We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly your "home away from home" in the heart of Chelsea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Ranked #7 of 81 New York City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Truly your "home away from home" in the heart of Chelsea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the Inn on 23rd in October 2012. My room was on the top floor, so it had really cool sky lights, exposed brick, and was also very spacious. My colleagues had 2 other rooms on the same floor and each one was unique in terms of layout, but all were spacious with cool architectural elements. The lobby and lounge area are very comfortable. They serve a very nice breakfast (hot and cold entrees), and in the evening you can enjoy wine and snacks. One of the evenings I returned to the Inn, I was greeted by the resident cat (name escapes me right now); a very sweet and charming surprise. I had dinner at the Guilty Goose (attached restaurant), which was excellent (although very few vegetarian options). As a final note, the service was also excellent - very hospitable, efficient, and welcoming. This will be my first choice for lodging the next time I have a trip to NY.

Room Tip: As I state in my review, I loved my room on the top floor with the sky lights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmccolli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    65
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
73
120
20
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The entire establishment is fabulous. From check-in to check-out, our family was well cared for. The room was extra roomy and exceptionally clean and tidy. The Breakfast and Wine and Cheese on Friday and Saturday were well stocked with great options. We were given great tips to and from each event we planned. We loved it and have vowed to only stay at the Inn on 23rd in the future. Excellent!

Room Tip: Ask the staff and they will provide. Our room had no noise and we had a view of the beautiful staine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank scott_adams_va
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wherever
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

I went to the Goose to meet some friends on a recent visit to Manhattan. Ken was our bartender and helped us try some great beers. Before we knew it we were having a great time and just laughing. Tried the chicken pot pie and a Reuben and great frites. Just good stuff.
Hadn't decided where to stay for the night and after comparing some prices at other options decided to try the Inn. Room was spacious, clean and quiet. Plus got out of the city super quick in the am.
Thanks to Ken and all the folks at the Ion23rd.... will be going back again for sure, this is a great find.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harryspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington, va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Three of my girlfriends and I stayed in two rooms last week to see the Christmas decorations and a play. Couldn't have been any better. Short walk from Penn Station, just down the street from Eataly, and the rooms were good sized and very clean. Staff couldn't have been any friendlier or helpful, and breakfast was great. Also enjoyed the honor bar and the house cat!
Would definitely stay again, and will bring my husband for a romantic weekend this spring.

Room Tip: Room 41 has a fun, city view. Room 44 is very big and very quiet at the back of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitnessbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had an excellent experience staying at the Inn. We stayed in a big, very confortable room.
The staff is very friendly and professional. They go all the way to please their customers. We sincerely thank all of them. The location is very good, close to subway staions. We plan to come back when we return to NY.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarioRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The best things about this inn are the friendly, helpful staff people; a good breakfast; drinks and snacks available 24/7; and its location in the center of a block that has subway stations at either end (which makes getting around Manhattan easier). The restaurant on the ground floor, the Guilty Goose, is a nice place for lunch, dinner, and/or a drink in the evening, and guests of the inn receive a 25% discount on food. The inn's homey atmosphere is a major, and generally welcome, change of pace in New York, but the funky decor may not be for everyone. And, although the staff people were very nice, certain types of services seemed lacking. We handled our own bags and were on our own getting to the airport -- which, since we once lived in NYC and visit fairly often, wasn't a big problem for us but might be for less-experienced visitors. If I stayed there again, I would avoid the "Loft Room" because it has no view except of the sky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Historybuff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

The perfect place to stay in New York City. We spent a week here and after days of long walks this was a nice place to return to.Within walking distance of some of New York's best parks. Subways half a block away, the city is at your finger tips. Nice breakfast, wonderful staff, a great place to ease into the day. I like to be surprised on vacation and the Inn provided that when they put out a flyer for Open House New York. Right next door, included in the open house, was the first French church in New York dating back to 1857. We got a wonderful tour of the facility(free).
The Church with it's dwindling congregation is scheduled to close next year unless it receives an historical landmark designation. Edith Piaf was married here! This was just one small sample of what the Inn provided. Already we are planning our next trip and it will be staying at the Inn. Just like the old commercial: "you've tried the rest, now try the best".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Desmond48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chelsea
Chelsea Pines Inn
Chelsea Pines Inn
#9 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 1,954 reviews
Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea
#167 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,612 reviews
Midtown
414 Hotel
414 Hotel
#1 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chelsea
Innside New York Nomad
Innside New York Nomad
#52 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 675 reviews
Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York - Chelsea
Cambria hotel & suites New York ...
#44 of 475 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Midtown
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
EVEN Hotel Times Square South
#11 of 475 in New York City
5.0 of 5 stars 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea

Property: The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea
Address: 131 W 23rd St, New York City, NY 10011-2431
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea is a unique bed and breakfast in one of the most dynamic and convenience neighborhoods in New York City. Walk to restaurants, shopping, entertainment, and sightseeing such as the Flatiron Building, the Empire State Building and The High Line. Fifth Avenue shopping, Grand Central Station, Times Square and the Theater District, Central Park, all are close at hand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Townhouse Inn of Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On 23rd Hotel New York City
Inn 23rd Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing