We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ace Hotel New York
Nearby Hotels
$236
$205
Hotels.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$316
$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Belleclaire(New York City)(Great Value!)
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness center
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$145
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Times Square(New York City)(Great Value!)
$237
Hilton.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Room Mate Grace(New York City)(Great Value!)
$170
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$341
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
YOTEL New York(New York City)(Great Value!)
$185
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
NYLO New York City(New York City)(Great Value!)
$265
$212
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Moon Hotel(New York City)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,826)
Filter reviews
1,826 results
Traveler rating
851
646
199
87
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
851
646
199
87
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstumptown coffeesmeg fridgebreslin restaurantmedium roommini roomjohn doryoyster baropening ceremonyhipster hotelphoto boothlobby barnew yorkcool hoteltoo cool for schoolflatiron districtthe empire state buildingcool vibe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
993 - 998 of 1,826 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Had the most wonderful 5 days in New York, treating my mum for her birthday as a surprise! And wow what a stay. From the guys greeting you outside, to the concierge staff... they all went over and beyond for the best service in every way. Upgraded room on arrival, flowers and a Happy birthday card awaited my mother in the room. We had the most fantastic view of the Empire State Building from our window. They granted my earlier request of a higher room, and away from the elevators (noise reasons) couldn't hear a thing!! Perfect location too, away from the hustle and bustle of midtown, but close enough to walk in if you want along 5th Ave and to flatiron. The room even had a LP deck and Guitar! The bed was even comfier than mine back at home!The bathroom had fantastic products as well as a rain head shower and big bath. As most people know rooms in NYC are usually that spacious but this was huge in comparison to previous hotels I have stayed in. I have stayed in many many hotels in New York and so far this has been my favourite. The lobby is full of people on a daily basis and has a real 'lived in feel' and from our floor (9th) we could not hear a thing. Can't wait to return to the ace!

Room Tip: High Room, and upgrade to a large room where possible!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurendyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Laurendyer and Mum,
Thank you for celebrating with Ace and for the awesome feedback! Your appreciation means a lot and we will look forward to having you back with us!
All the best,
Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Echo positive comments - cool hotel, great bar/lounge/lobby/restaurant. All why I came back again for second time in 6 months. The rooms are comfortable though poorly lit (form over function here) they are very clean - kudos to housekeeping. WALLS AND WINDOWS ARE VERY THIN. Could hear every conversation in the hallway and every car horn outside. But it's NYC - I was willing to overlook since it comes with the territory though soft -close doors wouldnt hurt- easy fix.

Biggest complaint is that the customer service is inconsistent. Guy checking us in couldn't even get our room number right sending us all over the hotel. Complained about a very loud party down the hall and got attitude when called the front desk - at 2am- and security "tried" to quiet the partiers down but as soon as they left the noise went up again with no follow through. Finally at 3 am party stopped. What did I get under my door, a single coupon for a cup of coffee and an apology note. The hotel needs to remember it is a hotel not just a cool "scene" and not tolerate this kind of disturbance. I wish I could stay here again but cannot - hopefully the Ace will go back and revisit how it can better handle its noise policy and remind staff that over -attentiveness goes a long way in making guests feel comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Hi Izems,
We must thank you for sharing your feedback as it is the most efficient way for us to stay on our toes each and every day. We’re so happy to hear you felt the vibe of our lobby and our surrounding outlets. Your shout out to housekeeping has been forwarded to our housekeeping department – thank you.

We clearly let you down in our noise management and overall customer service – we’re so sorry. Our staff and our service is one of our greatest prides, receiving your feedback is a great reminder for all of us to readdress our over-attentiveness. In no way do we care more about the “cool” scene more than we do your experience while staying with us. We were at fault in how urgently we handled the partiers, please rest assured we have already discussed how to manage these situations differently and will implement some various approaches. We are really excited to hear you wish to come back, let’s make it happen. We are in control of your time here at Ace, we kindly ask you for another chance. Please do reach out to us directly should you consider a return. We look forward to hearing from you and thank you one last time for your detailed review.

All the best,

Graham and Daniel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great location, happening place, very clean room as extremely nice staff. We stayed there just before hurricane Sandy hit New York. We were trying to change our flights and staff was completely understandable of situation, booking extra days and then canceling it after we found earlier flight. Although I was expecting very small rooms, actually medium room was quite OK. Don't miss Stumptown coffee shop downstairs!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milenadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed at the Ace Hotel for a weekend trip to NYC to meet up with friends. Arrival was unique, as there was an event going on in the lobby lounge and we had to convince the doorman we were staying at the hotel. Check-in went well, despite a minor difficulty that took 5 minutes to fix. The room was a reasonable size for the price in Manhattan - a large, fairly comfortable bed, a desk, and a small but perfectly functional bathroom. All of that was good, we were very satisfied. However, our room was located on the side of the road, and near the elevators. There was little to no sound-proofing around the windows, so the honking and raised voices outside were loud. Similarly, every time people arrived on the floor we would hear the chime of the elevator and then their voices as they made their way to their rooms. Finally, any slightly raised noises from the room beside yours (such as your neighbors ending their evening with a little "horizontal dancing") could be clearly heard. Ultimately, we got about 1 hour of sleep each night, and were completely exhausted by the end of the weekend. We had a friend staying in a room facing the courtyard and away from the elevators that seemed a lot quieter, so it may depend on where you are located. So if you are not sensitive to noises while sleeping, I would recommend this hotel; if they will keep you awake, it might be worthwhile staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: Ask from a room ending in -22 if you want the most chance of quiet during the night.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TNEG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Hi TNEG:
We were so sorry to read about your recent experience with us. Please accept our apologies. I am wondering if you notified anyone about your issue - with over 250 rooms I know we would happily try to find one better suited to you. It's what we do - it's what we love to do!
I would like to be able to note this preference in your profile. I think you enjoyed a lot of what we are and I would like you to come back. Please feel free to reach out to me and I will make sure we find the perfect room for you. Thank you for your feedback.
Kind Regards,
Lisa Conza

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

The Hotel could not have been better - we absolutely loved it! It was really contemporary, with an amzing lobby - doesn't look much from the outside but it was brilliant inside - really grand lobby with a buzzing bar, helpful staff and great rooms. We were a little hot in ours and couldn't turn the heating down, but easily fixed by opening the window. The bathroom was really cute and everything was really clean.

We had a room on the 11th floor and when we arrived and opened the blinds we could not have had a better view of the empire state! It was truly brilliant.

Without a doubt we would return.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlerach23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews