We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Word: ACE!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #204 of 477 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One Word: ACE!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

This hotel review really could be summed up in one word; ACE!

We booked a small room, which was perfectly sized for two people travelling with two large duffle bags and two smaller duffles.

We had an extremely large and comfy bed, a hot shower, a mini bar and robes to don whilst shadow boxing around the room. Fairly standard these days. This hotel stands out for the smaller, more unusual things. There were proverbs stenciled onto the walls, luxury bathroom condiments, superior quality blankets, transport boxes turned into fridge cupboards, a pencil sharpener fixed to the desk accompanied by a retro light fitting and an ACE Hotel pencil. The room fittings and extras all complemented the hip grungy vibe that oozes out of this hotel.

We arrived around 9pm on a Friday, after carrying our oversized bags from Penn Station (which is not that far minus the bags, 5-10 minute walk) we were overjoyed to see the bright lights of the Ace Hotel shining out and calling us in.

The lobby bar was in full swing which added character to our entrance. Check-in was easy, service was with a smile. After dropping our bags into the room we headed back down to check out the bar (note: from floor 8 we never heard any noise from the bar crowd).

The hotel gym is 24/7 and has a nice array of cardio equipment, resistance machines, free weights, boxing bags and a stretching/yoga area. They provide a retro water tank to quench your thirst, clean white sweat towels and a spray to wipe down your mess. We used it early mornings and never had problems adapting a workout to the available equipment.

We loved our Stumptown coffee every morning (yes, it is worth the wait if you like good strong coffee), we had breakfast in the Breslin on our last morning, there are cheaper and nicer options available in NYC, but the restaurant is worth a visit. The lobby, kitted out with black and white photo booth, was always a hive of activity.

We spent a long weekend here, the location is perfect, we could walk everywhere we wanted to go and if not there were plenty of subway options close by. When it was time to leave we had no problems getting a cab to the airport thanks to the helpful staff at ACE.

If you're looking for a trendy, yet accessible, hotel in Manhattan, with modern comfort and cool design, then look no further than the bright lights of W29th St.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ljmorley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear ljmorley18,
Many thanks for choosing Ace for your long weekend and for sharing your feedback (and photos).
Hearing about your experience made all of us smile and we look forward to having you back!
Warm regards,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    718
    583
    171
    71
    37
See reviews for
178
515
193
363
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (340)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Has all the basics, half way between park and broadway 23rd and 34th streets. Nice area to walk around, convenient for us to get to Chelsea,Union & Washington Square and Midtown dining. We liked the comfy beds, make sure you get the right size. The food and drink is good, the servers know their stuff. "Up all night" I was jet lagged so i got up and took a walk at odd hours, their was always somebody coming or going. I liked the wifi and all the convenient outlets in public spaces.

Room Tip: The small room works if you're not entertaining. Get a large room if you're a couple or have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi johnberndt,
Thank you very much for all of your visits and valuable feedback.
I would also like to thank you for reminding me how much better it is to take a midnight stroll compared to checking my phone and email when I cannot sleep!
Hope to see you soon.
xoxo,
Lisa and the Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a weekend here and the best thing about the hotel is its location - walking distance to just about everything. The hotel seems to actually be a converted apartment building. Rooms are a bit on the small side but clean and comfy and who's sticking around in their hotel room in New York anyways? The lobby is a very popular gathering spot throughout the day and particularly busy at night. The breakfast at the restaurant was quite good - not your traditional breakfast but more on the gourmet side. We rented citibikes and rode around everywhere - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear cruisernut,
We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your weekend sounds wonderful and I hope you will return for many more NY adventures. Please let me know if I can assist!
Warm regards,
Lisa and the Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commugny, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Funky, retro environment, great service. Restaurant a bit too full of its own importance vs focused on customer needs, but food very good. Like the location on 29th Street / 5th. Lobby far too noisy during the day to enjoy really though. Recommended for a fun place to stay with nice rooms and great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltedmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi meltedmind:
Many thanks for your visit and feedback. Everyone likes a fun place with nice rooms and a great location and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Please accept my apologies for your restaurant experience. I have forwarded your comments to the manager, who will certainly address our concerns with the staff, if I can assist in helping you speak with her directly, please feel free to contact me (Lisa: 646-214-5772). I would love to help!
Warm regards.
Lisa and the Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cool hotel in a great location. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the quirky writings on the walls were refreshing. The lobby is really extraordinary - full of people and music, you feel like you're in the right place at the right time. Staff was helpful and friendly. We are a family of 5 so took the medium sized room with 2 queen beds and it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Danny A.
We are happy to read you and your family enjoyed your stay and we thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback! The saying, "Everything is going to be alright" greets me every morning I arrive and it has the same impact it did when I came here to interview. Thank you for noticing and we look forward to seeing you and the family again.
xoxo,
Lisa and The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

You won't be disappointed. This hotel has spacious rooms that are unique. The staff is young, professional and helpful. The Breslin, located within the hotel, serves an English breakfast. It's located in Chelsea and close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden. Walk to Chelsea Market or to the theatre district. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madre25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Hello Madre25,
Thank you for your review and also for offering your location tips for future travelers!
Super thoughtful of you and we certainly look forward to your return visits to us,
See you soon,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a cool hotel. The main lobby is like a local hangout. People on their laptops, drinking coffee or a cocktail from the bar. At night the lobby transforms itself into a night club with a DJ. And the hotel staff could not have been more friendly. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready yet. They gave us a complimentary cocktail or coffee while we waited. Room was clean and trendy. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Anne G,
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you so much for your feedback.
Hope to see you soon,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#39 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#285 of 477 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#59 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#132 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#156 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Gramercy Park
Park South Hotel
Park South Hotel
#62 of 477 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing