We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best street food in the world (according to me, at least)”
Review of 53rd & 6th Halal

53rd & 6th Halal
Ranked #474 of 13,638 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Midtown
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The best street food in the world (according to me, at least)”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

No trip to New York would be complete without the Halal Guys. Their lamb over rice is to die for. We had this after each Broadway show that we went to, it was well worth the walk. The hot sauce, is well, hot, so ask for it to be served on the side. For six dollars this would have to be the best value for money meal in NYC.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Direstraits2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    400
    133
    46
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire england
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing , deserves its position at the Top .”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

I went here with my daughter in Sept 2009 , and I'm going back with my son in March , having a browse at restaurants and saw this .... It was fantastic .. We saw the queue and asked what it was for and then saw the plates so joined the queue , the atmosphere sitting in the open air , enjoying a fab meal was great , I am very well travelled and have visited and eaten in many Michelin star restaurants but I'm not a snob and just because it a food stand doesn't make it less enjoyable , look forward to returning for a cheap amazing dinner in March .. Don't change Guys it's great ..:):)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Lples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“THE BEST”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

one of worlds best platters ....have to wait in que for your turn but worth it .....Quality food only for 6$....Lamb with rice is awesome

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RaheelR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
93 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“who would have thought? don't be scare of a street cart!”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Having heard jokes of dirty water dogs in NYC, I've never been one to experiment with street food in the city. However, I also have learned, if there is a line longer than about 10 people at a stand during "off" hours, you might want to try it. This is the best bargain you will find in NYC on some really good food. Luckily, the man in front of us heard us talking about spicy and whether I wanted it. This is not your normal spicy. This is like hotter than hades - burn your mouth spicy. Get it on the side - if you're a fan of sirachi, you'll be fine but otherwise, get it on the side. The white sauce was amazing. Be sure you're at the one on the corner of 6th avenue and 53rd street. There are lots of imitations but this one is for real!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smb4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“53rd Halal”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We arrived here with low expectations beacause it was a food stand, but since we hadn't tried this type of food we gave it a try. There was a line but we got there quickly. The staff is funny and amicable. The portions are considerable. The food is really good and th cost/benefit realtion is amazing. 6 usd for good food and the spicy is actually spicy. Only complaint; not enough pita bread.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luigibc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 53rd & 6th Halal also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to 53rd & 6th Halal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing