We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good Tapas Bar!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Socarrat Paella Bar

Socarrat Paella Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Socarrat Paella Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2,269 of 13,488 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, Spanish, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Chelsea
Cross street: Between 7th & 8th Ave
Transit: Close to A, C, E, L and the 1 train.
Description: With three locations in Manhattan, our menu features paellas, tapas, and vino from all regions of Spain. The Midtown East location, has full bar and plenty of room for private events- come celebrate your party here!! Join us for a Spanish brunch, a delicious dinner, or a glass of wine at the bar. All our locations are open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner and we welcome reservations and walk-ins. We also offer catering and are available to customize a menu for your own special event.
Varese, Italy
Level Contributor
226 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
“Very good Tapas Bar!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Delightful experience among friends, the food is great, the staff is very polite and friendly. I am vegetarian and I still found some good opportunities, while my guests, carnivores, ate a delicious paella. Very good drinks. It was, undoubtedly, a nice evening. I my humble opinion, I highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KaITrAvEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    60
    25
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
95 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Wonderful Paella”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

The paella was great, wanted it a little crusty at the bottom but it was really good nonetheless. Scallops was wonderful, too, but the serving was small. The waiter was annoyingly pushy and wanted me to order all sorts of food on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelogue823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food good, atmosphere, not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

My adult son and I ordered the arroz negro paella, which was very good and the portions were appropriate to share between two people. My problem was with the seating arrangements. We were seated at a long bar table , with dinner companions placed across from each other. Unfortunately you are literally rubbing elbows with the people next to you. The guy on my right continually snorted back into his head what ever was in his nasal passages, then took the t-shirt that he was wearing and wiped his whole face with it. I realize that dining establishments are not responsible for the personal hygiene practices of their patrons, but this was just gross, especially at such close proximity.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DHDUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We found Soccarat to be a lovely experience and fantastic food. We had some tapas which were lovely and there were many more we would have loved to have tried but had to save room for paella. The paella was fantastic and had great soccarat. There is also an impressive wine list. The interior has a lovely warm feeling and there is options to sit at the bar or at a table. Service was faultless as well. This was a great night and we would have definitely gone back if we had the time.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesse B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“GREAT PAELLA IN A GREAT ATMOSPHERE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

We were visiting NYC and a friend who lives in the Village took us there. We loved it for its atmosphere, its service and most of all the quality of the food. You can't go wrong to go there for paella, and the price is not bad for that part of the city. Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PalmDeano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Socarrat Paella Bar also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Socarrat Paella Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing