We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value, Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Crete, Nebraska
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Value, Great Location”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree for four nights. It was our first trip to NYC and we weren't sure where to stay. In the end, this was great. Close to several metro stops, within a mile or two of Times Square and Central Park. We even had a great view of the Empire State Bldg, to boot! The room was small but not smaller than you'd expect for a mid-level price hotel in the city. Overall, new/newer hotel, very nice staff, clean rooms. A good value for the money in NYC.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JARaz76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
JARaz76, our team is very happy to know that you found our hotel to be a great value, and the staff to be nice. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    768
    380
    164
    96
See reviews for
514
494
186
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Very small room that wasn't clean to the standard of a claimed 4-Star property. Expensive for what was received. I won't stay here again. Lousy, small, non-existent amenities. I've experienced this sort of let down from Doubletree Hotels the last year or so. There is a missing attention to detail virtually everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edwardaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
We are sorry that we were unable to deliver the attention to detail you expected on your recent visit to our hotel. We do endeavor to attend to every detail possible, and our team does not want to let one guest down. We will certainly work that much harder to improve and consistently deliver our usually high level of service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed at the Doubletree for one night and it was delightful! I travel to NYC as often as I can I'm probably there about every 6 to 8 weeks and I go for fun because Boston to me is sooooooo boring and I am a native Bostonian. Anyway Marina at the front desk was delightful and very professional. My room was great. My only complaint was the morons that stayed near me that were in and out of their rooms all night and the slowness of the elevators because of the size of the hotel - it's on the narrow side but honestly it was fine because I tend to spend the majority of my time in NYC exploring all of the FUN and INTERESTING things the city offers!! I would stay at this hotel again because the staff, room and location were all fine with me! See you all soon again!! The hotel is a hiiden gem! Also you can park across the street at the LAZ parking garage for only $22 for a 24 hour period - a BARGAIN in NYC!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan_luongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Susan, thank you for your fantastic review, and we are so glad you enjoy exploring our fair city! We look forward to seeing you on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

For the $350 per night price tag...you'd expect a bit more. First the rooms (or at least the 4 rooms that myself and my guests stayed in) all have loud AC/Heating units...meaning in the winter you either freeze or don't sleep because of the loud buzzing of Heater Unit (its loud btw....i know what these should sound like and these are not it!)....and in the summer you either melt or don't sleep because the AC is keeping you up.

Second, breakfast service is terrible....the 3 times I was there, I was in a hurry and waited 20 minutes at the table for a server to come. This is a business hotel, you'd think they'd realize at 8 AM on a Wed...people are in a rush.

Positives...rooms are clean, lobby is nice and you get cookies at check in. Nice touch.

Net Net...not worth the $350 a night. The Ace Hotel down the street is much better and you get much more for your dollar.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klodge76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
klodge, thank you for taking time to review our hotel, and for mentioning that you like our lobby, clean rooms, and welcome cookies. Please know that we take your concerns regarding our breakfast service very seriously. We like to provide a high level of service, especially for the most important meal of the day! These comments are reviewed by our leadership team so that we can improve our service, and take better care of our guests. We will also do what we can to address the noise level of our heating and cooling units in the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at the Doubletree in New York City. The service was great and the staff was helpful. It is centrally located in the city so we could go to Korea town to Macy's to Central Park and to various spots in the city. Considering the high prices in the city, it was within our budget to stay here=thank goodness. We could park our car across the street and we got a discount through the hotel.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, if you have a car when you're in the city, this is a good deal because one gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
joanko, we can't thank you enough for staying with us on your recent but brief visit to the city, and for your kind words. We hope that you will return soon, and we are working on Parking Packages to make driving to stay with us an even better deal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Complimentary cookie served upon arrival from the helpful and friendly reception staff. Very clean rooms and public areas, cleaned everyday to a high standard. Rooms were slightly small, but that is to be expected in NY. Breakfast was very good quality and served promptly. There was a member of staff available to assist in activities such as booking tickets to a Broadway show to booking a taxi. The location was impressive, just a short walk from Times Square and close to many restaurants and shops. Overall our stay here was great and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor will give a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaD201096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
We thank you so much, EmmaD, for such a great review, and thank you for staying with us! Our team enjoys knowing that their hard work is appreciated, and that you enjoyed our great location. We hope that you will be back to visit DoubleTree Chelsea, and the Big Apple, in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

mostly selected this hotel for location but that's about what i got. no real service minded staff works here. didn't get enough service as an Hhonors gold member. very very small rooms for doubletree hotels don't want to visit this hotel again. i would pay several more dollars to get a better room/hotel at good location

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Hanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Please accept our apologies on behalf of our entire team for the service you received on your recent stay with us. We try to make sure all of our guests know that we appreciate the fact that they have chosen our hotel out of the many available in New York City, and we especially try to recognize our HHonors members. I am so sorry you did not feel recognized, and that your experience was not what you would have expected. Please contact me at the hotel if there is anything we can do to make it up to you, and make it possible for you to give us another chance to show you the service we typically provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#209 of 467 in New York City
2,021 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#178 of 467 in New York City
3,403 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
842 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#58 of 467 in New York City
843 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing