We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location in midtown” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #314 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great location in midtown”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

For NY, the room is decent in size and you can't beat the access to Penn Station. The staff has been extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet is substantial and of good quality. Our room is clean and the location provides a fairly quiet night for sleeping.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
blbrandt, thank you for your review. We share these comments with our staff and they will appreciate knowing that you found our service to be friendly and helpful, and that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    731
    354
    151
    87
See reviews for
472
460
176
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent a long weekend in New York recently at this hotel, well situated for folks who appreciate Chelsea. Rooms are small, corridors narrow and elevators are slow (very slow). That said, the beds are comfortable, wifi works and the place is quiet. After all, when you are visiting the city, how much time do you spend in your room? Watch for cost changes on your bill. The same room was charges at three different prices...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank japple2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
japple2, we're glad you enjoyed the wifi, our location and comfortable beds! I'm sorry to hear about the problem with your room bill. Please contact me at the hotel if this has not been worked out for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Once in awhile you stay at a hotel that you swear, they weren't expecting guests when they opened their doors. From the checkin desk to the room, it was like they were surprised anyone showed up. This is one of those places. I'm staying on the penthouse, room 2701. The first thing, they can do nothing about. It's a tall, skinny hotel with 2 elevators for everything. It takes forever to get to your room at all hours of the day. The walls on the 27th floor have no wallpaper, sort of like a tenement building. The internet disconnects every few minutes. The cable doesn't work. The rooms are grungy. Given that Hilton is starting to be stingy on points, I am really reconsidering my loyalty. Their best properties in central NYC are The Hilton at Times Square...and the Midtown East...that's it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Brian, We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services and amenities that you deserved during your recent stay. Please know that this is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we are working to address the issues you mentioned with our front desk and internet connection. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel and your satisfaction is important to us as a valued HHonors member. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be the next time you are in New York.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed in a king room. It was small but I was impressed with the efficient use of the space. We're so glad everyone got their own room. Two beds in those small rooms would have been uncomfortable. The king bed and two night stands was about all the room could hold. They strategically placed an armoire, dresser and desk on the wall opposite the bed. It was a tight squeeze but it worked. The room was clean and updated. It was my 1st time staying in the city. The location appeared to be great. We walked everywhere. We took a taxi one time and realized we should have walked once we arrived in like 3 minutes. LOL! We booked thru the Doubletree website for a regular room rate $179 and watched the rates. Once the advanced pay rates dropped to $135 we booked it. Definitely watch the rates on this one. You could possibly land a great deal!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tip70ton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
tip70ton, we are very honored you spent your first visit in NYC with us, and hope it was the first of many visits. We're glad to know that you enjoyed the location and our updated rooms!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The room was bigger than most NY hotel rooms and had a window! Staff was very friendly and responsive - love the warm cookie on arrival. Also gave me fruit and tea bags. They were renovating some of the floors so it was noisy one day. One of the elevators broke on checkout day and we waited a long time but otherwise had a great visit. Location is wonderful for subway, shopping and eating. Will definitely book here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Kitty, your upbeat review is very much appreciated, and we are finishing our renovation project replacing corridor wall coverings and carpet. We hope you return soon to enjoy the finished product!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naantali, Finland
Level Contributor
261 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I spent three nights in double room in 24th floor here. Rooms rate was a bit expensive but service and quality were better than average as well. Breakfast was great (ask omelettes from chef), there was a gym downstairs with basic equipment available. Only small negative things were very slow elevators and slow WLAN.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lemmy75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Lemmy75, thank you for your positive comments. Our daily omelette special is a new initiative implemented by our Restaurant Manager and we are very happy to hear you enjoyed it! We strive to provide a high level of service, and are glad you found our service to be better than average.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

The staff very friendly and knowledgeable.! The front desk clerk was from Tennessee, his name is Duane. He gave us great choices on restaurant choices. It's nice to have southern hospitality in New York City!!! Go SEC!

Room Tip: Get a room on the higher floors...the views are amazing. We have the view of the Freedom Tower. What...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter M, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Rick S, thanks so much for your great review, and for such positive feedback on Duane! We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#215 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,932 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#160 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,237 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#158 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,783 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Midtown
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Square South
Doubletree By Hilton - Times Squ...
#323 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#198 Family Hotel in New York City
#217 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing