We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Chelsea choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Ranked #313 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Chelsea choice”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Surprisingly for an NYC hotel, I have no complaints whatsoever. Stayed in a small ish room with a king bed which was fine and spacious enough. Perfect location close to the subway and just a walk away from times sq. Would definitely stay again. Should probably mention that I chose it off the back of an Expedia promotion so it probably felt better value because of that. In any case, the rooms are modern and very clean: rare for midtown.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparkyb_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,996 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    588
    768
    380
    164
    96
See reviews for
514
494
186
458
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco California
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

My 22 year old daughter was moving to Manhattan, and I was helping her move her piles of luggage there from California! We were flying on passes, so had no idea when/what day we'd actually arrive, therefore, did not make hotel reservations in advance. We arrived late (after 11 pm) and I got on Trip Advisor and started scouting. Found a great deal at the Doubletree Chelsea, and called them from the airport. A friendly late night desk associate assured us of a spot on the phone, and greeted us warmly as we arrived about 1 am. He helped us with the luggage, and gave us a GREAT room, as well as a suggestion for an open all hours pizza joint. in the morning, we had a complimentary breakfast downstairs -- all in all it was just a GREAT experience. Staff can make or break a stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenoftheSlipstream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ann arbor michigan
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 499 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2011

I stayed one night at the Doubletree and was very pleased with the stay. The reservation process worked very smoothly and the room was ready as promised. The service at the front desk was courteous and efficient. The room was small but, after all, this is Manhattan and I expected it. Very quiet hotel for the location and very convenient. I would certainly stay there again.

Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank robd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdowd224, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Thank you robd for your kind response to our hotel. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here with a friend for just one night - we were in town to see a show and wanted to have breakfast at Chelsea Market in the morning.

The hotel was very clean and the beds were super-comfortable. Nice view of the city.

We ate at the hotel's restaurant and had an EXCELLENT cheeseburger and salad. Stopped there for drinks again after the show - they were just closing but were accommodating!

They give you warm chocolate chip cookies when you check-in and they have the sign-out-by-TV arrangement if you like that. Very nice overall!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy19705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdowd224, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you so much for your review of our DoubleTree by Hilton New York City Chelsea hotel. We are please you found your stay here enjoyable. We are so happy you enjoyed your cheeseburger and salad at Chelton’s. We offer the best ingredients and freshest produce when dining at our restaurant. We look forward to seeing you next time you are staying in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Doubletree Chelsea for New Year's Eve weekend. It was very comfortable and clean. The staff provided outstanding service. Location was perfect for walking to Madison Square Garden. Pretty easy to get around the city and a nice quiet location to stay for New Year's Eve weekend. It was nice to be away from the craziness of Times Square. Most comfortable bed ever!!! They told us they really didn't have any rooms with a view, and that was fine for us. We weren't there for the view. Just wanted a clean and comfortable room for the weekend and that's what we got.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieBuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdowd224, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for your review or our New York City Chelsea Hotel. We are glad your stay was enjoyable for New Year’s Eve as that is certainly a busy time for the city. We take pride in our ability to offer a great product at a great price while allowing you to be in the center of it all but away from the hustle and bustle at the same time. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The price was right for our family. This is a newly built property with nice comfy beds and flat screen TV. It's location is somewhat out of the way from majot tourist attractions however there are two subway stations within an easy walk. Highly reccomended as the hotel is new and clean. Not a lot of ammenities but if you're on the go who needs all that anyways.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SunNSki09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdowd224, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
you SunNSki09 for your recent stay at our Hotel. We are glad you and your family enjoyed your time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Arrived at The Doubletree on Thursday 27Th May for our five night break, Took my 16 yr old daughter to buy her prom dress and see all the major sites. First impression was very much a travel in/ hoilday express, ( I stay in them regular for work) Was ok nothing flash. We were on the 14th floor, Our veiw was someones bedroom nice! Carpet had stains on the floor but other then that clean and comfy, The only thing I would say was a pain was the aircon way to loud and either freezing or boiling. It was 90 degress when we were there. Reception was pokey and dull and the sofas could do with a clean, we never went to gym just didnt have the time. We never went into restaurant to eat as prices seemed very expensive. When I first arrived I discovered my daughter had left a bag at the airport I asked recpetion if I could call the airport and the first person was very rude and said no I couldnt use the phone! I was most upset I left the hotel for a few hours I was tired and fed up, I tried to use my mobile out there but I just couldnt get threw to lost property at Newark, Came back to the hotel and asked a differnt person and he said yes. Any way didnt get the bag back, nor did lost property return my call. I didnt expect to get the bag back but a call would have been nice. New York city is like London on speed, Its crazy, Funny, and nothing surpries me any more, Beggers with no legs busking, singers, a crazy guy of times sq banging a saucepan lid? Empire state was a 2 hr Q. statue of liberty 2 hr q. Rockafella centre about 45 mins, NBC studio tour sold out 2 days in advance so pre booked, we had the city pass. Ground zero just made us cry. Stardust dinner very good food and singing, just a shame they ask for such big tips. Planet hollywood good grub too, only if you use your city pass to get your $10 dollars off they change 18% tip!. plus did all the shops, best for bargins was forever21 but got some good ones in jcpenny and tj max. wanna go back in winter to see what central park is like then its so well kept. but would proably stay else where. On my return home asked the hotel to book my shuttle bus, they got the date wrong and did it for 24 hrs after my plane took off. I went and asked on the Tuesday for a shuttle bus to be booked for the next day which would mean Wednesday yes? No the lady booked it for Thursday and a time I would have been in the UK! Didnt relaise until i questioned her when bus was 20 mins late. Another bus couldnt be booked so I had to get a taxi and I had to pay the $88 not the last impression I wanted of New York Double Tree Chelsea!

Room Tip: I heard floors over 20 had better veiws
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nessiek30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kdowd224, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Hello Nessie30. Thank you for your visit to our DoubleTree by Hilton New York City Chelsea Hotel. We apologize the trip did not go as planned. It can be frustrating when an airline loses your luggage. We do hope all works out. We are sorry that the hotel front desk did not let you use our phone and we will address this with the staff to insure next time this will be a smoother process for you. Please feel free to contact me at 212-564-0994 if we can help with anything-Kathryn Dowd
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manhattan-Chelsea
Hilton Garden Inn New York/Manha...
#209 of 467 in New York City
2,021 reviews
Chelsea
Hilton New York Fashion District
Hilton New York Fashion District
#178 of 467 in New York City
3,402 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#164 of 467 in New York City
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Chelsea
Courtyard New York Manhattan/Che...
#114 of 467 in New York City
842 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#58 of 467 in New York City
842 reviews
Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York City - Chelsea
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#261 of 467 in New York City
2,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City

Property: Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City
Address: 128 West 29th Street, New York City, NY 10001-5301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Family Hotel in New York City
#195 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#212 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax in the comfort of our beautiful DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel in Chelsea. Choose from a variety of room types including Empire State Building views. Our hotel is located in the heart of New York City but right outside the hustle and bustle of the noisy city streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chelsea - New York City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing