We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So pleasantly surprised!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Ranked #12 of 78 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2004

Who would have thought you could get a HUGE room in a gorgeous B&B for under $250 a night? My husband and I have stayed at several NYC hotels, with their outrageous prices for tiny little cubbyholes and snooty desk clerks. We will never go back to them now that we've found this little Chelsea gem. Not only did our room accommodate a king-size bed with bed tables on each side, but we had a large sitting area AND free high-speed internet access. Annette, the innkeeper, and her staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful, and we fell in love with Dorothy the cat. I definitely recommend this B&B for your New York stay - just as long as there's still room for us!

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vraiblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (358)
There are newer reviews for The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 358 reviews

Reviewed July 6, 2004

This family, Texans by the way, really hump it to make your stay delightful. In addition to the perks listed in other reviews, they are member of several of the big NYC museums and give you their pass so you can go free. It a comfortable, homey place with various amenities,ie. two refrigerator drawers full of cheese for snacking. There is lots of original art on the walls, Annette at one time was an art dealer, with about a dozen Alex Katz lithographs. The place is nicely located in Chelsea with several very good restaurants in easy walking distance( try the Red Cat), and well situated between two uptown subway lines. I will stay there again.

4  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2004

We stayed in the Skylight Room on the Fifth floor. Very nice. A little musty. We were told it hadn't been used in a while. But the a/c took care of that. The switch for the skylight is behind the window curtain. Be sure to turn on the direct tv box, otherwise you won't get the many, many channels they tell you about in the book. We only stayed one night, but it was well worth the money. Breakfast was great. Bagels, muffins, hard boiled eggs, dry cereals, coffee, tea, and hot cocoa. Highly recommend it for a different take on staying in NYC.

  • Stayed: June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melomike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boulder, CO
1
Reviewed May 7, 2004

We loved the Inn on 23rd Street. It was so charming, one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. The location was great -- less than a five minute walk to all the Chelsea galleries. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't expect the added bonus of musuem passes and free long distance calls. The breakfast was so relaxing. Even though we recommend this B&B to everyone, we don't want it to get too popular because we plan to stay there every time we visit New York.

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2004

We enjoyed three nights in the French Provincial room located on the second floor, down the hall from the library where a very nice breakfast is served. The room was a nice size and included two comfortable sitting chairs, as well as a writing desk and chair. Bathroom was clean and very nice. This room is located on the side and we did not hear any street noise. You can hear the outside air conditioner click on but it was not a bother. The view out of the window is of the next door church. Subway is closeby and an easy walk to a delightful little park. Staff was very helpful, booked a car for our return to the airport and offered maps and answered our questions. We will return to this delightful little inn.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London, England
13
Reviewed April 14, 2004

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Arlington, VA
12
Reviewed March 30, 2004

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#165 of 468 in New York City
1,903 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#56 of 468 in New York City
877 reviews
Midtown
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
The New Yorker A Wyndham Hotel
#276 of 468 in New York City
11,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#53 of 468 in New York City
2,128 reviews
Chelsea
Innside New York NoMad
Innside New York NoMad
#90 of 468 in New York City
1,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Address: 131 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2431
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range: $252 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing