We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Ranked #14 of 75 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“Comfortable Accommodations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2004

The Inn on 23rd Street was a comfortable B&B. I visited New York with my 9 year old daughter to attend my nephew's wedding. Our room was cozy and the 2nd floor library had good amenties. My daughter was able to use the computer to play Nick games. The keyboard was a little sticky, though. 23rd Street is a very busy street. While our room was in the back, some of our windows faced the side of the building. The windows on the side of the building faced the alley between the Church and the Inn. The Church is used as a homeless shelter. While we did not hear the noise from the traffic on 23rd Street, we did hear the "residents" of the homeless shelter throughout the night in the alley. The people from the homeless shelter would congregate outside the Inn. On the other side of the Inn is the Services for the Blind. The phone system did not work well. There was no message light, so I had to keep checking to see if I had any messages. My husband tried to call me in the evening when we first arrived. There is no one at the front desk after 9:00 p.m., so my husband wasn't able to ask for my room number to contact me. The location of the Inn is convenient to subways and buses, but it is certainly not the upper West Side or East Side. The Inn may not suit the needs of every traveller, but the Inn's family-owned hospitality was evident throughout our stay.

  • Stayed October 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    71
    16
    13
    7
See reviews for
77
129
22
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2004

I stayed here over the summer and absolutely loved this charming inn. It was so surprising to find a country inn in the middle of Manhattan. It is a small place (maybe 10-15 rooms) and the owner was very friendly. It's in a neighborhood called Chelsea, which is very trendy these days. There are tons of good restaurants all around this inn. I can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, HI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2004

I booked a 5 night stay at the Inn on 23rd in late September based on reviews here. What a joy and your reviews were right on! I stayed in the 50's room to take advantage of the murphy bed. The room was large, roomy and very comfortable. The attention to detail was impressive from the DSL line to full access to the "library", tea, coffee, and snacks 24x7.

The decor was impressive and the staff wonderful. I took advantage of their free museum passes and based on a tip on this site stocked up on yummy food across the street at the Garden of Eden grocery store. Another cool find was the vintage clothing store right across the street. We had dinner one night at the Cafeteria - within walking distance.

I felt safe in the neighborhood despite the fact that there is a church next door that attracts and cares for a few homeless people. Not a problem. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, MD
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2004

Who would have thought you could get a HUGE room in a gorgeous B&B for under $250 a night? My husband and I have stayed at several NYC hotels, with their outrageous prices for tiny little cubbyholes and snooty desk clerks. We will never go back to them now that we've found this little Chelsea gem. Not only did our room accommodate a king-size bed with bed tables on each side, but we had a large sitting area AND free high-speed internet access. Annette, the innkeeper, and her staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, and we fell in love with Dorothy the cat. I definitely recommend this B&B for your New York stay - just as long as there's still room for us!

  • Stayed August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vraiblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2004

This family, Texans by the way, really hump it to make your stay delightful. In addition to the perks listed in other reviews, they are member of several of the big NYC museums and give you their pass so you can go free. It a comfortable, homey place with various amenities,ie. two refrigerator drawers full of cheese for snacking. There is lots of original art on the walls, Annette at one time was an art dealer, with about a dozen Alex Katz lithographs. The place is nicely located in Chelsea with several very good restaurants in easy walking distance( try the Red Cat), and well situated between two uptown subway lines. I will stay there again.

Helpful?
4 Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2004

We stayed in the Skylight Room on the Fifth floor. Very nice. A little musty. We were told it hadn't been used in a while. But the a/c took care of that. The switch for the skylight is behind the window curtain. Be sure to turn on the direct tv box, otherwise you won't get the many, many channels they tell you about in the book. We only stayed one night, but it was well worth the money. Breakfast was great. Bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, dry cereals, coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Highly recommend it for a different take on staying in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Melomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2004

We loved the Inn on 23rd Street. It was so charming, one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. The location was great -- less than a five minute walk to all the Chelsea galleries. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't expect the added bonus of musuem passes and free long distance calls. The breakfast was so relaxing. Even though we recommend this B&B to everyone, we don't want it to get too popular because we plan to stay there every time we visit New York.

  • Stayed May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#161 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#68 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#32 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#52 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 10,831 reviews
Chelsea
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
Chelsea Savoy Hotel
#263 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Property: The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Address: 131 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2431
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing