We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“funky Fresh” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #208 of 479 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
127 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“funky Fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Has all the basics, half way between park and broadway 23rd and 34th streets. Nice area to walk around, convenient for us to get to Chelsea,Union & Washington Square and Midtown dining. We liked the comfy beds, make sure you get the right size. The food and drink is good, the servers know their stuff. "Up all night" I was jet lagged so i got up and took a walk at odd hours, their was always somebody coming or going. I liked the wifi and all the convenient outlets in public spaces.

Room Tip: The small room works if you're not entertaining. Get a large room if you're a couple or have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johnberndt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi johnberndt,
Thank you very much for all of your visits and valuable feedback.
I would also like to thank you for reminding me how much better it is to take a midnight stroll compared to checking my phone and email when I cannot sleep!
Hope to see you soon.
xoxo,
Lisa and the Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    571
    168
    69
    37
See reviews for
176
507
191
354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica
Level Contributor
42 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed a weekend here and the best thing about the hotel is its location - walking distance to just about everything. The hotel seems to actually be a converted apartment building. Rooms are a bit on the small side but clean and comfy and who's sticking around in their hotel room in New York anyways? The lobby is a very popular gathering spot throughout the day and particularly busy at night. The breakfast at the restaurant was quite good - not your traditional breakfast but more on the gourmet side. We rented citibikes and rode around everywhere - would highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cruisernut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear cruisernut,
We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Your weekend sounds wonderful and I hope you will return for many more NY adventures. Please let me know if I can assist!
Warm regards,
Lisa and the Staff of Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commugny, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Funky, retro environment, great service. Restaurant a bit too full of its own importance vs focused on customer needs, but food very good. Like the location on 29th Street / 5th. Lobby far too noisy during the day to enjoy really though. Recommended for a fun place to stay with nice rooms and great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meltedmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi meltedmind:
Many thanks for your visit and feedback. Everyone likes a fun place with nice rooms and a great location and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Please accept my apologies for your restaurant experience. I have forwarded your comments to the manager, who will certainly address our concerns with the staff, if I can assist in helping you speak with her directly, please feel free to contact me (Lisa: 646-214-5772). I would love to help!
Warm regards.
Lisa and the Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Cool hotel in a great location. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the quirky writings on the walls were refreshing. The lobby is really extraordinary - full of people and music, you feel like you're in the right place at the right time. Staff was helpful and friendly. We are a family of 5 so took the medium sized room with 2 queen beds and it was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Danny A.
We are happy to read you and your family enjoyed your stay and we thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback! The saying, "Everything is going to be alright" greets me every morning I arrive and it has the same impact it did when I came here to interview. Thank you for noticing and we look forward to seeing you and the family again.
xoxo,
Lisa and The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

You won't be disappointed. This hotel has spacious rooms that are unique. The staff is young, professional and helpful. The Breslin, located within the hotel, serves an English breakfast. It's located in Chelsea and close to the Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden. Walk to Chelsea Market or to the theatre district. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madre25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hello Hello Madre25,
Thank you for your review and also for offering your location tips for future travelers!
Super thoughtful of you and we certainly look forward to your return visits to us,
See you soon,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

What a cool hotel. The main lobby is like a local hangout. People on their laptops, drinking coffee or a cocktail from the bar. At night the lobby transforms itself into a night club with a DJ. And the hotel staff could not have been more friendly. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready yet. They gave us a complimentary cocktail or coffee while we waited. Room was clean and trendy. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Hi Anne G,
We are glad you enjoyed your visit and thank you so much for your feedback.
Hope to see you soon,
The Staff at Ace NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stay 6 nights with my wife and my son, the hotel is better than you aspect!
The music in the lobby was very kindly and the people you can meet too.
Also the restaurant where is possible to eat an amazing hamburgher and good breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#39 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 709 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#264 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 435 reviews
Flatiron Hotel
#300 of 479 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#139 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,920 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#148 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 644 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#44 of 479 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#121 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#141 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#156 Family Hotel in New York City
#203 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing