We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #321 of 473 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed April 10, 2013

For the $350 per night price tag...you'd expect a bit more. First the rooms (or at least the 4 rooms that myself and my guests stayed in) all have loud AC/Heating units...meaning in the winter you either freeze or don't sleep because of the loud buzzing of Heater Unit (its loud btw....i know what these should sound like and these are not it!)....and in the summer you either melt or don't sleep because the AC is keeping you up.

Second, breakfast service is terrible....the 3 times I was there, I was in a hurry and waited 20 minutes at the table for a server to come. This is a business hotel, you'd think they'd realize at 8 AM on a Wed...people are in a rush.

Positives...rooms are clean, lobby is nice and you get cookies at check in. Nice touch.

Net Net...not worth the $350 a night. The Ace Hotel down the street is much better and you get much more for your dollar.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank klodge76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

klodge, thank you for taking time to review our hotel, and for mentioning that you like our lobby, clean rooms, and welcome cookies. Please know that we take your concerns regarding our breakfast service very seriously. We like to provide a high level of service, especially for the most important meal of the day! These comments are reviewed by our leadership team so that we can improve our service, and take better care of our guests. We will also do what we can to address the noise level of our heating and cooling units in the rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,139)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,448 - 1,454 of 2,139 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at the Doubletree in New York City. The service was great and the staff was helpful. It is centrally located in the city so we could go to Korea town to Macy's to Central Park and to various spots in the city. Considering the high prices in the city, it was within our budget to stay here=thank goodness. We could park our car across the street and we got a discount through the hotel.

Room Tip: As I mentioned, if you have a car when you're in the city, this is a good deal because one gets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

joanko, we can't thank you enough for staying with us on your recent but brief visit to the city, and for your kind words. We hope that you will return soon, and we are working on Parking Packages to make driving to stay with us an even better deal!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Complimentary cookie served upon arrival from the helpful and friendly reception staff. Very clean rooms and public areas, cleaned everyday to a high standard. Rooms were slightly small, but that is to be expected in NY. Breakfast was very good quality and served promptly. There was a member of staff available to assist in activities such as booking tickets to a Broadway show to booking a taxi. The location was impressive, just a short walk from Times Square and close to many restaurants and shops. Overall our stay here was great and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: A room on a high floor will give a great view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaD201096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

We thank you so much, EmmaD, for such a great review, and thank you for staying with us! Our team enjoys knowing that their hard work is appreciated, and that you enjoyed our great location. We hope that you will be back to visit DoubleTree Chelsea, and the Big Apple, in the very near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

mostly selected this hotel for location but that's about what i got. no real service minded staff works here. didn't get enough service as an Hhonors gold member. very very small rooms for doubletree hotels don't want to visit this hotel again. i would pay several more dollars to get a better room/hotel at good location

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank Hanna Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Please accept our apologies on behalf of our entire team for the service you received on your recent stay with us. We try to make sure all of our guests know that we appreciate the fact that they have chosen our hotel out of the many available in New York City, and we especially try to recognize our HHonors members. I am so sorry you did not feel recognized, and that your experience was not what you would have expected. Please contact me at the hotel if there is anything we can do to make it up to you, and make it possible for you to give us another chance to show you the service we typically provide to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed here in late March. Excellent location, especially if you already know the city and don't want to be in Times Square. Rooms are small but no moreso than other NYC stays. Excellent service and reasonable pricing. Of course the chocolate chip cookies and they best!

Room Tip: I asked for a room on high floor. It seemed to be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

ccza, please accept our gratitude for your favorable review. Excellent service is what we strive for, so we are very happy to know we met that standard, and look forward to greeting you with one of our warm, signature chocolate chip cookies again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Location was excellent for our needs; staff was attentive and pleasant. Like many Manhattan hotels, this one had narrow hallways, slow elevators. Breakfast was decent (although I prefer a local coffee shop). Can't complain too much for the price at this location.

Room Tip: South facing room offered a lovely view of downtown. Basically very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Susan K, thank you for your favorable review, and for finding our staff to be attentive and pleasant, and our location to be excellent! We hope the next time you are visiting from Maryland, you will call our hotel your home away from home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This is a 2 or 3-star hotel. I stay in Manhattan often and this is one of the most poor hotels I've stayed in. The rooms are tiny and so are the elevators. It took my wife and I at least 15 minutes to get an elevator up to our room after checking in. The bathrooms are more like closets.

In addition, we returned to our room at night after dinner and our entire floor reeked of marijuana. It still smelled in the morning.

Stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mstein_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you had during your recent stay with us. We are sorry for the delayed elevator service and the unpleasant smell you encountered. We hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort should you return to the city in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#211 of 473 in New York City
2,135 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#190 of 473 in New York City
3,569 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th Avenue - Chelsea
Holiday Inn NYC - Manhattan 6th ...
#335 of 473 in New York City
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hotel Hayden
Hotel Hayden
#282 of 473 in New York City
241 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#144 of 473 in New York City
1,996 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#50 of 473 in New York City
972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#199 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#210 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $127 - $382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing