We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hipster heaven - trendy, funny, helpful and cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #221 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Hipster heaven - trendy, funny, helpful and cool!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights at this hotel recently, and had a great stay! Although this hotel may not suit the luxury travellers or the faint hearted, I think this is a great NYC choice. Rooms are nice and well-equipped, the lobby is more like a cafe/bar with DJs and concerts, service is excellent and bar/roomservice food great (especially the hamburgers!). Clientel are young (at least at heart) and the lobby is constantly bustling.

Although Manhattan midtown can be a rather boring area, there are glimpses of greatness to be found nearby. For instance the rooftop bar just around the corner. In addition Times Square, Macy's etc are close by. In fact I think that Ace has tried to make the hotel a destination in it self, due to the lack of much exitement in the immediate surroundings (yes, I know it is only 50 yards to 5th avenue, but still.....), and for a night or two they might actually get away with it. We had great fun in the lobby/bar, and would definately reccommend a night out there.

In short, I will probably visit Ace Hotel again. And so should you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StianGiskeodegard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    756
    608
    183
    79
    40
See reviews for
187
534
206
391
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (356)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

I'd like to give a 3.5 rating if possible as it's better than average but some key aspects keep me from being able to bestow a "very good" on this establishment.

First off the ACE is quite possibly the most optimally located hotel in all of NYC. You can walk just about anywhere you'd want to go, wonderful dining options are nearby, shopping is always close in New York but you can't beat the choices in the area around the Ace.
The lobby is always bustling morning, noon, and night. That has to do with both the Stumptown coffee served in the cafe as well as the fresh, creative drinks from the bar.

There is a bit of an air about that place that could make some feel a bit out of place. Perhaps it had something to do with the front desk clerk who informed us in a super snooty tone after multiple times of our key demagnetizing, (rendering us stuck in the elevator unable to get to our room, much less get in it) that "these things rarely just demagnentize on their own" rather than simply apologizing for the inconvenience. Is it really that important to make a point that is in fact unproveable and likely false?

Also - request a room FAR from the elevators. The walls are thin so it's bad enough to hear late nighters coming in at 3am, but hearing the 'ding' of the elevator ALL night borders on torture.

Anyways-- go for the scene, the location, and fun little surprises in your room. It's very well decorated and has a fantastic mini-bar!

Room Tip: Again- be as far as possible from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martyo624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibiza, Spain
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is so into its own trendiness that it lacks the qualities of a first rate hotel. the lobby is loud and packed at all times. Difficult to find a place to land with a couple of friends. No chance for a quiet talk. The restaurant which was practically empty wouldn't seat us for breakfast until the remaining two people in our party arrived. $360++ for a tiny room with a window that opened two inches and breakfast not included is not good value. Having said that, the location is good, the clientele young and groovy, the room amenities good but all in all more of a destination than a good hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights in August and it was our first time in NYand were looking forward to staying here based on previous reviews we had read. We arrived about 3 and our room was ready. Our first impressions when we walked into the hotel was good as it appeared lively and trendy with a retro feel. Our good first impressions were abruptly sunk when we entered our room....we were not impressed....it was tiny!

We were in NY for 5 nights as part of a 18 night trip to the states and we had 2 large cases and a 3rd smaller hand luggage size case.We literally had nowhere to put the cases so went down to reception to complain and see if we could get another room. We were informed that we had booked a mini room which sleeps 2 people (probably 2 kids in my opinion) and if we wanted a bigger room it would cost us $60 plus tax a night. The girl on the front desk was not understanding in anyway as I asked her how we could feasibly live in this room with our suitcases in the middle of the floor with no free floor space left to manouvre around the room. Her reply was to pay the extra and that was it.

The room itself looked more like a student room in a university campus, it had a unecessary large desk which took up most of the space not occupied by the small double bed. The bed was nowhere near big enough for 2 adults and there was 10 inches of clearence around the foot of the bed and side next to the window. My wife chose to sleep at that side as she had a better chance of actually not getting stuck while getting up to use the bathroom. Also in her way was a 10inch rail protruding from the wall for hanging your clothes on....we managed to get 2 items each hanging on this and that was all the hanging space....pathetic! After she manages to get out of the bed and avoid getting an metal rail in the face, she has to negotiate the wall mounted t.v. which is on a movable arm and protrudes over the corner of the bed at shoulder height...didn't realise the obstacle course was part of the deal!

The bathroom was ok nothing special and the shower had a curtain which had seen better days and made the bathroom look like something you would see in a run down public swimming pool. On the website the rooms look fabulous and very retro with smeg fullsize fridges and decks for playing vinyl records on with cool wall art....I don't doubt that they have those rooms but the websites are not explicitly clear about what type of room they are and what room you are booking and paying for. I can honestly say that we payed a sustantial amount of money for this hotel and actually went above our budget based on the photos and reviews, but was left bitterly dissapointed and it actually put a downer on our visit to NY as my wife wanted to spend as much time out of the room as possible.

The only good thing to say was that we had a great view of the Empire State building from our window but because it is so close it is hard not to have a great view of it.
In summary it is a cool hotel for young people but the room we stayed in was just larger than the prison cells that we saw in alcatraz and is only functional for someone who travels light with hardly any luggage. I would not recommend this hotel for any of my friends as for the money they could get something much nicer.

Room Tip: do not book a mini room unless you have little or no luggage and if both of you are less than 5 feet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmaster1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Hi mmaster1973,

We wanted to address your feedback regarding your stay back in August. First and foremost, we thank you for taking the time to share your experience. It is clear your stay was less than satisfactory and sincerely hope you’ll accept our apology. We pride ourselves in our level of service and strive to make sure our guests leave the hotel happy and with great memories.

To address the room, it is clear it did not fit your needs. We offer a wide variety of room types, each one may have a different style and layout. We ask you understand the fact that different rates generally reflect the size of room. Clear communication between you, our guest, and our staff is paramount. You deserved a more thorough explanation regarding the possibility of upgrading into a larger room. Please rest assured this has been addressed with our team.

We only care about meeting your needs and ask you consider a return to Ace NY. Please feel free to reach out to us should you consider a return – we’ll get you a different room, thus show you a very different stay. Thank you.

All the best,

graham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have stayed at the Ace for over 16 weeks during 2012. I tried a lot of other hotels in NY like Smyth group and this is the best on nearly all measures. Other reviewers have mentioned the "trendyness" - it's there but not forced and if anything underplayed. The lobby bar is full of twerps that make it look more like an Apple store than an Apple store - and the music is too loud leading to 200 people shouting at each other but......to either side of that form of Hades are two bar/restaurants (Oyster Bar and The Breslin) where you can escape. An even better escape is your room. A medium sized room is very well proportioned by NY standards, some have SMEG fridges, good sized desks and even sofas occasionally. Best of all are the staff, where some places are almost "too cool for school" the guys and gals here are always charming, friendly and helpful. The location is not that glam, but who cares, most things in easy reach are. You will not find better.

Room Tip: Get above floor 4 to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vidweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I stayed in a Large room for our 1st anniversary. The room was huge with wonderfully comfortable king size bed, large reception area with sofas and large coffee table and super stylish bathroom with powerful rain-shower. It's uniquely stylish with wall murels/graffiti and funny slogans daubed on walls, grungy loft apartment styling - open clothes rack instead of wardrobe, freestanding smeg fridge stocked with all the trendiest spirits and british brand snacks. Our room had a decent turntable and a few vinyls (although most were missing from their sleeve, probably stolen by previous guests...) some rooms have a guitar (sadly not us!). also our room had a distinctly frousy, mouldy smell which didn't seem to leave for the 5 days we stayed.

The foyer/bar area is moody and dark and busy with lots of young trendy types lounging around with macbooks. there was rarely anywhere to sit for hotel guests but there was always a cool buzz about the place. Cocktails were good, although they ran out of martinin glasses because of a large table of ladies in the Breslin restaurant next door drinking cosmopolitains....
Great DJ's and live bands in the evening, it's altogether a very cool place for people who want to stay in a trendy buzzy hotel and don't mind it having a bit of an edge to it. Awesome coffee downstairs at the Stumptown, and if you don't mind sitting in darkness at breakfast time next to a bunch of hyped up Frat types banging on about work - the Breslin next door served the best breakfast we had in NYC.

Room Tip: Large room. it's massive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoyo100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#60 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 798 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#31 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hotel Chandler
Hotel Chandler
#120 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,246 reviews
Midtown
Hyatt Herald Square New York
Hyatt Herald Square New York
#163 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
The Paul Hotel
#287 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#120 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#154 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#155 Family Hotel in New York City
#202 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing