We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be prepared for the small rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #311 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Be prepared for the small rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

It has been a very long time since I've stayed in New York and forgot how small the rooms are. We were put in a King Room. I don't know if it was an optical illusion because of the size of the rom but the bed looked more like a Queen. The design for this room left something to be desired. There was very little room to maneuver around the bed and because there was no rack for us to put our roll away bag on we had to put it on the floor. Consequently we had to watch that we didn’t trip over it. The bathroom was also small but the room all in all was very clean.
We did have a view of the Empire State Building but it was a little disappointing because it was partially obscured by another building.
The breakfast was excellent and in addition to the buffet we were given the opportunity to have pancakes and omelets prepared and brought to our table.
The hotel staff was extremely courteous and knowledgeable giving us tips on how to get around town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TOrt00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
TOrt00, thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at DoubleTree NYC Chelsea. We're glad to know that the staff were helpful with advice on local attractions and things to do, and that you enjoyed our breakfast! We are sorry to hear that the rooms were not quite as you expected, especially the view, and size of the room, but hope that we will see you on a future visit to New York City!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,869 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    731
    354
    152
    87
See reviews for
473
460
176
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Comparisons are inevitable since we stayed at the similarly-priced Element New York Times Square just two days earlier: The rooms at the Doubletree are definitely smaller and not as well thought-out: there was no additional rack for my suitcase, and no extra desk area, so it had to go on the floor. I don't mind small rooms, but there still should be space somewhere for a small carry-on.

The most annoying problem was the thermostat, which let the room get 2-3 degrees above and below the set point before turning on or off. The temperature therefore alternated between excessively hot or cold during the night.

At one point we discovered that the TV remote was missing; we didn't bother asking for one since it was so late.

However, the breakfast is excellent and in addition to the excellent buffet we were given the opportunity to have anything we wanted prepared and brought to our table. Happily this was no comparison to the noisy, mobbed "grab-and-go" free-for-all at the Element.

The hotel staff was extremely courteous and treated us like we had Platinum status even though we don't.

Room Tip: Consider upgrading to a larger room if possible. The basic rooms are really too small to be comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG08054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your review, and for sharing your experience during your recent stay at our hotel. Please know that we use these comments to improve our product and have identified new luggage stands that are scaled for our rooms so that we can work on implementing them. While our hotel is not set up as a long term stay hotel, such as the Element, we want to do our best to make any of our guests comfortable whether they are staying for 1 night or for many. We are glad to know that you knew that our TEAM valued you, and hope you will allow us to welcome you back to New York City on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bora Bora, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The staff at this hotel is remarkable. Every person that we came in contact with went out of their way to make sure that our stay was as pleasant and comfortable as possible. Especially Liz, Max, and Sean. I notified the hotel a few weeks before our arrival that we were coming to celebrate my daughters birthday. I never expected the surprise or the treatment that we received. We were blown away to discover balloons, a fruit platter, dessert, an ice cream sundae coupon, and the other goodies left in our room at arrival. Liz and Max decorated the room with birthday decorations and other items. My daughter was even the Hotel Guest of the Day. She was treated like a Birthday Princess by all that she came in contact with at the DoubleTree. On top of everything that was done for my daughter, when the front desk clerk (can't remember his name) realized that we had another child, he presented her with a sundae certificate as well. We were in total shock. To say I was please is an understatement.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much, Stefanie G, for posting your review on TripAdvisor, and for recognizing our staff. I'm so glad to know they were able to make your daughter's birthday a special one! Please know that we will make sure each of the employees mentioned are recognized for their outstanding service!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The room was a fair size and clean. The maid came daily and could not be faulted. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful and the door staff were great too. Location is good and within easy walking distance of Times Square, Empire State, grand central terminal. We also walked to Central Park which wasn't far. There's a great sushi place one block over on W28th which was friendly and cheap. Only issue during our stay was that the wifi was unreliable on the 9th floor and kept going off which was frustrating when trying to download maps but no big deal really. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Paul J, thank you for staying with us, and for taking time to write a review on TripAdvisor! We are sorry to hear about the issues you had with our WiFi on the 9th floor and will address them. We will let the Front Desk and Bell staff know you commend them, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Chelsea!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Head, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Rooms are a bit small, but I don't think they were any smaller than most New York hotels. I only mentioned this because another reviewer mentioned it, but it wasn't a negative for me. The DoubleTree hotel was very clean and the customer service was outstanding. This is the second year in a row my family stayed at this location for the Macy's 4th of July fireworks which was walking distance from the hotel. The condition of the room and furniture was more than acceptable. There are plenty of places to outside of the hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant if you don't want to venture out. I would definitely recommend this hotel and we plan on making it three in a row next year.

Room Tip: Experience New York City as New Yorkers...take the subway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Donte T, thank you for responding to our guest survey and reporting on your positive experience to TripAdvisor, also! We hope to see you before the next 4th of July, and look forward to celebrating your third anniversary of Independence Days with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I had very few complaints, other than the fact that no one helped me with my luggage besides other guests who felt bad that I had to carry 3 45lb suitcases by myself (I needed the hotel for one night because I was moving to NY). Otherwise, no complaints--clean and in a good location. Quiet and clean rooms, just what I needed for a night. Plus the cookies are always a nice touch!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brooke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Brooke S, thank you for your review of our hotel and congratulations on your move to New York City! Please allow me to apologize on behalf of our crew for not helping with your luggage, and to thank you for being so understanding. We are very happy to know that otherwise we provided just what you needed, and that you enjoyed the cookie! Please come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The rooms were small and there wasn't really a view, but location and comfort more than made up for this. The staff was great and very accommodating. It was convenient for everything we were there to see and do, so getting around was no problem. You should be very comfortable here.

Room Tip: Just ask for a room with a view... I am sure if they can, they will accommodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Lisa O, we are so glad you stayed with us on your recent visit, and thank you very much for writing a TripAdvisor review. We do our best to be accommodating for all of our guests and are so happy to know you found this to be the case! We look forward to welcoming you back to Manhattan in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#216 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,933 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#159 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#322 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#192 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing