We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YES, you are cool enough to stay here.”
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #206 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival I was greeted with a wall of noise in the lobby...it was a dance party & I immediately wanted to join. The fun, but first...to drop my bags.

Our room was small, but exactly what we expected. Every hipster detail accounted for (flask shaped water bottles, a guitar, & the BEST bar fridge I've ever seen). We had a view of the Empire State, which was a nice bonus.

I'm in my 30s & appreciate good design & attention to detail. The Ace had that covered....right down to the service. Even if you doubt your personal coolness factor...hangout in the lobby for 15min & gain cred by standing around.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoraxGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,738)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

856 - 862 of 1,738 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2013

Great experience at this very hip and cool hotel! Amazing staff, amazing lobby/lounge and an excellent restaurant and cafe. Central location - we were within walking distance for all main attraction NYC offers. The room we stayed in was quite large (by NYC standards) and was well designed. A large bathroom and well stocked with good quality soap/shampoo, etc. The room had no view (3rd floor - faced into another building) but I didn't spend a lot of time in the room.

I look forward to my next stay at the Ace Hotel and highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TOinTO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I just returned from three nights in NYC for a conference. I stayed at Ace Hotel because it was close to the conference and I got a discount from a professional organization. I was a little worried about staying at a "hipster" hotel because of a previous bad experience at the Hudson, another "hipster" hotel in midtown.

ACE HOTEL ROCKS! This was a great experience and hotel. I had a midsized king room, which was plenty big for me; but I assume people who are used to non-Manhattan hotels might find them a little small. Here are some thoughts:

Pros:
- The staff was great. They made me feel welcome -- unlike at the Hudson. I was in the conference and sent a email to general information address trying to get a dinner reservation at the Breslin. I got a quick reply and exactly the time I wanted. That kind of service is MUCH more than I expected for this price in Manhattan.
- The room was immaculate and well equipped.
- The linens and the bed were fantastic. I slept very well, which is sometimes a problem for me on the road.
- The shower was huge (room 923) and great water flow. Nothing like a rain shower after walking all over town!
- The lobby/bar was hopping every night. It was cool scene of people just hanging out talking and working. I grabbed a beer on the "workbench" and caught up on email one night.
- Stumptown coffee is connected to the lobby and had GREAT coffee and pastries.

Cons:
- My room had a guitar, which gave me flashbacks of musical inadequacies after years of failing to learn to play :-(
- The room was dark -- even with all the lights on. My room only had one window, I assume others have more and are brighter.
- No valet parking. A colleague drove into the city one night and had to park a couple blocks away. I was surprised there weren't valets and didn't warn my guest.
- The surrounding area is still in transition. I suspect it will be a great neighborhood in 5 years, but there isn't much there now. Be ready to walk or cab.

As a result of the location and lobby atmosphere, I probably won't bring my kids there. But I will 100% return on business or just with my wife!

Room Tip: I was in 923, which only had 1 window and looked out over a parking lot. I assume the rooms looking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2013

Hi Mike F.
Thank you for giving us a try and the super review you wrote. I noted your preference for a room with more natural light and we will definitely try to make that happen.
Please let us know if you decide to return with your family. I think you might be pleasantly surprised at all there is to do and we have some really fun suggestions.
We certainly look forward to your return!
Warm regards,
The Ace Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Unusually large room, tasteful decorations. Ample space for spreading out and comfortable bed. Quiet, upper floor. Lobby is fun and bustling. Staff is friendly and attentive. Location is convenient for walking and public transportation.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emma e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Rosmarie S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

the rooms are on the smaller side but being business traveler that never spends time in my room, this is not a problem. My favorite thing about this place is the amazing Breselin restaurant (Their brunch is especially tasty) and their lobby. Such a great place to meet up with friends, grab a cocktail, or get some work done. I've even brought my dog and they've always been so welcoming. The service overall is a bit hispster "too cool" esque, but I have no complaints either.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I love it, love it's style, love turntable in the rooms. The best place to stay while you're in NY. Also, on the first floor, there's my favorite John Dory's Oyster bar, and I recommend you visiting it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Fedor I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#52 of 469 in New York City
835 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#41 of 469 in New York City
539 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#97 of 469 in New York City
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 469 in New York City
3,436 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#150 of 469 in New York City
2,828 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#129 of 469 in New York City
3,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#149 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
#198 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range: $207 - $548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing