We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, but hip”
Review of Ace Hotel New York

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ace Hotel New York
Ranked #211 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
NE US
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Quirky, but hip”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is a hard hotel to review. It was quite a lively spot and clearly popular. We did a one-night staycation booked via Vacationist. We were first shown to a dungeon on the 3rd floor (302) that was of a nice size, but dark and the windows had the foggy glass you used to see on bathroom windows. We called to request if it were possible to have a room with more light and immediately Carribe brought us to a nicer room on the 9th floor (910). The room was a nice size, but had no drawers or real closet: it did have a guitar and real turntable though… The hotel has a dark feel with dark walls. Our room had good light, but still felt dark with the black paint on 1 wall sucking the light away. The bathroom was narrow. When sitting on the toilet one felt shoehorned in place. Location was good: a one block walk to the N&R subway line on 28th St and a short hop to Madison Park. The hotel gets points for being interesting, but I do not think I could handle more than a 1-2 night stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AshtonatAce, Manager at Ace Hotel New York, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear Bondsammax.

We thank you for your feedback. We believe our hotel provides a different experience than most hotels, but our goal is always to ensure that our guests are happy and comfortable while staying with us. We offer a variety of different room types with unique layouts, and are confident we have something for everyone. We’re thrilled our staff was able to respond to your requests and move you to a different room right away. We’d greatly appreciate the chance to have you back with us, and hope you’ll reach out directly so we can find a room that better suits your needs. If not for another staycation, we’ll look forward to having you back for a drink in our lobby or some Stumptown coffee.

All the best,
graham milliken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    776
    622
    191
    81
    41
See reviews for
191
542
206
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

It's place is just cool. Acoustic guitar in every room. Great service, clean, and a great bar/restaurant scene in the lobby. Furniture was very nice and stylish. You definitely want a larger room, their junior rooms are pretty tiny.

Stayed June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Staff makes you welcome and provides you with the experience you expect. The lobby provides 24 hours excitement in style ... You walk out of the elevator and feel NY excitement. No "stuffy" people .. Just a fun friendly crowd. Every room is fun and fairly priced... the higher the floor the higher the price because of the view. Rooms are very spacious what is unusual for NY. No better location with subway and Madison park in walking distance.
In summary we will be back - a memorable experience for my wife and I for a quick 4 day weekend. Do not forget to taste the best coffee in town next to the lobby (independent store)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Braun2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I like the Ace for the scene. It has a fun lobby bar and two great restaurants. The rooms are very small and I felt like I was stay in a Dorm room. I like the retro decor. It is in a great location in midtown. I don't know if I would stay again. Not a hotel destination but a fun place to crash after a big night in the city.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jointfixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Great hotel if you want somewhere cool to stay, but not great for long stays or business.

Rooms aren't practical - plugs in random places, weird lights. But enjoyed having a deck in my room and a great bar downstairs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank R_G_BAR_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We only stayed here one night but really enjoyed the style of the hotel. The hotel staff were really attentive and almost all of them had great haircuts. It's also good walking distance to some of the big NY attractions like Empire State, Rockafella, Grand Central and the Shake Shack (you have to go here). We also had a really good breakfast in the restaurant downstairs - the one with all of the animal paraphernalia. YUM.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bree m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

Everything about the Ace Hotel just adds to your enjoyment. The excellent bar - where the tip is included in the price, a great thing for a non American like me - which doubles as a club or gig venue hosting very exciting acts. The vibe is open and friendly but also very trendy, without being pretentious. The staff were incredibly helpful. The rooms: the bed sent me to sleep almost instantly and the touches of having lovely products in the bathroom and a beautiful tapestry on the wall made the whole experience just that bit extra above what I expected. My fridge was contained within a box that roadies keep live music gig equipment in.

Room Tip: Some rooms face inwards to a quadrangle yard and don't get much natural light, while others look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimMcLoughlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
The NoMad Hotel
The NoMad Hotel
#50 of 467 in New York City
825 reviews
Midtown
Arlo NoMad
Arlo NoMad
#39 of 467 in New York City
454 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#98 of 467 in New York City
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paul Hotel
#308 of 467 in New York City
664 reviews
Midtown
The Roger
The Roger
#145 of 467 in New York City
2,671 reviews
Chelsea
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
Kimpton Hotel Eventi
#42 of 467 in New York City
3,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ace Hotel New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ace Hotel New York

Property: Ace Hotel New York
Address: 20 West 29th Street, at Broadway, New York City, NY 10001-4502
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#118 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#152 Family Hotel in New York City
#153 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#199 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ace Hotel New York 4*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deluxe room at the Ace Hotel. Spacious room with high ceilings, large windows and large bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ace Hotel New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ace Hotel New York City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing