We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance, good location”
Review of Mount Morris House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New York City
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mount Morris House
Ranked #5 of 77 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great ambiance, good location”
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this B&B (without breakfast) for 4 nights with our family. It as a very nice experience. The suite that we stayed in (Terracotta Suite) was very large and beautifully decorated. The whole house is a gem. The location is very good: a nice, quiet part of South Harlem, just one block away from major subway stations. Better then any 5* hotel! Would surely return here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank 007Olivier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    235
    19
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
93
9
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Everything expected. On the edge of harlem, full of characters, superb food and different to usual NY fare. House is nice, overlooking park and very handy for subway. Owners helpful and pleasant. Quiet location but close to the best soul food around, not touristy...yet but getting there.
Family rooms large and comfortable, family of four all enjoyed stay, cookies, never switched the tv on which for my lot is a minor miracle!

Room Tip: Terracotta suite ideal for family of four, recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank somersetcomms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merimbula, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My friend and I decided to stay out of the mainstream of Manhattan, and found Mount Morris house on the Net. We liked the look of the Brownstone house, and the choice was a good one. We enjoyed the quiet, shabby elegance of the house every day for 2 weeks. We met some amazing people in our time there, always a plus to meet interesting people from all walks and cultures.
We had some great conversations, with other guests, and with our host Dimitri. Great coffee at all hours, and ability to have breakfast (our choice and fridge available), and nibbles or cheap dinner because of fridge!
If you want to experience New York life in Harlem, this is a great place to stay,,because it's right outside your doorstep, with a small park across the road and a 10 minute walk to the north end of Central Park. There is a church on every corner, if you want to worship. Avoid full gospel 'shows' if you want the real thing, and check out some good eateries like Lucienne.
Really felt safe every day in this district, and was helped by many people when struggling with luggage, mostly by black people. I'm a whitie, I like Harlem!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judyfin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon, it was lovely! Dimitri, the owner, was very hospitable and extremely helpful. Our room was stunning-absolutely huge! And so was the bathroom, with a spacious shower and roll top bath. Our room was cleaned everyday. The accommodation compensated on how far we were from midtown but it was still only a 15 minute subway ride away and the nearest subway station was a 5 minute walk. We ate at The Red Rooster-amazing, Harlem Shake-very tasty and for breakfast Appleby's. All in all my husband and I would thoroughly recommend Mount Morris House.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Heapies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Mount Morris House is a wonderful place to stay if you want somewhere to relax and feel at home at the end of a long day on the tourist trail. If you want character and history, rather than a soulless tower-block hotel, then this is the perfect place. Dimitri is a wonderful host - charming and always helpful - as well as very entertaining! We were three women friends on a weekend trip to celebrate a significant birthday for one of us. We stayed in the Terracotta Suite (overlooking the park) which was spacious with plenty of storage, a good-sized shower and very comfortable beds. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and there is a daily maid service. The rooms are eclectically furnished and have interesting pictures and pieces (some antique) in them collected over the years by the owners. Although they don't do breakfast any more, tea, coffee, water and cake are freely available in the kitchen, as is access to a refrigerator. It is quiet at night here, although there is a bit of traffic noise in the early mornings. As this is an historic brownstone house, be aware that there are quite a number of steps up to the front door which could be challenging for those with less mobility. If we come back to New York, we'll definitely be staying here again! Transport links (bus and subway) are nearby and pretty efficient.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the house are quieter and room at the front, overlooking the park, are sunnier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GillyLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, the Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed at this lovely B&B in May 2013. We chose this B&B for the excellent reviews on tripadvisor and they turned out to be really true! It was really wonderful! The house is beautifully decorated with lovely well-chosen furniture, beautiful wooden stairs, a nice kitchen, free WIFI etc.
We stayed at the Jade-suite, which was large and perfectly clean, the bed was really comfortable and ensured a good night's rest. It is a very quiet place to stay, so no annoying noise! It is easily accessible and you are in downtown Manhattan in about 15 minutes.
Owner Dimitri is a very nice gentleman, adding a personal touch to his lovely house, you really feel at home here, we can honestly recommend this to anyone who is planning a trip to NY!
Dimitri, thank you!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floortjedegroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 22, 2013

A brief walk from the 2 & 3 Metro Lines (@125th St), and a longer walk from the 4,5,6 Lines (also @ 125th St), it faces east towards Marcus Gravey Park in Harlem. That open space is great for those who like to wake up to natural light in the mornings.

Dimitri, the owner, is super friendly and helpful in helping you get setup and for your departure.
My trip was very last minute, and even mediocre hotels in Manhattan are crazy expensive, so I decided to look for alternatives.

It was just me for 3 nights, but Dimitri didn't put me in a smaller room, as he had a larger one available.

The walk from the Metro stops can be a bit unnerving, especially if you're travelling late at night, but that can be said for any big city.

Rain poured on one of the days I was in the city, but there were umbrellas handy just for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shwamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Pod 51 Hotel
Pod 51 Hotel
#228 of 467 in New York City
4,846 reviews
Harlem
Aloft Harlem
Aloft Harlem
#236 of 467 in New York City
705 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#273 of 467 in New York City
11,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Hotel Beacon
Hotel Beacon
#57 of 467 in New York City
3,510 reviews
Harlem
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
Bed & Breakfast Mont Morris
#3 of 77 in New York City
611 reviews
Nolita
The Bowery House
The Bowery House
#21 of 77 in New York City
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Morris House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Morris House

Property: Mount Morris House
Address: 12 Mount Morris Park West, New York City, NY 10027-6316
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Harlem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself to spacious, quiet, luxurious b&b style accommodations in a splendid Manhattan townhouse. We invite you to stay in our large bedroom suites and make yourself at home in this historic New York residence. Minutes away from Downtown Manhattan, you can experience the hustle and bustle of the City and have a peaceful and quiet place to rest in the evening.All rooms have en-suite bathrooms, pillow-top beds, plasma HDTV television, radio and alarm clocks, WiFi, hair dryers, iron and iron-board and maid service. Quiet and sunny, with great vistas of Mount Morris Park and resident proprietors who are always ready to share their knowledge of New York life, Mount Morris House offers its guests an unforgettable experience of luxurious b&b style accommodation and personal care in the heart of New York at reasonable cost. Now offering our economy comfort private bedrooms with shared bathroom. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mount Morris House Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing