We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious !” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szechuan Gourmet

Szechuan Gourmet
Ranked #1,151 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Midtown
Gardiner, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Authentic, well made meal. The service was attentive: meal brought promptly, dishes cleared immediately, no trouble having separate checks for our large group. Large sized appetizers: we shared dumplings and scallion pancakes. Plenty of selection for entrees. Ours was great. Clean and nice decor. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank tom8989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    134
    32
    14
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Valroufie, France
Level Contributor
109 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love the heat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

If you like it HOT this is the place! Had the whole fish in chilli sauce and the beef with book chow in chilli sauce, the only 4 chilli rated dish and it is seriously hot from both chilli and Szechwan peppers. Yum.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Enjoyable, spicy, and a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

I went to the location on 56th Street, but i can't find that location listed. It's a small place, but the food was excellent. Very spicy, very flavorful, and an appetizer and entree was about $15 for me for a late lunch. They were definitely more targeted towards everyday customers, so it's not a major touristy space, and the focus is on the food and getting people in and out. Overall, very enjoyable.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TexasGirlinAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
210 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“As authentic as anything you'll get in China!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

This was nothing short of a culinary delight. The food was so fresh, exotic, and delicious. I would encourage you to be as adventurous as you dare. The tastes you will find here are a wonderful carnival for the senses. A wonderful experience all around.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
422 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were looking for a Chinese restaurant, and we found Szechuan Gourmet just two blocks from our hotel. I said, "I think that's where we went a couple years ago when we were on 39th Street." We walked over there, and it was the same one, and the food (and service) was just as good as we remembered. Food is served quickly; it tastes great and even four can get out under $80 for dinner. I'll certainly be back here again!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank StuartGustafson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechuan Gourmet also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Szechuan Gourmet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing