We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night must have.”
Review of 53rd & 6th Halal

53rd & 6th Halal
Ranked #544 of 13,743 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Midtown
Manhattan Beach, California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Late night must have.”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I have read all the reviews of these guys and always thought.. street food? No thanks.

But, I was so wrong. I also thought they are all the same. Again, wrong wrong wrong!!

I have no idea why, but the flavored of the meat and chicken are just amazing. Same kind of grill as the rest, but this is truly special.

I had the combo plate and extra sauce (the key for me) and just found a seat and ate. Plenty to share if you need to, but when in NYC eat at all the great restaurants and then take the time to sample this Halal stand. Classic!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterisacksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    133
    47
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WINNIPEG,CANADA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not to be missed!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

I don't care what foodie you are, you have to try this, worth the wait and your $ cause 6 $ will get you a huge plate rice mixture of chicken and lamb a bit of pita bread and lettuce , great white sauce, also a bit of BBQ and hot sauce , line up is long but goes super fast 15 min maybe

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ania P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great ,cheap food”
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Came across these guys when heading to a nighttime viewing of 30 rock . Had really good meal. we got a gyro (spiced lamb meat) over rice and a chicken over rice. Both were tasty but we discovered that a little chilli sauce goes a long way. Went back the night after and was just as good , highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caoilissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best $6 meal”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Long line but a great option for a cheap meal one night or a very filling lunch. Also -I felt like I was eating something good - not fast food or greasy. We got the gyro/chicken combo and it even came with a small salad in the to go box.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank RandRCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 6 Contributor
1,037 reviews
790 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Great deal, get in line!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Chicken and Rice cart is genius.

For $6, you can get a huge takeout of Halal meat, rice, salad, and pita bread. It's a wonderful concoction. I think the white sauce is the secret ingredient. It makes the whole plate taste so much better.

The cart opens at 7:30 PM and lines already start at around 7 PM. Here's a tip. There's a Halal cart open right across the street and there's barely any waits. It's the same as the Chicken and Rice cart that everyone else waits in line for. If you're brave enough, walk the road less traveled. You won't be disappointed. In fact, you might snicker at the rest of the people who are waiting on the other line.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tunaidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 53rd & 6th Halal also viewed

 

Been to 53rd & 6th Halal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing