially obscured by another building.
The breakfast was excellent and in addition to the buffet we were given the opportunity to have pancakes and omelets prepared and brought to our table.
The hotel staff was extremely courteous and knowledgeable giving us tips on how to get around town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TOrt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
TOrt00, thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at DoubleTree NYC Chelsea. We're glad to know that the staff were helpful with advice on local attractions and things to do, and that you enjoyed our breakfast! We are sorry to hear that the rooms were not quite as you expected, especially the view, and size of the room, but hope that we will see you on a future visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Comparisons are inevitable since we stayed at the similarly-priced Element New York Times Square just two days earlier: The rooms at the Doubletree are definitely smaller and not as well thought-out: there was no additional rack for my suitcase, and no extra desk area, so it had to go on the floor. I don't mind small rooms, but there still should be space somewhere for a small carry-on.

The most annoying problem was the thermostat, which let the room get 2-3 degrees above and below the set point before turning on or off. The temperature therefore alternated between excessively hot or cold during the night.

At one point we discovered that the TV remote was missing; we didn't bother asking for one since it was so late.

However, the breakfast is excellent and in addition to the excellent buffet we were given the opportunity to have anything we wanted prepared and brought to our table. Happily this was no comparison to the noisy, mobbed "grab-and-go" free-for-all at the Element.

The hotel staff was extremely courteous and treated us like we had Platinum status even though we don't.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a larger room if possible. The basic rooms are really too small to be comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG08054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for sharing your experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that we use these comments to improve our product and have identified new luggage stands that are scaled for our rooms so that we can work on implementing them. While our hotel is not set up as a long term stay hotel, such as the Element, we want to do our best to make any of our guests comfortable whether they are staying for 1 night or for many. We are glad to know that you knew that our TEAM valued you, and hope you will allow us to welcome you back to New York City on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,970 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#168 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,312 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#78 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#153 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#119 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#196 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#197 Family Hotel in New York City
#216 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing