We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The greatest place in New York”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #3 of 76 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Since our first trip to New York we stayed here and we have returned ever since.
The house is wonderful and Dimitri and Vassili make you really feel at home.
Rooms are big ( more than enough space for shopping bags:) and beds comfortable ...
It is a relaxing place amidst all the New York action... cake and tea in the kitchen and a good subway near by, good restaurants in the immediate neighborhood ...nothing more one could wish for

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liesbet p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

120 - 126 of 278 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We decided to stay at Mount Morris on our first trip to NYC. The midtown hotels, whilst close to all the action, seemed to expensive and impersonal. This wonderful house is the direct opposite, reasonably priced and very personable! It's got great access to NYC being at the top of 5th Avenue - a bus to midtown stops just outside.

The room was spacious, comfortable and full of character. We would happily stay here again! Being here gave us a whole different, and positive, view of New York that we'd have completely missed being anywhere else.

Tips: From the house, take a walk down 5th Avenue for 10 minutes past the amazing looking fire station to the top of Central Park. Harlem Meer is outstanding particularly early in the morning.
Use buses rather than the subway! You get to see so much more of the city. The M1 bus stops outside and goes all the way down 5th past the Guggenheim, Rockefeller, St Patrick's, the public library, Empire State and the Flatiron. It goes all the way down to Washington Square Park! A sightseeing trip in itself.
Finally take a trip to the upper west side on W 80th/Broadway and buy some coffee from Zabar's. It's a New York institution!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TechieBoySteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Wonderful little brownstone just north of central park. The house was beautiful and charming, and our stay couldn't have been more comfortable. Dimitri was extremely polite and helpful, and our room was better than what we expected. The pictures don't do it justice!

Not only was this a great place to stay for our first trip to New York, but it is one of the best bed and breakfast houses we've stayed at. We will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Magathachristie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Choosing Mount Morris House for our New York City accommodation was not just a decision where to stay - it became a precious part of our New York experience! The house is nicely renovated respecting the original wood work style. Everything is nice and clean and delicious cake and cookies are available in the kitchen when you return after a long day in the city. The neighbourhood is very quiet and restaurants are nearby.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JanJensen2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

It would be churlish not to review, once again, this house and the generous warmth of its owners: it is our pleasure to record that every stay is better than the last. We hope that we will have the opportunity to return to it often. The accommodation is elegant and spotlessly clean, there is a wonderful library of books, the location is extremely convenient for a visitor to Manhattan, and the hosts are kind and thoughtful, and can be relied on to be comfortingly helpful. We are very happy in Mount Morris House, always.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 810frances
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We were pleasantly surprised when we discovered the home is exactly as portrayed on their website. Vasili greeted us warmly and gave a tour of the facilities, then showed us to our gorgeous accommodations. Our room was delightfully furnished with period furniture that was also very comfortable. The room was spacious with bay windows and a fireplace with the original glass tile mantel. The bath contained a deep soaking tub and large shower. All the amenities were provided. In the common kitchen, coffee, several teas, and delicious banana bread and brownies were available. It was easy to get to the subway system as the home is situated in between the 116th and 125th stops. We were able to walk to the Appolo Theater and the Cotton Club. Dimitri and Vasili provided lots of information on transportation, restaurants, and nightlife in the area. We ended our stay with a wonderful visit with Dimitri and Vasili and got to know more about them and the history of the home. We felt as if we had been long time friends. We will certainly stay in contact with them and return to visit, as well as tell others what a wonderful place this is to stay in New York City.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

A brilliant and intriguing place to stay in NY. Harlem has its own attractions,eating places like Cafe des Ambassades for breakfast and the Red Rooster bar for late nights. Access to Central Manhattan is fairly straightforward but the comfort and stylish accommodation offered by Dimitri and Vasili is quite an attraction in itself.A perfect choice for a stay in upper Manhattan.

Room Tip: A brilliant and intriguing place to stay in NY. Harlem has its own attractions,eating places like Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnxn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
Hotel 50 Bowery NYC
#7 of 473 in New York City
705 reviews
Lower East Side
Blue Moon Hotel
Blue Moon Hotel
#419 of 473 in New York City
562 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 473 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#4 of 76 in New York City
619 reviews
Chelsea
Colonial House Inn
Colonial House Inn
#6 of 76 in New York City
378 reviews
Harlem
255West Guesthouse
255West Guesthouse
#12 of 76 in New York City
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $125 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing