We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“UNBELIEVABLE...!”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #5 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“UNBELIEVABLE...!”
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Just when you think a place cannot get any better by the year, think twice...It can....Second time at Mount Morris this year. Was there last year this time and thought it was perfect and went back this year only to see it was more beautiful! Highly recommended as the best accommodation proposal for any stay in NYC.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Condesa2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
93
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
GREECE
1 review
Reviewed December 15, 2009

It is the third time I stayed in the Mount Morris Bed&Breakfast the last 2 years and it is just fabulous .. Every time we had a different room and each one is unique..The whole accommodation and living experience is like you stay in your dream house.. Amazing & very big rooms, the most lovely people running the place. Comfortable and quiet, the place that you can walk around with your pajamas, make your tea or coffee in the main kitchen, enjoy the library, the living room and all this 5 min walking distance from Central Park.. I couldn't exchange it with any hotel or place downtown

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingandreas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2009

The owner not only takes pride, but delivers a unique bed and breakfast experience. Vascilios is Greek and his selection of art, books and decorative arts is excellent. He treats his guest like they are part of his family.
Pete (another Greek) is the best driver I have ever had in NYC and I wouldn't hesitate to say both Pete and Vascilios are the best at what they do.
Continental Breakfast was good and it was nice to sit at the big old table and share the hospitality of Mount Morris House. Great stay! Barbara Wynne, Indianapolis, IN USA

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank belchford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

In our 39 years of travelling together we agree this was probably the best urban accommodation we have found. Better than 5-star Times Square. Vasili and Dimitri are gracious and professional. Accommodation is spotless, tasteful and delightfully restored. Breakfasts were hearty with a wonderful mix of international travellers. The location was safe, quiet and friendly (Yes, in Harlem!). Mount Morris House is 20 minutes from anywhere in Manhatten with easy access to both bus and subway, or a private Mercedes limo, if requested. When and if we ever return to NYC we will make Mount Morris House the centre of our trip.
Dr. Ray and Agnes Baker
Surrey, British Columbia

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank healthquest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 8, 2009

As you enter the door of Number 12, you are immediately transported back to a time of genteel elegance with a sense of history. Painstaking refurbishment of everything from woodwork, lamps, decorative furnishings, period pieces to beautiful scrollwork both inside and out give a sense of time having stopped. The quiet tick of the drawing room clock is enhanced by soft, flowing music as a background while upholstered antique couches invite you to look through the many and varied books there. Looking out the window, one almost expects to see horse-drawn carriages and promenading couples in Victorian dress of old. The grand dining room continues the sense of gentility while one enjoys a varied and delicious breakfast, and during the rest of the day a pristine butler's pantry provides refreshment whenever you care to make a cup of tea. As one mounts the carpeted stairs, the creaking of the old structure adds to the sense of past occupants, and the twelve-foot high ceilings throughout the main floor and the bedrooms make the surroundings airy and light despite the beautiful woodwork seen everywhere. The ensuite bathroom in each unit is totally modern, yet styled to continue the feeling of privilege that original owners of this home expected and enjoyed. There are so many lovely details to examine throughout this B and B, and entry into this "home away from home" immediately encourages one to slow down and simply enjoy what today's frantic world has forgotten--closing the door on the bustle outside in the street and stepping into the simplicity of peace and quiet, soft music and pleasant conversation with the very welcoming and knowledgeable hosts and others who have had the great good fortune to discover this idyllic place from which to sally forth and see the wonderful city of New York, before returning to a downy bed. And when you do step outside again, the neighborhood is Harlem, but a Harlem that has undergone and still is making great strides to bring the once-proud brownstone buildings back to be both beautiful and safely updated for modern enjoyment. A short walk to the subway, a bus right outside the door, pleasant eateries two blocks away, and Central Park and Manhattan's theatre district and vibrant downtown easily accessible completes the package that this temporary residence offers.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian13390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hants
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

Having checked out hotels & been disappointed my sister suggested I look at B&B's. Tripadvisor pointed the way to Mount Morris House.
Easy transport links to town, the clean, spacious, comfortable rooms AND breakfast made this a great choice. Vasili waited to meet us after our late arrival due to a delayed flight & made us feel at home. He also took the time to answer any questions and offer advice as needed after breakfast the following morning & through the week.
We ate at two Vasili recommended local restaurants (Local Italian & "Native") & can recommend them.
Vasili arranged our transport back to Newark airport. Again his recommendation was good.
An interesting mix of American. Canadian, Australian & Brits at the (0900) breakfast table in the mornings made breakfast an event in itself. Comparing home countries, yesterdays events & the next days plans.
Vasili & Mount Morris House definitely added to the enjoyment of our stay. We had our own key to come & go as we pleased. There are facilities to make tea coffee etc... at any time of day or night. The house itself is an "attraction" which has been beautifully restored/kept.
To summarise:- a great choice of accomodation. Talk to Vasili for inside knowledge of New York.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TykeTaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2009

On first imprssions as you arrive and walk up the steps to the large front door you think that you may have made a mistake ... then the door opens into a fantastic Visctorian house with a lounge bigger than our whole house, Vasilis gave us the dime tour and also a list of various places in the area for eating then took us up to our room. The first thing that you see is a bed big enough for 5 people!!
It would have been a marvellous place to stay if it was not in Harlem - which may have improved it's image from the 1907's 80's and 90's and have some great places to eat - but it did not feel safe enough to return to any later than 8pm. There were a couple of ladies staying on there own who would have liked to see New York at night but did not feel safe returning back late at night and neither did we. The bus stop outside the front door was really useful though and we did have a fantastic 5 days break in New York.

Our only surprise was that in all the reviews we read we saw that there was a fantastic banquet for breakfast ... all I will say is (because we really liked the place and Vasilis) go and stay at the B&B we stayed at in San Francisco if you really want a good breakfast!

10/10 for the room, 6/10 for breakfast and 5/10 for location. 8/10 for New York being a great palce to visit!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UngNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#226 of 467 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#236 of 467 in New York City
705 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#274 of 467 in New York City
11,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,509 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 77 in New York City
611 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#21 of 77 in New York City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Property: Mount Morris House
Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing